We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Nicolo Priuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Nicolo Priuli
Ranked #211 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked this hotel through our travel agency. I was kind of worried that it was not very well rated in Trip Advisor but to our surprise we found very nice and spacious rooms. The hotel is part of the Palazzio Priuili hotel and is located in various buildings. It seems they have bought the whole block. Very friendly staff, we even got a complimentary Proseco. The Piazza de San Marcos is only a 8 minute walk.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlballesteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    138
    67
    30
    17
See reviews for
63
230
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the recommendation of an associate, the staff on arrival were very helpful, couldn't get into our room early after arriving early. The room was archaic with a mural on the ceiling!! I note the hotel was established in 1848 and our room possibly hadn't been refurbished since then. The bathroom, although all marble had a ridiculously small shower with a shower curtain that sticks to your body, the shower head slips down all the time, small hand basin with no storage shelving. The king bed (2 singles ) was very hard and the wardrobe hanging space was also totally useless. The floor had holes worn in the marble effect, obviously still the original!!! The saving grace was the private terrace where we could sit overlooking one of the canals, have a wine and people watch, a magnificent position indeed and we did spend a lot of time on it. The breakfast provided was quite reasonable. No iron or ironing board in room although one was provided at request for approx. 10 minutes before being whisked away again. Quite poor accommodation really considering the cost.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank phil3194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I had come to Venice for a romantic weekend. We checked in on Friday afternoon and were told they were fully booked but they would take us directly to our room (yay!) We took the elevator to the top, but then kept going up the next set of stairs to the attic. Our room was literally the attic of this hotel. The ceiling was not tall enough for me to stand up straight in our room, and that isn't even the worst part of the room. The beds were two double beds that were pushed together, but slid all over the floor so sleeping near each other was impossible unless we slept on one double bed (which we did for the 2 nights stay.)

The important points:
This room was not a 4 star hotels room, it was a 2 star hotel.
Beds were more like two cots that we tried to sleep on.

Pros (of course there are some):
In this box of a room there was a window (on the slanted roof ceiling) that was able to tilt open, once open you can stand out of the window and look at the landscape ( no water views though)
Breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: 505 is not a room for adults to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloud9girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel and nor does it pretend to be. It is clean, nicely decorated in Venitian style, breakfast is good enough and what it really has going for it is its location, 5 minutes from St Marks Square and 5 minutes from the vaporetto (water bus) stop which is a blessing when carrying luggage through the streets of Venice. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Venice and the hotel was more than adequate.

Directions to get there from the airport -

Take the Alilaguna water bus from the airport to San Zaccaria (approximately 1 hour 20 minutes). When you get off at San Zaccaria walk through the little tunnel which is opposite you (slightly to the right), walk through the square (police station and church on your right), turn left at the end of the square then first right. When you get to the end of this road turn right and cross the second bridge on your left where you will see Palazzo Priuli, you need to check in at the Palazzo and a porter will take you to Casa Nicolo.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage grab a baggage porter when you get off the water bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tambarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through 'Avios', so it was obviously good value to us. We stayed in a double room which was adjacent to the restaurant on the ground floor. The room was clean, compact and pleasant although not much of a view. The buffet breakfast (which is the only meal provided) is more than adequate to set you up for the day. Whilst the hotel is close to San Zaccharia the narrow winding streets still make it difficult to find so ensure you have good directions in advance of your trip. When we arrived at about 11pm we found the hotel more by good luck than good management. Unfortunately the hotel did not have our reservation but were more than helpful in providing a room and sorting everything out the following morning. One addition to be aware of is the Venice City Tax of €2.50 per person per night which will be on top of your room rate.

Make use of the 'Valporetta' (water buses), they are good value for money particularly if you get a 48 or 72 hour pass for unlimited travel from the first validation of your ticket. Go on Line 1 from San Zaccharia along the length of the 'Grand Canal' to Piazza del Roma and back for the best views in town. Also take Line 4.1 to Murano to see glass blowing and a quieter time than Venice and call off at Burano (for lace making) on the way back. Don't forget to take in a 'gondola ride', they are expensive as a couple but you can reduce the cost by taking a Gondola Tour with another four persons.

Remember it is very expensive around St Marks Square for both drinks and food but go a few streets back and it is cheaper without any reduction in quality. When walking around it can be very confusing so just follow the 'yellow' signs on the walls to reach well known landmarks such as St Marks, the Rialto Bridge etc.

Just stroll, take in the atmosphere and enjoy a very special location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudger453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed ther with our 8 Year old son for 2 days in May 2013. Hotel is at very good location in San Marco Square. Five minute walk to square and five minute walk from the boat stop. Room are clean but old building.No elevators. Room decor was very nice, antique. Friendly staff. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My heart sank we I saw our room had its number written on paper and cellotaped to the door. Sadly ominious.

I went with my daughter and we had requested a twin bedded room. What we got was a tiny room with twin beds pushed together. I spoke to Reception who told me that we had twin beds and that we could separate them - somewhat disengenious as the room was so small that they could only be separated by a few inches and it meant that we could only edge sideways down the sides of the bed. So to get into bed, effectively we climbed on the bottom of the beds!

The tiny bathroom door was at one side of the bed, so we had to climb over a bed or edge sideways to get into the bathroom.

The room was clean, but oppressive decor and our room backed on other buildings and was at times noisy. An A/C unit kept a continuous hum the whole time, which didn't bother my daughter, but I was aware of it.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful (apart from the disengenuity regarding the twin beds). The breakfast was excellent and Sammy the breakfast waiter was very pleasant.

I have stayed in much nicer hotel rooms in Venice in comparably priced hotels and I would neither stay at Ca Priuli again or recommend it based on room 404. All other aspects of the hotel I would recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Palazzo Priuli
Palazzo Priuli
#181 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Castello
Ca' Priuli
Ca' Priuli
#294 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#144 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Castello
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#346 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Castello
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#160 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nicolo Priuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nicolo Priuli

Property: Casa Nicolo Priuli
Address: Castello 4985/4, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Nicolo Priuli 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicata al Conte Nicolò Priuli, deputato e presidente degli Asili d'infanzia nella Repubblica veneta, Casa Nicolò Priuli propone un ambiente dall’ inconfondibile sapore ed eleganza dell’Età Romantica. Le stanze sono confortevoli e lussuosamente arredate con mobili originali dell'Ottocento, lampadari in vetro di Murano e preziosi tessuti. Ciascuna è dotata di un bagno privato con asciugacapelli, aria condizionata e riscaldamento autonomi, televisione satellitare a colori, mini- bar, cassetta di sicurezza e telefono diretto con connessione fax e modem. In tutte le stanze è vietato fumare. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Nicolo Priuli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing