We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pensione Guerrato- small apartment”
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #144 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We ended up loving this apartment after hating it upon arrival!!! We should have followed directions given to us with our reservation. Instead, we followed directions to hotel on the website. Once we arrived at the apartment, we had trouble with the old-fashioned European key. We finally figured out the key but then had some time figuring out the air conditioner. We loved the apartment- clean & cool with a fully equipped kitchen. My advice is to travel light and definitely visit Lido Beach- go to the part where you rent chairs & an umbrella- not the "free" part.
July, 2012

Room Tip: Make sure to follow directions given in your reservation- not the website. Also, be clear on how to...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nnforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Pensione Guerrato
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 580 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great location, short walk from a vaporetto stop. This was our first experience with a shared bathroom and it was certainly doable. Room, third floor, wasn't large but comfortable for our needs. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a perfect start to our sightseeing days. There is good reason why Rick Steves continues to recommend this hotel in the heart of Venice.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Be ready to climb stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetogo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just got back from a stay at Pensione Guerrato in Venice. The place has zero street appeal which made my heart sink. Sure enough we had a pokey quad (room # 13) - dank, dark & smelly, no view and no place to move. Worst was the stench that hit us as we opened the door - I have never smelled something so bad. I complained about it but there was no follow-up by the owner - other than raised eyebrows as if I was imagining it all. Fortunately on day 2 I was too congested to smell anything! But the smell got in our clothes & as I pull out clothes I remember Pensione Guerrato with a shudder. Our sensory perceptions are powerful triggers of memories and in this case it will always be nasty ones of an unfriendly, stinky place. And yes the female receptionist that checked us in was very unfriendly and supercilious - maybe because we were not white. This was the first time I booked based on Rick Steves' recommendation. I don't think he vets places for ethnic bias. That is why I never saw any non-white clientele there. Next week it's going to be Hotel Aberdeen in Rome. If I see the same attitude again, it'll confirm the fact that Rick Steves recommendations are not for ethnic minorities. Shame!

Room Tip: Room # 13 is possibly the worst room I have stayed in ever and I have traveled a lot worldwide. No v...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We found this hotel based on Rick Steves' book. We stayed in a huge and very nicely decorated quad on the top floor (one large bed and two twins). The room and bathroom were quite nice. Breakfast was served in a lovely room. Our room overlooked a plaza that had a bar, so it was a bit noisy at night, but this is to be expected in Italy! Be prepared to climb several flights of stairs to get to the room. This wasn't a problem for us, as we traveled quite light, but could certainly be a problem for those who have difficulty walking. The location was also good - close to the Rialto Bridge, vaporettos, and the fish and vegetable markets.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here based on Rick Steves recommendation for one night - large room for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. Right at the Mercato Rialto stop. Very unassuming from the street, but such a wonderful surprise inside. The room was large and comfortable. The children had their own day beds and loved them. The only issue was carrying our bags two floors, but the staff helped us with this. The breakfast was nice, and they set it up a little early since we had to leave a little early to catch our train.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the review here on TA. To be honest I was worried about the hotel as the rate seemed so reasonable for 5 people. But I was totally impressed with everything about the hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor, had a king bed, a single bed and 2 fold away beds. We are traveling with 3 children -aged 6, 10 and 11. The hotel is in a stunning old building, and has been tastefully and simply restored. The reception (with free wifi) is beautifully furnished with lovely carpets and chairs. There are stunning antique cabinets in the rooms and corridors. The floors are polished concrete. Yes you have to walk up stairs but that's no big deal. Breakfast (included) was fine. Just what you need to start the day. Location is excellent, so close to the Rialto bridge and a perfect place from which to walk to San Marco (15 mins depending on crowds). A real gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mon_t332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was great location with great view of a courtyard. The hotel is a short walk (5 min) from the water bus station. The room is big, clean and well lighted with natural lighting. About ~5 min walk to the Rialto Bridge.

The property is safe and has security camera to see who is coming and going.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azcat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#129 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#99 of 384 in Venice
577 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#93 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#145 of 384 in Venice
936 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#101 of 384 in Venice
489 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 384 in Venice
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
#113 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing