We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Couples or Families”
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #149 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for Couples or Families”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the newly renovated Carampane apartment, part of Pensione Guerrato. People were friendly and helpful upon check in. Apartment is a couple of blocks away from the hotel. Very close to Rialto market and vaporetto stops.

Can use WI-FI in hotel lobby.Very clean and had the most modern bathrooms of the 4 apartments we rented in Italy. Two very large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, "great room" consisting of kitchen, dining and living area. A/C in bedrooms. Up one flight of stairs on quiet dead end street, although there was night noise from apartment above.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    210
    56
    25
    4
See reviews for
208
236
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great area, just steps from the Rialto Bridge and the Rialto Market. There is a vaparetto stop around the corner. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We were given a map when we checked in which was wonderful since the map we had wasn't very good.
Our ensuite room was huge. It had a king bed, 2 sofas, 3 windows, dresser, desk and armoire. The bathroom was roomy with a large shower (no tub), bidet, and a warming towel rack. The bed was pretty firm, but I seemed to have slept well anyway. They gave us a remote for the air conditioner, but we didn't need it as the weather was perfect. The only thing I missed was a clock. They have free wifi, but the signal isn't available in the room, so you have to go to the lobby to use it. Our room was on the second floor, so we sat on the chair by the stairs and used it without any difficutly.
Breakfast included warm croissants, cereal, tea, coffee and breakfast crackers. It was nice not to have to look for a place to eat and were able to start sight seeing right away.
I would definately stay here again and have already recommended it to a couple of friends.

Room Tip: There is no elevator at this hotel. The lobby is up one flight of stairs. From there you may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcmac2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was PERFECT. Venice is the city for getting lost--with so many tourists, it's best to turn left when they turn right. Discover your own favorite places. The best part about Pensione Guerrato is it's right at Rialto--so you never have to worry about finding your way back because there are ALWAYS signs for St Marks and Rialto!
The food in Venice isn't so great, but the baked goods are WONDERFUL! Get a big, green pistachio cookie from one of the many shops--so delicious!
There was no TV, which was kind of a bummer. And the free wifi only works in one small area of the hotel.
The perks? HUGE rooms!! They were always very clean, too. Very kind staff. The breakfast was so-so, just croissants, but I was very happy with the great coffee!
We were able to walk to every location we wanted to see and were very very pleased.
We had a great view over the tops of the red roofs--it was indeed quite a hike up to the 4th floor, but we knew that before booking. It really wasn't an issue as long as you didn't have your baggage with you! The safe didn't work, though.
It was also very easy to get to, considering how difficult Venice can be to navigate. We took the Vaporetto Line 1 to get to the hotel, and we planned to exit at Rialto Market, but it didn't stop there. So, instead, we exited at Rialto. It was a little confusing to find our way, but the shopkeepers were all very helpful.
Once we arrived, we were very happy to see a welcoming face at the front desk.
My fiance's favorite part was the market in the mornings. Fresh fruit, fresh fish--even if you didn't buy anything it was very cool to walk around and take pics of all the goodies.
There were a LOT of tourists in this area, which means a lot of touristy gift shops all selling the same thing: masks, glass, t-shirts same stuff... seriously, get lost! instead of going over the Rialto bridge, go the opposite way and enjoy all the beautiful scenery. Our favorite restaurant was Carta dei cibi--mostly Venecians and had the best food! Very close to the hotel and a great location to eat outside.
Leaving Venice to head to the airport was a little tough because the Vaporettos went on strike. So we took the Ali Laguna boat (per Pensione owner's incredibly thorough instructions) and that was pretty stuffy, hot and not so great, but a great solution to being stranded!
Overall, we were TOTALLY pleased with this hotel and it was the perfect spot for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The pros about the hotel are the room size and the staffs. Room was big and we had a whole lot of room to move around. The staffs were extremely nice, went out of their way to help.
The cons were no TV, only warm coffee or tea, and Wi-Fi in the lobby only. There was no TV in the room, which sucked because I put the TV on as soon as I get up. We didn’t have any choice of out hot beverage in the morning other than tea and normal coffee; no Italian coffee or cappuccino. The biggest disappoint was not WI-IF in the room only in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavinia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This charming little pensione is on a quiet side street right in the heart of Venice. It's just steps from the Rialto Bridge and the fabulous fish market. The staff is wonderful, and the rooms are spotless and comfortable. We were in Venice in July so it was extremely hot ... the a/c is not the same as it is in the U.S. but it was bearable. We originally booked 2 nights but had to book another room at the last minute. The only one available was an attic room which was brutally hot. The front desk sent up a small fan which helped a little bit, but I definitely would not recommend this room in the summertime. Not only was it hot, it was on the top floor of the pensione ... with no elevator. It was quite a climb each time we went back to the room. I would definitely recommend this place. It's a simple, quiet little pensione. Great breakfast in the morning and a staff that goes above and beyond to make each guest's stay a little more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Reserve early, especially in the high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this pensione through the Rick Steve's guidebook and it was exactly as described and a great value for the money. We stayed in the 3rd floor double room that sleeps 4. It came with a private bathroom with shower, safe, air conditioning, and a nice view overlooking Venetian roofs. It was very clean and charming and the owners were very helpful with questions. There is no elevator so you need to bring your luggage upstairs which is no problem if you pack light - which we did. The breakfast is adequate, the croissants were very light and fluffy, the best I found in any place we stayed in two weeks. We came down for breakfast each day near 10am and the coffee was cold (I guess that's to be expected as it is near the end of the breakfast hour). It would be nice if they had a jug of water out so that if you don't want juice, coffee, or milk you have an option to drink. I found this to be the case in almost all hotels in Italy - no water with breakfast - so bring your own. As is stated in other reviews, wi-fi is only available in the hotel lobby. We slept great at this pensione - the mattresses were comfortable and we all had ear plugs. I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaR0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I enjoyed my 2 nights here. The staff were great, always helpful with recommendations and directions. The restaurants they recommended were great. Don't mind the one night staff guy as he was a bit unsociable but the owners during the day were great. Breakfasts were also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#138 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#98 of 385 in Venice
421 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#91 of 385 in Venice
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
426 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#97 of 385 in Venice
484 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Property: Pensione Guerrato
Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#83 Family Hotel in Venice
#114 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing