We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful retreat in a busy historical city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domus Orsoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domus Orsoni
Ranked #106 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat in a busy historical city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is close to the train station so accessing it on foot is easy, it is a 5 minute walk (assuming you don't get lost, and in Venice that's easy :))
The property is very well preserved, and rather luxurious-looking.
Our room had a small porch we liked a lot, and air-conditioning, which was a necessity for August's Venice.
It's not a hotel-of-many-rooms-and-peoples, but it's cozy and you get to see familiar faces and have a relaxed experience.
Ideal for a romantic break, and ideally located for exploring Venice, central, but away from all the noise and fuss of the main streets, and if you want fuss, in 5 minutes you can have it :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear customer, many thanks for your kind review, and I hope next time you will come to Venice to have you here like guest, all the best. DOMUS ORSONI staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    32
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
82
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our introduction to Domus Orsoni was through Trip Advisor. We contacted the hotel and Valentina was very helpful in giving extremely detailed options and directions for getting from the airport to the hotel. She recommended taking the "Orange" Aliguna water bus line from the airport to the "Guglie" stop. It was only about 400-500 feet from that stop to the hotel. The key to success in finding the hotel is in communicating by e-mail. We purchased our Aliguna water bus tickets while still in the U.S.A. and it was a wise decision. Once we arrived we entered a very unique space in Venice. The entrance to the hotel is a museum room filled with beautiful mosiac artistry. The hotel is a relatively new twist on the colored glass mosiac tiles manufactured at this site. Valentina gave us a tour of the factory on the grounds and we learned how the Orsoni family has been making these mosiac tiles for over a hundred years. They set up the rooms about ten years ago to facilitate the students who arrived from around the world to learn how to work with their mosiac tiles. The hotel venture is a way to fill in the vacancies when students are not taking classes. Our room had a headboard built out of their mosicac tiles and the bathroom of black and gold tiles was as interesting as any of the sites we saw in Venice. The price was a good value for Venice (close to $200 US per night in Sept.) .
We enjoyed a very good breakfast on the patio overlooking a pretty tree-filled green coutyard.
We liked being in a more residential neighborhood away from the main tourist areas. A pass for the vaporetto was all we needed to get around when our feet gave out. Valentino also made arrangements for us attend an operatic duo in the Musico Pallazo at the last minute. That Palace entrance (back door) was even harder to find than than any other place in Venice. Her directions were spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for the black and gold bathroom....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a very spacious room - more like an apartment with its own balcony.Very tastefully furnished, clean and tidy. Lovely atmosphere. Excellent service and great recommendations about dining. A little hard to find if you don't understand the numbering system in Venice. It is off the beaten track and this was a real bonus for us as we found the rest of Venice far too crowded for our liking. Comfortable walking distance from the train station.

Room Tip: We had the room past the breakfast area - it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Customer, thanks so much for your kind review, you are always welcome here, whenever you want; next year we will try to get best the garden view.
Warm regards from Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is an excellent – and unusual – small hotel. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and well-appointed (even to having its own private balcony). From first contact to final check-out staff were outstanding in their friendliness and helpfulness. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone we met – we arrived late morning and were greeted by Flavio with refreshments and given a run-down on local attractions and places to eat, which was very useful to us as first-time visitors to the area. Breakfast is first-rate in both range and quantity. Domus Orsoni is located in a pleasantly quiet part of the city, and it was very refreshing to be able to escape into its quiet and shady gardens. What makes it unique is being adjacent to the mosaic workshop – and the mosaic art-work on display is stunning. Valentina gave us a fascinating tour of the mosaic workshops, and we would strongly recommend taking up the offer of this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dajtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear customer, thanks for your stay here, it has been a pleausure, and we are waiting you for your next stay in Venice!!!
Warm regards from DOMUS ORSONI staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

People often use the term "hidden gem" but in the case of Domus Orsoni, you really do need quite explicit directions to find it. We walked (with our luggage, as is the norm in Venice) well past where we should have turned into a small alley and asking for directions from two nearby hotels proved fruitless - they simply had never heard of it!

However, once found, it was worth the effort. As others have mentioned, the hotel/inn/B&B sits above a mosaic factory. There is not much in the building or the rooms that is not covered in mosaics! Our room (called Oro Ramini on the website, but indicated as Room 4 on location) was quite a good size and the bathroom is enormous. There was a welcome basket waiting for us in the room upon arrival (two bread rolls and some cookies), and remained there for the three days we stayed! Be warned that the bathroom is on three different levels, with a step up to the sink and another down to the bath and another up to the toilet/bidet area, which faces directly into the gold-tiled shower.

The amenities are quite basic, there are no tissues and the hand/face towels are made of tablecloth material, which is not very absorbent. Breakfast is served in a nice sunny room or on the terrace. It is quite basic. Considering that there is a fruit stand just a few steps from the hotel, it's a pity that little or none is on offer in the hotel.

As has been mentioned in many reviews, Flavio and Valentina are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Customer,
many thanks for your sharp suggestions. Only few informations just to be clear with other customers: the name of the room Is ORO RAMINO ( ramino, is the color of the gold mosaic inside it) , the tissue you were talking about for the face are made up with cotton, and for breakfast each day we serve different kind of fresh season fruits, problably when you wake up, as we are talking about a buffet service, the other customers have already eat enough fruits. Next time, please, ask what you need, it is much simple for us.
I wonder next time will be everything perfect for your stay, and another time thanks for your precious suggestions, that we hope to translate into reality.
Sincerely , Flavio , DOMUS ORSONI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the last leg our 2 week stay in Italy, however i must say that this was one of the best stays. The B&B is converted from an old mosaic factory and some of the works are on display on the ground floor. It serves as a small viewing gallery also.
The manager at the B&B was extremely helpful, he knew the exact questions we were going to ask and he had the perfect answers ready! Also his recommendations for the restaurants for eating were really great. Ask him the kind of cuisine you want to eat and he will guide you to the perfect place.

The bedrooms are quite big and elaborate. Our bedroom overlooked the small garden and had ample of sunlight. All the basic amenities in the room were perfect and the location is also not too far from modes of transport. We were able to walk to the main bus stop from this B&B in 15 minutes with our heavy luggage on our last day!

The washrooms are very elaborate ours had a gold finish which seemed straight out of a bond movie! Very upscale. Another couple friend of ours had washing area as big as some small bedrooms in other b&bs!

Overall a very high recommendation for the location, amenities, rooms and the hospitality of the manager

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOMUSORSONI, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Customer, thanks for your kind review, i remember your joy for staying here, better joy after changing the room with one bigger; we always try to do our best. See you next time here, warm regards from Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This tidy jewel attached to the renowned Orsoni mosaic glass fornaci in the quiet area of Venice, the Cannaregio neighborhood, is a wonderful spot from which to explore and experience Venice. Each room surrounds one with art yet with quite modern state-of-the-art amenities (high end shower, micro-fridge, A/C, etc.)

The staff, Valentina and Flavio, are cordial, courteous, helpful, poly-lingual, and articulate. It's a remarkable value in a lovely garden setting, with possibility for light but quite ample breakfast on the small deck overlooking the garden and glass work area. Rooms are upstairs; downstairs are a number of fabulous mosaics in an artistic/boutique museum setting. The location is a world apart from the wall of touristic humanity moving through the San Marco and Mercerie areas.

Once you are at Ponte de Gulie, accessible from both the train station/P.le Roma and via Vaporetto (Gulie stop), you are almost there; go along Fondamenta Cannaregio away from the ponte and turn in at the second sotoportico (low passagway). Check the map; signage is subtle as it is a less touristed neighborhood.

We've always stayed at Locanda Orseolo, our other favorite place in Venice, but for my short stop this trip I was very happy to stay over here and found it a similar level of service and aesthetics.

Room Tip: Each room is unique; I stayed in #2, with two twin beds and mosaic headboards. Fabulous shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOMUSORSONI, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Customer, many thank for your kind review, I hope that next time you'll be here to spend more time with you and give you my personal suggestions!!!! So, to the next time, warm regards from Venice, Flavio Scarpa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#233 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#68 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Rubino
Ca' Rubino
#425 of 466 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
San Marco
Ca' del Nobile
Ca' del Nobile
#70 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione La Calcina
Pensione La Calcina
#33 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Orsoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Orsoni

Property: Domus Orsoni
Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 1045, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five rooms lovely decorated with mosaic tiles, in the middle of two lovely gardens , an historical house restored in modern way. Everything closed by an ancient foundry ,still producing hand made mosaic tiles since 1888. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domus Orsoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Orsoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing