We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domus Orsoni
Nearby Hotels
$372
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$276
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$370
$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ruzzini Palace Hotel(Venice)
$334
$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$281
$223
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$321
$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$341
$299
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$171
$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
137
35
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
35
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannaregio neighborhoodoverlooking the gardenyogurtmosaic workextra pillows and blanketstrain stationbeautiful glasswithin walking distanceboat stopwould definitely stay here againperfect stayexcellent locationmarco polo airportcontinental breakfastmin walkwater busvalentina
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 181 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want to visit Venice, be away from the crowds and just wander the bridges and alleys, then choose to stay at Domus Orsini in the Jewish quarter. From the time we arrived at the station and after a brief walk, we were not disappointed. It is located in a quiet location, yet not too far from cafes and bars that locals frequent. Our room was wonderful and one of the cleanest rooms we stayed in during our 6 week trip around Italy. Breakfast was adequate and served in pleasant surroundings. Make sure you take up their offer to tour their mosaic foundry and workshop. It is interesting and helps you to appreciate the decor in your room. We will definitely stay here again and have already got friends who intend to book. Go wandering the surrounding lanes and bridges and you will enjoy Venice as it should be enjoyed and away from the crowds. Thank you to the staff who made our visit a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had a large double room with shower and were not disappointed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear customers , thanks for your review; the way you've seen Venice is the best way to appreciate a unique city in the world; Cannaregio quarter, the place where we are, is for sure the most venetian quarter of the city, as you note the place where many venetians go to take a drink and eat, faraway from the tourist's river.
Gday from DOMUS ORSONI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We learned of Domus Orsoni, a small boutique hotel, on one of Samantha Brown's travel adventures to Venice a few years back. The hotel is on the top floor of a well-known mosaic studio.

This is a small hotel without normal business hours or a front desk. In our emails back and forth, we had estimated our time arrival around 3 pm so one of the proprietors would be there. After a few flight delays, however, we realized that our arrival would actually be closer to midnight. We simply dialed Flavio, let him know of the change to our schedule, and he coordinated with another hotelier to leave our key there with directions on how to navigate to Domus Orsoni.

We quickly learned that Flavio always went the extra mile. He provided us with terrific suggestions for local restaurants and wine bars and was also helpful in crafting our schedules to the best time of day to visit several attractions.

The rooms at Domus Orsoni are spacious and comfortable, and the furnishings nearly all embellished with mosaic tiles. Even the outside breakfast terrace provided a beautiful and serene way to start the day in Venice!

If we ever find ourselves in Venice again, we'll be sure to start and end our hotel search with Domus Orsoni...

Room Tip: This entire area of Venice is very quiet, even on the weekends. We stayed in Room 4 on the front side of Domus Orsoni and were quite happy!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJandDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear customer, thanks for your kind review, our mission is to give more real info we can about Venice; this is the best way to discover a new city, have free indications by a local person. You are welcome next time, with our new garden for relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Domus Orsoni is a beautifully decorated hotel and a must visit for everyone interested in the old art of mosaic. We received a tour at the glass fabrication area, which is known world-wide for the manufacturing of glass for mosaics and visited the 'glass-library', which is an experience in itself. We will surely be back!
For arrivals: there is no reception, so make sure you've set in advance your arrival time, especially if it is in the afternoon or Sunday. Otherwise you may end up waiting outside until someone opens the doors for you...once you receive your keys you can come and go as you like. Very convenient. Not all personnel speaks English, so make sure you have some basic Italian vocabulary.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ZoahrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOMUSORSONI, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your review!
You are right, we haven't a 24 hour door service and for that reason we ask to our guests all the information they can send us about their arrival in order to arrange ourselves to welcome them properly and our guests can contact us anytime by phone, as we have the call transferred to our mobile, so we are able to assist them for any request also when we are not at Domus Orsoni.
We are happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us, and we'll do our best to improve our welcoming!
Thanks a lot and hoping to have you again as our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Domus Orsoni was a lucky find. We've been to Venice many times, but this was the warmest welcome we've ever had. Valentina went above and beyond the call of duty in looking after us and our requests. Domus Orsoni is beautiful - the breakfast terrace/balcony full of flowers overlooking the garden is just stunning. Our room was huge, I've lived in flats with smaller floor space! There was even a private terrace, which would be perfect for sunbathers or smokers. The postion is perfect too - near enough to the water bus stop, the train station and excellent shopping but also perfectly peaceful and quiet. We have already booked to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Domus Orsoni was a wonderful base to spend our 3 days in Venice. Valentina was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and Flavio provided us with free tickets to visit the Gallerie dell'Accademia. The garden courtyard was a beautiful place for breakfast each morning, and the mosaics in the individual bedrooms were so charming. The beds were comfortable, and the sitting area in the main room was a nice place to relax. The B & B is in Cannaregio, a quick walk from the Gulie stop from the Alilaguna taxi from the airport. It was a bit longer walk, maybe 10 minutes to the train station, very convenient for transportation into and out of Venice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indigo10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews