We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope to return every year!”
Review of Domus Orsoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus Orsoni
Ranked #97 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I just returned from my fourth stay at Domus Orsoni in the Canareggio section of Venice. For me it is like the having a guarantee of what to expect from lodging. This bed & breakfast style of room is lovely, accommodating, clean and comfortable. The hostess and staff who oversee things are wonderful! They are helpful and kind, hoping to make your stay wonderful. I feel like I am going to visit friends and family when I return. The Domus Orsoni has a relaxing, quiet atmosphere that makes you forget the crowds of tourists that you see everywhere. Staying at the Domus will be the most secure aspect of your vacation. The area has very nice restaurants and shops and give you a true appreciation for living in Venice. This is a very popular place with its guests so be sure to book in advance!

Room Tip: Special note -- each room has beautiful mosaic panels in the bath and room, visit the website to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaynie113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed Domus Orsoni for 3 nights with my family. It is easy to get there either from the train station or airport. Also, the location is quiet and very nice to walk around. All the staffs are friendly and full of hospitality. WIFI was a little bit weak at our room, but no problem in the lounge. If you do not need "hotel-type services" but want to experience nice and easy days in Venezia, Domus Orsoni is surely the most recommendable place. Notably, the domus is next to their historical mosaic glass factory and we were lucky enough to be guided around the factory. Wishing to be back there again!!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank yuki_td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

It was our 1st trip to Venice and we booked this lovely hotel thru the recommendation of reviews via the trip advisor.
We tugged our luggage from the train station - Santa Lucia, following closely to the printout of the directional instructions given by Valentina. It was easy finding the place.
We rang the doorbell and were greeted by a friendly housekeeper (forgotten to ask her name). She helped me with the luggage to my room and gave us our room keys. She showed us the breakfast room and offered us a cup of cold water. We were so thankful for that thoughtful gesture. :) We booked a triple room and wow, room was huge with a nicely decorated mosiac bathroom with a separated shower area and a huge waterjet bathtub. I would like to suggest that it would be excellent if they can install a glass door at the shower area. (prevention of flooding between shower area and toilet bowl)
The next day, we were awaken by the aroma of the coffee. The housekeeper greeted us with a lovely smile and asked for our choice of hot beverages. We chose to sit at the varanda as we enjoyed the continental buffet breakfast which was included in the rate. Breakfast consist of cossiants, bread loaf, milk, cereals, yogurt, coffee/tea and a selection of pate spread and jam.
We would highly recommend this place for honeymooners, family, couples, and those who are intending to visit Venice. We truly enjoyed our 3 nights in this cosy hotel.
Thumbs up for Valentina and the housekeeper for the lovely place and service rendered to us during our stay in Venice. It was truly memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank felicia1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was our first trip to Italy and this place was wonderful. It was located in the Jewish Ghetto, just a short walk from the train station. The room and bathroom were clean, modern and beautiful with stunning mosaic artwork, especially in the bathroom. The price was reasonable and the location was peaceful since it was away from the main tourist areas of Venice. However these areas were easily reached on foot or via the vaporetto. Breakfast was simple but good and could be eaten on a beautiful outdoor terrace. Next time we go to Venice - we will definitely stay here again! The staff was wonderful from the time I made my first online enquiry through to our entire visit in Venice.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank bcfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Perfectly located b&b with great restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk. Accommodation in Venice is expensive so we delighted to come across this relatively reasonably priced modern b&b with large bedroom and fabulous large mosaic tiled bathroom. Breakfast is limited but was sufficient. Within walking distance of all tourist spots. When we saw the crowds shuffling along the more well known areas of Venice, we were delighted with our choice of location..if we're back in venice, we'll be staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParadiseSeeker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Valentina at the Domus Orsoni B&B is great to work with. In addition to the B&B being a mosaic studio downstairs, the rooms are clean, the breakfast is good, and the location in the Jewish Ghetto of Cannaregio is great. We enjoyed the easy access fo the vaparetto line near the main canal, and wandering through the Jewish Ghetto for dinner, enjoying the quietness of the neighborhood. I enjoyed this B&B so much the first time that I returned 4 years later. When I return to Venice again I will stay here again. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

amazing B&B in the old getto of Venice,beautiful rooms and bathrooms,sitting area and breakfast room all with the mosaic from their own factory.
fantastic service,good location.a real 5 star .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dieuwke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,183 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#85 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#142 of 385 in Venice
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
La Palazzina Veneziana
La Palazzina Veneziana
#57 of 476 in Venice
213 reviews
Castello
Palazzo Schiavoni
Palazzo Schiavoni
#115 of 476 in Venice
332 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#17 of 476 in Venice
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Orsoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Orsoni

Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 1045, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $63 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five rooms lovely decorated with mosaic tiles, in the middle of two lovely gardens , an historical house restored in modern way. Everything closed by an ancient foundry ,still producing hand made mosaic tiles since 1888. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Domus Orsoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Orsoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing