We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was an inconvenience to the staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' Doge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ca' Doge
Ranked #124 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was an inconvenience to the staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I booked this hotel as a convenience for my last night in venice, as I had a 6:00 AM flight. I recieved a pleasant email prior to my arrival telling me they would prepare a breakfast box, as the breakfast room did not open until 7:00.
It seemed as if I was an inconvenience because I was leaving early. The room was accessed through a gated car park full of cars, and could barley roll my luggage through very well.
There was no information in the room for accessing the free WiFi, so I went to the office where they gave me the code. The WiFi was as useless as the TV that you turned on and off by unpluging it. This I had to figure out on my own. The climate control was a noisy fan blowing cold air, so I turned the breaker off. This was a 1st world hotel, at 169 Euro per night. I was staying at the Mulino Stucky, at 150 per night, in a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca_Doge_reception, Responsabile reception at Ca' Doge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Regarding your comment on tripadvisor and other websites, first of all, we are very sorry you did not enjoy the stay in the hotel. We knew very well that you had to leave very early and, since the hotel is situated in the square the busses to the airports leave from, we are rather used to early departures so we assure you there was not any inconvenience about it. So, we arranged breakfast for you, even before the breakfast time. As to the television, it is a pity you did not ask the reception desk about it, because there are two TV remote controls in the room, so you did not have to use the plug. For this information and also for the WIFI code, even if you did not find it written in the room or in the common areas, you could call the reception from the room. Furthermore, we are very sorry that our guests had to experience the consequences of acqua alta – high water, since the national phone/Internet provider was not ready for it and half of Venice got into a 3 days blackout and, obviously, it was not completely fixed the day you arrived.
With regard to the heating, its default setting is on the 23°Celsius/73° Fahrenheit degrees, so every guest at the arrival can set the temperature he wishes or switch the heating off.
Concerning the price, please note that the hotel rates change according to period (week/weekend/holiday) and the night you spent in our hotel was the first night of a three-day holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    109
    50
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
121
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Ca Doge for one night, before our cruise departed the following day. The hotel is in a very convenient location, not too far from the train station and across the street from the people-mover to the cruise terminal.

The staff was friendly and courteous, and we were very grateful they held our luggage for us after checking out (as we only boarded our cruise at 7pm, after a full day of wandering Venice). The included breakfast was quite reasonable in terms of selection and quality.

The rooms were clean, if a bit dated (carpet everywhere). WiFi is included, but the signal barely reached our room. Our room looked out onto Piazzale Roma, which is effectively Venice's bus terminal, but at night we closed the large wooden window shutters which blocked out most of the light and noise and allowed us to get a good night's sleep.

We would likely return here were we to cruise from/to Venice again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svelvik, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a couple of pre-cruise days in Venice, and by sheer luck we had booked our room at Ca' Doge on Piazzale Roma. What a find! One minute walk from the ATVO airport express bus. One minute walk to the People Moover (takes you to the cruise port in one minute for one euro pp). Two minutes walk to the Vaporetto, the Canal Grande boat bus to San Marco. Walk into the streets of Venice just around the corner without dragging suitcases along crowded streets and steps up and down bridges. We learn from other reviews complaints about steep and narrow stairs. It's not that bad - we had absolutely no problems with our luggage up and down from the top floor. Large room, bed with comfortable matress and a good and clean bathroom. Small breakfast room with enough choice to get you started for a great day out in this exiting city. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. What else do you need?

Tip: Buy your tickets for museas etc online before leaving home and save a lot of time. We did, and went past half a mile queue at the Doges Palace, and entered through an empty VIP lane in just 30 seconds. I wish I could share with you the baffled face of my husband :) Link: www.veniceconnected.com

The hotel is not suitable for the disabled as there are no elevators. The hotel also have some rooms and appartments in an annex. We do not know if these rooms are accessable for the disabled.

Our review is rated excellent due to the extremely convenient location of this hotel.

Wishing you a great time in a great city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was the prefect place for us the car dropped us at the door and we didn,t need to drag our cases on and off water taxis,had only a one day stay here but was very impressed with the front counter staff.One young lady was so helpful and friendly and went out of her way to assist us.Our room was on the second floor,very clean and spacious the bathroom was very modern and well supplied.with toiletries and nice towels.Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is the hotel to stay at if driving to Venice for the first time and have no idea of what to expect in regards to parking. The helpful parking attendants at the hotel park your car and have it ready on the day of departure. The hotel is adequate with relatively new renovated rooms that are clean and modestly furnished. The breakfast selection might not appeal to everyone as most food items come in cellophane wrappers. There is no one there to help with the service or clear the tables. The only view you have is Piazza Roma and the cars and buses.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ilga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked for pre-cruise night and was not disappointed. Close ot bus station and people mover. Room was clean, and large. Good size bathroom and newly modernized. Breakfast was ok, but we were there for convenience, not 5 star dining. On our return, the graciously allowed us to store our luggage in a meeting room for a few hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msb0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked this hotel as a last resort as we needed an additional unexpected day in Venice after checking out of our initial hotel. The only good thing was its proximity to Piazza Roma where the bus terminal is located for our trip back to Marco Polo airport. No elevator. No help with luggage. Noisy. Poor excuse for a breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#101 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#201 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#182 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alloggi Marinella
Alloggi Marinella
#148 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Doge

Property: Ca' Doge
Address: Piazzale Roma | Santa Croce 467/e, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best located hotel in Venice.Easy to find, situated in Piazzale Roma, where the buses/taxis arrive, two steps far from People Mover going to the port. The only hotel in Venice with private parking available on site.The rooms are spacious and all equipped with free wifi connection, air conditioning/heating, private bathroom and other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Doge Hotel Venice
Ca Doge Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing