We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #23 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We, wife and two children aged 10 and 12,have just returned from a 5 night stay at this brilliant residence. We caught a private water taxi from the airport, expensive 135 euro, but so worth it, the ride in through the main waterway and under the ria rialto bridge is wonderful and you are dropped off directly at the hotel enterence, we did the same back to the airport as we had to leave at 430am and it took 20 mins and also well worth it. We stayed in 503, the top floor and the view over the rooftops was spectacular, becuase its also not on the waterway extremely quiet with the windows open all you hear are the birds and church bells. The apartment is huge and well maintained, a full kitchen, we did not opt for the 50 euro extra for all the equipment, but had use of the fridge, microwave, sink, kettle cupboards and the supermarket is a 3 minute walk away so you can give the kids cereal and yogurt for breakfast and have some tea or coffee. We had our own room with a king size bed and the kids had a double sleeper couch in the lounge area, there was also a small third room with a single sleeper couch as well, there is also a TV with CNN and BBC news and over 100 channels of italian tv. The apartment was clean the bath small but the shower worked well and the beds and linen comfortable and warm. The hotel is well positioned, 2 mins from St Marks square and loads of restuarants around, the shopping is also good. The staff was extremely helpful and curteous at all times i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. There is a vending machine for water and coldrinks, 1 euro for water, it also has biscuits and chocolates and a coffee machine 80 cents that dispensed coffee cuppacino, hot chocolate and various other delights in the foyer, there is no eating facilities but the hotel accross the way had american breakfast for 10 euros pp and kids under 8 for free, there is also a hardrock cafe close by but very expensive, burgers 16 euros.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 926 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful three night stay at Corte Grimani with my husband and our three children. Finding suitable (and affordable) accommodation for a family of five anywhere is very difficult, but this place was superb. We found the staff very helpful and really friendly (I don't recognise the service experienced by the reviewer below at all). I agree the 50 euro surcharge for use of kitchen seems a bit unnecessary and does leave a bad taste, but I had been forewarned by keeping up with Trip Adviser reviews. Because of this we only used the kitchen for breakfast and got by using cups for cereal (!) so we didn't need to access any equipment other than the small amount of cups, plates and glasses provided for the simplest of snacks. As a result we weren't charged.

We found eating out was actually not as expensive as I had feared. It was really easy to find excellent pizza slices for just a couple of euros, and we generally ate our lunch sitting on the steps of campo well heads in relative peace and quiet.

The location of Corte Grimani is superb - just a couple of minutes from Piazza San Marco and only five minutes from Rialto. In the evening when these major tourist spots quieten down it is really quite a magical location to be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwinkleWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here with my partner over a weekend. We would highly recommend it. Be aware that the feel of the accommodation is more serviced apartment than hotel. That was an advantage for us, since the location is fantastic, and one of the local hotels would have been hugely more expensive. Venice is eye-wateringly expensive, so if you are not one of those for whom money is no object, and have a family to feed - or are travelling as a group - then this is a good option. There's a kitchen in the apartment, so you could rustle up a pasta. And not pay 50 euros a head for it down the street! Very clean, comfortable. Pleasant, helpful staff. Bit tricky to find tucked away round a corner off the main drag after a bridge. But this makes it quiet. Our apartment's windows looked out onto a dim passageway.The water taxis cost an arm and a leg, so we took the vap on the way in, but the taxi on the way back was very picturesque and exciting!

Room Tip: Ask if there's a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mabongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We just spent 3nights 4 days here. Booked a 6 person apt with washer/dryer and kitchen. The staff is rude and unprofessional( except for Guido). There is a 15 euro charge to use the washer and dryer and 50 euro charge to use the kitchen. Shouldn't that be part of the room charges already??. The washer& dryer wasn't working properly. I asked the night person who said asked the day person. I asked the day person( Donatella) who said" don't you know how to read?" They do have instructions in broken English that isn't very clear. I asked Donatella to come up and show me. She came up and she couldn't get it to work either and had to reset the circuit breakers. Then she reiterated that " don't you know how to read?" I told her that of course I know how to read but the washer/dryer in the US are different and it was rude of her to say that. Then she went into a barrage of Italian obviously cursing me in Italian. I have never seen such horrible, rude and unprofessional service or reaction before. We were gone from 5am til 11pm at night and we usually don't have our rooms cleaned just changing of the towels and to throw away the trash. When we got back they left only 3 towels for 6 people. The San Marco square had been flooded and we had to wade thru ankle deep dirty water. I asked for 3 more towels as we all needed to shower and they said it would be an extra charge?? What ?? Did they expect us to share towels?? It was a room for 6 people. We were not asking for anything extra. The customer service is horrendous. Please avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 506KimD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimani, Proprietario at Residence Corte Grimani, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Madam,
I need to respond this complain because you tell our staff is rude and unprofessional. Sorry but our cleaning girls are very good and they clean properly the apartment and they are professional and kind. The apartments are clean every day and yours was too, unless the day you request only the change of towels without the cleaning of the apartment, towels for 6 people in apartment, not 3 towels! Anna, our nice girl working in the night gave you extra towels but there was no extra charge!!!
For the extra payment of the kitchen and washing machine is explain at the reservation through our website or Booking and Expedia website. We know that many people do not have at home a machine, which is both washer and dryer together and we try to explain quickly the use at the arrival, obviesly then everybody has to read the instruction we leave in each apartment and if we could we help guest when he has not well understand. We prefer the staff in the night does not come in the apartment for the washer machine because it is not good to do the washer in the night for respect of other guests for the noisy.
The morning after your arrival you phone me from Como, a town 300 km from Venice where you were on a day trip, to know which bottom to press to do the dryer, sorry but my English it is not enough good when speaking in presence of people and it is impossible for me to give such information on the phone, I tell you if you have read the instructions or that we can help you the morning after, so you hang down the telephone badly. Sorry but I was not me the rude person. To help you, as you will be back only late evening and because you say you do not understand the english instructions (from factory) I try to sign on the instructions step by step what to do for use the machine. In the morning when you call me I went upstairs and the machine was cut off and I had to reset from the central switch and explain again…
Guido and me and all our staff try always to be kind and helpful with all our guests…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place. 200m from Piazza San Marco and 400m from the Rialto bridge. So pretty amazing in terms of location you would have to say. The staff were very friendly and gave a very useful recommendation for a local patisserie for breakfast. The apartment (the 'classic with view') was much bigger than we expected. Who thought you could get that kind of space in this part of Venice for about £200 a night. Was pretty easy to find (plan your route beforehand if coming from Rialto and you'll be fine).

There is a locked cupboard in which the kitchen stuff (pans etc) are kept. The porter went on the correct presumption that we wouldn't need this as we were only there two nights. However there is a kettle, coffee sachets, tea bags and cups and glasses in the apartment available to use.

But wait, here's the best news. The alcohol they have available for sale is totally, completely reasonable priced. €8 for a decent Merlot - no rip off there.

Overall, a great place to stay. We stayed as a couple but should we go back with the two kids at some point we would choose to stay here as there was plenty of space.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived by water taxi from the airport so did not have any difficulty in finding as some other reviewers have mentioned. We were traveling with two children (ages 14 and 11) so the bedroom/sleeper sofa arrangement worked perfectly for us. Rooms are very clean. Staff is very helpful/pleasant. Location is excellent. Breakfast is not included but "the best cake shop in Venice" is very close by. Enjoy your jet leg and head to St Marks and Rialto before the crowds arrive.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stumbalina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The Corte Grimani was everything we had hoped it would be when researching previous to booking! The apartment had a large bedroom, with a comfortable pull-out in the living area, as well as a small room with a fold out cot. The bathroom was very well equipped, roomy and modern. At the same time the hotel provided a local, authentic Viennesse experience. The front desk staff were available 24x7 and very helpful! Location was excellent - an easy walk to either Rialto bridge or St marks square, as it es about 1/2 way between. Would go back again and again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 387 in Venice
3,917 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 387 in Venice
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#21 of 387 in Venice
792 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 387 in Venice
1,064 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $167 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing