We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #17 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we chose it for a quick two-day stay in Venice. I booked a room with a view. When we arrived, the hotel upgraded us (free) to a suite with two bathrooms, a kitchen, a nice big bedroom, lots of closet and drawer space.

The location is wonderful. It is quiet, but very close to SO much. There are five or more ATMs close by; all kinds of shops; a great place for quick delicious food called the Snack Bar (that the staff at Corte Gremandi pointed out). The hotel is roughly equidistant to Rialto and San Marco (St. Mark's Square). Both of these places are stops on the public transportation system of water buses called vaporettos.

I met four different staff members over the course of my stay at the hotel, and each one was wonderfully gracious and helpful, and very knowledgeable. They explained the differences between the vaporetto and water taxi. They explained the options for getting to the airport (we came by train). The young woman cheerfully called and made reservations for a Vivaldi concert.

We spent one afternoon in our room longer than planned because every so often a gondola with musician and singer would pass by below. We would have gladly paid for such great entertainment! All we had to do is open our windows and look down. It was a highlight of our ten-day trip to Italy.

I had neglected to print out the map they had emailed to me. It is not easy to find the first time without a map, so if you choose to stay there, don't make the same mistake I did. Bring the map! Once you know where it is, it is very easy to find, and VERY convenient. It's just an amazing combination of being off the beaten path (by just a half block or so), yet right on a canal with gondolas passing by, and five minutes from St. Mark's Square, easy walking distance to Rialto, and ALL the various shops, restaurants, and concert venues in that area.

I would have never found this without Trip Advisor. I'm here to say that the other people who are saying great things about the Corte Gremandi are right on the money.

Room Tip: We were in room 501 -- the top floor, overlooking the canal. It doesn't have to be the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaTraveler249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    122
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
454
263
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The apartment was wonderful, only surpassed by the attentiveness of the entire staff, front desk to housekeeping. Of particular note were the front desk staff members Guido and Donatella. Both were "tour guides, restaurant critics, activity specialists and map interpreters" extraordinaire.
Apartment consisted of a foyer, kitchen/great room, full bath and bedroom. Clean. Daily linen service. Ample closets. Free Wifi. English TV.
Location is a short walk to almost everywhere on a tourist's
itinerary and only a slightly longer walk to get anywhere off it.

Room Tip: Off the canal is quieter, but you miss the singing. Room 101 gives you a little bit of both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staufnhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We reserved a 6-people apartment here for 3 nights, after reading the TripAdvisor's reviews and we were not disappointed at all. The family apartment on the 2nd floor was huge with fantastic view of the canal that is just right next to it. The rooms are clean, soft bed linen and airy. The location is just perfect: next door is the Giorgio Armani store, then Hard Rock Cafe is just about 50m walk, from where you can take a ride on one of the gondolas. A few more minutes walking toward south would be the St Marco Square.

We asked for Ms Donatella to open the kitchen cabinet for us so we can cook -- and yes, the kitchen is fully equipped; it even comes with an automatic dishwasher! The management also provides daily cleaning services and making up the beds (except kitchen if you opt to cook which is a drawback: you have to pay EUR50 for cleaning charges). Nevertheless, given the size of the rooms, great location, amenities and the total room costs -- this apartment provided us with relatively the best value for money.

From the Venezia Railway station, take the water taxi and take the stop at Rialto. We took the stop at St Marco which was not a good idea as there were so many people along the pathways on our way to the hotel.

If you are having trouble locating the apartment, just ask for the Armani store. The apartment is just behind the store (along the water canal).

ps: We left three leather handbags in the drawer -- Ms Donatella was quick to help us in arranging courier service to send them to us. Fantastic service. We just need to find a cheaper courier cost now :)

Room Tip: The room on the south sides are just next to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xgabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in mid September, on the top floor in a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. It was light and airy, beautifully clean and nicely decorated. We opted to not pay extra for full kitchen use (this confuses me as it is an apartment I am renting!) but still had use of kettle, microwave, basic plates and cutlery. I wasn't happy though that I couldn't have access to bowls and spoons for cereal in the mornings. Having to get the family (incl young kids) up and going without breakfast was not ideal nor expected, and for this reason alone we would consider staying elsewhere. Other than this the residence was lovely. The kids especially loved opening the windows to hear and see the passing gondola parade. The staff were always handy and extremely helpful. We found the WIFI signal to be very erratic during our stay.
Location was awesome, easy to get to anywhere and best of all when we were leaving Venice with our full to the brim suitcases plus extra, we were able to catch a water taxi from the hotel door to the airport. Yes, a little pricey (not too bad though when you consider other means for 5 passengers) but no stress!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank danstar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked here based on Trip Advisor ratings and even then we were knocked out at how good it was. Given that real estate is at a premium in Venice, we were expecting a small apartment that would be enough to sleep in for two adults and two teenage daughters, but to our amazement it was a huge apartment that was quite comfortable for all of us. The only minor negative was that you had to pay a "cleaning charge" to use the kitchen and washing machine, which I would have thought would be included in the room rate. Location was excellent as it was only a 5 minutes stroll from St Marks square and also under 10 minutes from Rialto bridge. Yes, a bit tricky to find, but that is what maps are for and that is what you expect in Venice given it is such a small, cramped canal based city. Front desk staff very helpful and free WiFi worked beautifully. Our apartment was on the 5th floor and we had and awesome view of the canals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights of our honeymoon at this wonderful hotel with our one-year-old son. We had an apartment which had an unexpected second small room perfect for the cot they provided for free.
The hotel was lovely, clean and fantastically located. What made this one of the best places we've ever stayed though was the staff. They were as friendly as any I have ever met, well-informed and spoke great english. Nothing was too much trouble. They even found us a pushchair when our backs started to give way under the baby carrier, again for no charge.
Whether you are a family or a couple, if you are visiting Venice treat yourself to a stay at the Residence Corte Grimani. You will be sure to find it great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarlMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was the largest suite we had in Italy--at the price of a hotel room. Complete with kitchen, wi-fi, our own in-room washer & drier, and with the privacy of an enormous separate bedroom from the kids. It is right off St. Mark's square in a quiet secluded corner on a canal. The owner/managers are lovely & helpful. I had a hard time deciding to share this pearl!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love4nTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#22 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Property: Residence Corte Grimani
Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing