We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Ranked #85 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and would highly recommend it. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is exceptional and constant so it's very easy to relax instantly and stay relaxed. We were made to feel really welcome and given good recommendations on restaurants and generally finding our way around. Because its on the canal you can arrive by water taxi or its not too far to walk from the bus station or public water bus. The garden is a real plus and nice to take breakfast outside or retreat from the Venice crowds. The location makes walking around Venice easy and so we were able to visit things and return for a break before venturing out again. My partner chose the hotel for me because I don't like noise at night and I found the place very quiet and easy to sleep. Perhaps a bit more information on drinks and what we could buy in the hotel would be helpful as we had no clue and brought in wine ( though we were given glasses and a corkscrew - again very helpfully).

Room Tip: we had a suite on the top looking on to the garden and canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
221
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

One of the best hotels we've been to.. Rooms is gorgeous and garden is a small piece of heaven. Breakfast is nice, with very friendly waiters, who will make you feel at home. A perfect place for a romantic getaway.. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week on the recommendation of Venetian friends. We're so glad they let us into the secret of Oltre in Giardino, which hides behind a neat little gate by an unremarkable sidebar canal opposite the Frari church. The little garden is a beautiful oasis in one of the busiest corners of town, and we had great weather most of the week meaning we had breakfast outside, which really set us up for the day.
Our room (Cacao) was generously sized and had an ample bathroom to go with the big bedroom which was tastefully furnished, including original art. Much of Venice is quiet at night, and Oltre in Giardino especially so - a very relaxing stay as a result.
The staff were fantastic - Manuele and Ilaria and the breakfast team especially, and the kettle they turned up for us to use for the week was particularly appreciated! We will undoubtedly return.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyke1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at this lovely spot last May/ June 2013. We had rented a flat in Florence and took the train up for 5 days. Illaria couldn't have been more helpful as well as gracious. The morning breakfast was a delightful surprise taken in the garden.
Our room was 2 twin beds, immaculate and beautifully appointed. Everything about this place speaks understated elegance and class. We are planing another trip this year.

Room Tip: They were all lovely. This is a house that has been converted to a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have just returned from the hotel. The best hotel I have stayed at in Venice. The courtyard garden is beautiful for breakfast and for a quiet sit. The staff cannot do enough for their guests and are always polite and helpful. The rooms are very good and well proportioned. The only thing I would like is a kettle in the room for an early morning drink. The breakfast is excellent and very comprehensive and could not be better. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Oltre Il Giardino served as our calm oasis in the middle of Venice. While our visit was not at high tourist season, the city was gearing up and was moderately crowded. The small hotel, located in a quiet residential neighborhood, was a delightful retreat! The environment is artfully simple and creative, so the ambience is great but, what really bowls you over is the service. Lorenzo manned the front desk most of the time we were there. He was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Our requests and concerns were dealt with immediately. Breakfast featured a nice selection of foods and was delicious. Except for the day it rained, it was served on their charming garden patio. Again, the wait staff were great. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
220 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our fifth stay at this wonderful small hotel - coming back next September. Staff is wonderful. We especially like the quiet location and the fact that almost anything you want to see and do in Venice is quickly accessible. Kudos to all.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#81 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#83 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#18 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Property: Oltre Il Giardino
Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing