We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY IN THE "ANNEX"”
Review of Ca Centopietre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ca Centopietre
Ranked #134 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY IN THE "ANNEX"”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this B&B based on the excellent reviews.

We booked what was called a "Dependence Double" on Lastminute.com which we thought would be just a standard double room. On arrival it turned out that this was actually a room in what was called "the annex". The Annex was around the corner from the B&B (so wasn't actually in the B&B at all - although breakfast was served there).
It was directly above the local Taverna. The taverna is packed and pumping music from around 12pm to 12 am and you can hear EVERYTHING from the bedroom. From the music, to the people talking right down to people cutting their food.
Not only did this noise keep us up until 12 am but then the room's windows are directly on the alleyway / road and not having double glazing meant that we could hear absolutely everything that went on around us. We were woken every 2 hours or so to "merry" tourists and locals chatting loudly outside our window all night long.
So not a very peaceful setting..

That being said - the room was very spacious, bed comfortable and the room was cleaned on a daily basis.

The location is perfect - very close to the Accadamia (sp?!) boat stop and museums which was very handy.

The breakfast left a bit to be desired. Consisted of 3 cereals, tea/coffee, croissants & Jam and that was it. In other Europe destinations we've stayed there is usually at least some cold meats and fresh cheeses...

I think if you were staying in the main B&B part then this would be a great stay - Just don't book the Dependence double!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Annex or book a "dependence double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    81
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
133
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baia Mare, Maramures, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved the location, not too close, not too far from San Marco and Grand Canal and the produce market. The hotel staff is very nice. We had our room cleaned every day. Breakfast was very good, still it was missing some ham&eggs (if you're accustomed to have a rich meal in the morning). Staying in the hotel's annex was a bit annoying because it has a cafeteria right under the rooms, very noisy 'till late in the weekends. Also, the street noise is very loud during the day.

Room Tip: Better not to stay in the annex. Take a room in the main building, if it's available. They are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were really pleased with our stay at Ca Centopietre. Rooms are really big, beds really comfortable and bathrooms SUPER clean!
Though we stayed there for just one night we received such a great service. Carlo, the owner was really helpful.
Will definitely come back on out next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesdeuux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location was pretty great, there are a lot of things to do in the immediate location. The room was not too bad, the room is smaller than you would get in the US, but it isn't too small. The bathroom was a decent size. I loved the location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent a week here over the American Thanksgiving holiday and could not have had a better time. This was our 15th visit to Venice over 25 years, and we have grown very fond of this Dorsoduro neighborhood. The B&B is tucked away on the second floor of a grand old building behind a popular bookstore on the main path between the Accademia and Campo San Barnaba (where Katherine Hepburn falls into the canal in the 1950s movie "Summertime"). We had a "deluxe" room, which to be honest, was simply larger than the others with windows overlooking the courtyard.

Each room features a wall-size reproduction of a famous painted view of Venice as a sort-of headboard above the bed. Otherwise, the rooms are quite plain and will be due for a painting soon. The king-size bed was quite comfortable, but with those notoriously flat Italian pillows. The bathroom was quite large by Venetian standards with a jacuzzi tub and shower combo (we only used the shower). There was an occasional smell of sewer gas in the bathroom, but to be honest, we've come to expect that in Venice.

The room included a mini-bar with a small selection of surprisingly affordable beverages. Our room also included a small table and two chairs and a very small wall-mounted TV with local channels only.

Beakfast, in Italian tradition, is "continental," including only coffee/tea, juices, cereals, yogurts, warm coissants and rolls with butter and jam. People here complain about the modest breakfast, but THAT'S WHAT ITALIANS HAVE FOR BREAKFAST. If you want a bountiful breakfast of eggs and sausages and cakes and meats and cheeses, maybe Germany would be a better option for you. When in Rome... or in this case, Venice, why not try the local breakfast tradition, and have a heartier meal for lunch? (By the way, Italians do not drink milky coffee drinks after 11 am, so be prepared to be treated like a rube if you order a cappuccino or cafe latte after lunch or dinner at a restaurant.)

Ca' Centopietre's proprietor/host Carlo is a joy and works hard to accommodate his guests' individual needs. He is eager to help with travel arrangements and sightseeing/cultural options in his city and beyond. This may not be the most elegant place we've stayed in Venice, but the combination of location and Carlo's charm will keep us coming back. There are also lots of good restaurant options in the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent a week at Ca'Centopietre on the recommendation of a friend and regular guest here. The directions to get there from Accademia vaporetto stop (30 minutes routes 1 or 2 from the railway station 'Ferrovia') sound complicated, but it's much easier than you would think. There is a main walking route through Dorsoduro and there are always crowds on it, so just follow them. Watch Carlo's handheld YouTube directions - the graffiti is all still the same! When you get to the tiny alley leading to Ca'Centopietre, you will find a wine shop and bookshop on the corner and a sweet shop and snack shop nearby - (what more does one need?!) at the end of the little alley is an attractive small restaurant. Turn right and ring the hotel bell.
We really enjoyed the courtyard room, which had plenty of space and furniture. There is a small table and chairs outside. I had booked six months in advance and was expecting to be in the best room for a week, but we had to have two nights inside at the start. We had been travelling hard for two months and were looking forward to being able to relax in one place without packing again for seven nights. In the garden room, we emptied the fridge and filled it with food and wine from the supermarket in Santa Margherita.
Breakfast is provided in the beautiful salon on the first floor surrounded by frescoes. Benign host Carlo will pour your coffee or tea and quietly offer tourist advice if you seek it. Carlo has many brochures of classical music concerts, such as Vivaldi in the church he composed in - just over the beautiful wooden Accademia bridge.
This is great part of Venice to stay in. It wasn't cheap, but you wouldn't expect anything else in Venezia. It's worth the money. Make sure you ask to stay in the main building. Other guests found the rooms above the nearby restaurant to be noisy. Book well in advance.
We caught the orange line water bus €24 approx to the airport. One hour. Don't bother with unnecessary, expensive €100+ water taxis. They are proliferating and churning the canal waters, further eroding the vulnerable old buildings.

Room Tip: Inside the main building. Not the supplementary rooms down the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

At this B & B, for it is no more than that despite its pretense, staff volunteers little, helpful only when the guest asks the right question. Rooms have a cold ambiance and vary in size and price, though all are expensive for what you get, Yhe small rooms are truly small! The toilet next to the breakfast room sometimes stinks to high heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centopietre, Owner at Ca Centopietre, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear TA,

I republished the answer to this Customers, with a change at the end and taking out the name putting the one used from the guest, I don’t have offended nobody at all I just answer to a Guest opinion, I work 12 hours a day 7/ 7 days a week I cant accept that I am a little volunteers

I look forward to receive your answer

Best regards

Ca Centopietre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#179 of 385 in Venice
235 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#151 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#166 of 385 in Venice
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#198 of 385 in Venice
291 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Guardi
Palazzo Guardi
#99 of 457 in Venice
557 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Antica Locanda Montin
Antica Locanda Montin
#117 of 457 in Venice
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca Centopietre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca Centopietre

Property: Ca Centopietre
Address: Campiello Centopietre Dorsoduro 1198 | Campiello Centopietre, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca Centopietre 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca Centopietre is situated in the heart of Venice, on Dorsoduro district, just a few steps from the Accademia Bridge, the Galleria of the Fine Arts, and at 20 minutes walking distance to St. Mark's Square and major point of interest. There are 5 rooms, each one different from the other, with copies of paintings by Canaletto and Guardi on the walls, some rooms with view to a private garden. Rooms complete of heating, AC, minibar, tv, hairdreyer and free wi-fi connection. On request instruction and video on how to reach the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ca Centopietre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Centopietre Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing