We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
Ranked #129 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Third visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

From the title of this review, it is clear that we like this hotel. We have visited 3 times, always in February and find it to our liking.
The location suits us but some may find it a bit out of the tourist swim of things. But it is a short walk from the bus station in Piazzale Roma so it is easy to get settled on arrival. Though, like any new address in Venice perhaps a bit hard to find the first time.
The rooms are all different so you would be well advised to see a few, subject to their being available, before committing. Some are small, some in oppressive colours and so on. I am sorry that we had to reject the first 2 offered, one because there was no hanging space or drawers!---obviously not satisfactory for a stay of more than one night (I cannot imagine whose idea that was!)
Once settled it was very comfortable but more expensive than intended because we had to upgrade for a satisfactory room
It is delightful to have a private garden on the grand canal. The entrance through the garden always makes us feel good --like coming home to your own palazzo!
The breakfast is served in a pleasant room but is limited in variety, not uncommon in Italy, though it would not suit you if you need a Full English to face the day.
No complaints about the staff who all did their jobs as you would expect.
But why do hotels not show you the best room first and insist on putting you through the room choosing routine when all you want to do is unpack?
One more thing on which I must compliment this hotel, though they are probably unaware that they even do it. I am tired of the ubiquitous sign in the bathroom inviting you to actively demand clean towels every day. At Venice hotel prices of course I want clean towels everyday---even if it raises the temperature of the planet by 5 or 6 degrees. No such sign here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    113
    42
    16
    17
See reviews for
44
314
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel was really nice, located in a nice quite courtyard in the Sestiere Santa Croce. We loved walking to and from this place although, location wise, we would advise people that we did the same walk to rialto/san marco every day and it may get redundant. The courtyard was really nice, however we were really disappointed with our room. We were on the ground floor, next to the reception and we could hear everyone at night it was quite annoying. Breakfast-wise, I have to agree with everyone, it's not really an expansive breakfast, but it's free, so take it or leave it.

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor room, it's very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveladdict987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaNigraLagoonResort, Direttore at Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Traveladd,
we thank you for your comment and for all the suggestion you gave us in order to improve our service. We hope you’ll come back to our property and we will be more than pleased to suggest you other routes to Rialto bridge and San Marco, as well as to show you alternative accommodations on higher floors.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful and charming. It is right on the canal and has a pretty garden. It used to be a mansion and is old, but that gives it much charm. My mom and I visited for one night and it was magical. Close to the trains which is nice. The room was elegant and clean. The free breakfast was very good. Wish we could have stayed longer. We were there in mid-September and the weather is great. Remember to close the windows at night so you don't get mosquito bites. It is expensive but I used my credit card points to pay for it so it was a great deal. It was like a dream and Venice is a city you need to experience at least once in your life. There's nothing like it. I hope I get to go again someday and hopefully you will too.

Room Tip: I learned from other reviews to not stay on the first floor and I agree with that. The shower and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Roselife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaNigraLagoonResort, Direttore at Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear 1Roselife,
thank you for the positive review and we are glad you and your mother have had a beautiful experience at Ca’ Nigra Lagoon Resort.
We wait for you for your next holiday in Venice.
Best regards

The Management
Ca’ Nigra Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This was a perfect little hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is outstanding and the staff are attentive and accommodating.
There is also a peaceful well maintained garden where you can sit with a glass of prosecco while watching gondolas sail past. Belissimo!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shakespeare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaNigraLagoonResort, Direttore at Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear shakespeare89,
thank you for the time to share your experience with us.
We are very proud of our garden overlooking the Gran Canal, it make easier our aim to create a secluded place where our guests can relax.
We look forward to welcoming you again with a glass of Prosecco!
Best regards
The Management
Ca’ Nigra Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel just last week end and I'm completely agreed with John L and PCM199. absolutely overpriced 4 star hotel with a real poor continental breakfast menu. the room 206 (jsuite) has a good view but there is no wi fi (and the staff perfectly knows the problem), the bathroom it's a dark room with really poor facilities and the marbles are really ruined. In addition the tv doesn't work perfectly.
The staff isn't adequate to the four stars hotel with few exceptions. I would like to understand why this hotel is called resort

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxwood, Herefordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A very warm welcome despite arriving earlier than appropriate.
Ten minutes later we had been given our room which had been upgraded to a "Superiore" Suite , possibly when they discovered that it was our 25th anniversary.
The staff were at all times attentive and helpful , especially with recommendations for local restaurants which were always successful .
Our room was lovely opening into the side garden and to the front overlooking a small canal .
The location was ideal for those who like walking and can read a map as so much of the real Venice would otherwise be missed.
It was the highlight of a two week trip to Venice and around the Veneto

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Overpriced 4 Star Hotel with poor staff attitude - no interest in the their Clients well being - photo shows that it was facing the Grande Canal but it was a back water. Rooms very poor facilities - toilet seat was broken - basin always blocked - thin old and frayed towels, old fashion TV - all doors including the bathroom very squeaky - very annoying.
"Continental" breakfast was the same every morning - although other food was available at a cost - no one asked? Too much trouble?
It is well situated, but when we asked the Reception for details on surrounding areas - very little data given - even though we were 5 mins walk from the nearest bridge and lots and lots of action. We found the directions from the Hotel to St Marco Square and Rialto - very clear directions - no one from the Hotel offered this advice

Room Tip: Do not book here - plenty of other Hotels to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#184 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort

Property: Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
Address: Santa Croce 927 | Campiello San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Venice
#68 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#115 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Venetian House located on the Grand Canal.22 junior suites differently furnished, where a combination of high-antique fornitures, original materials and far-east styles are mixed with taste.Two marvellous Italian gardens surrounds Ca’ Nigra Palace that overlook directly to the Grand Canal. Roses gardens lends itself to great charm parties and any kind of receivings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Nigra Lagoon Hotel Venice
Ca Nigra Lagoon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing