We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Venice”
Review of B&B Gli Angeli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Gli Angeli
Ranked #201 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed five nights in the Blue Room at Gli Angeli in Venice in April 2010. It was very easy to get to the B&B from the Arsanale vaporetto stop - just over one bridge and down a short street - very convenient. The location is away from the tourist areas - and that can be good or bad, depending on your personal preference. It was very quiet at night - no street noise. The room is located on the first floor without an elevator - although we did get help with brininging our luggage upstairs.

When we checked in we found that Sonia was away for a few days - and we never did meeet her. After reading so many positive reviews about Sonia and the great service she provides, we were disappointed - but we understood the reason.

The room was a good size, with a king size bed (two twin beds joined together). The bathroom had a small shower with great water pressure and lots of hot water. Towels were replaced frequently. There was plenty of closet and drawer space. There was a small table and two chairs where you could eat breakfast. The breakfast that was provided was pre-packaged items - but there was a mini-refrigerator in the room and we found orange juice and milk along with a small bottle of Prosecco. Coffee and tea were also provided. There is a small cabinet with tea, plastic cups, and a pair of scissors. The scissors came in so handy! We went to a local grocery store (Coop) and bought cereal and snacks.

The room is very clean, but the decor is definitely 'dated'. There was a small TV - but limited channels and no English channels. There was no telephone and no alarm clock.

All in all - a comfortable room at a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bab0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for B&B Gli Angeli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2009

Looked at 3 and 4 star hotels in and around Venice, but nothing basically appealed, so I looked at B&Bs instead. When I read the reviews for Gli Angeli, I booked it at once. The accomodation was in a great situation, only 10 minutes walking from St. Marks, but very open and quiet. The room was beautifully decorated and supplied with everything needed for a relaxing stay. The star of the show is Sonia, who is so friendly and helpful. Where else would you find a birthday present and bottle of wine in your room, she had noticed the date from the registration form. Finding it was very simple with a photo tour of the route from the boat station to the front door. Not sure I should be letting other people into the secret.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saintsfan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

I don't have the superlatives to do Gli Angeli justice. I have never felt so personally welcome at any hotel. Sonia is super friendly and helpful. She was tipped by one of my relatives I would be there over my birthday and gave me a 1/2 bottle of wine when I arrived. On the day of my birthday she gave me a little cake with candles. She was very friendly and helpful throughout out entire stay. The facilities themselves are a bargain in Venice. The room was clean and ample. It's a modest B+B, not a five star hotel but it suited our needs perfectly. When I return to Venice this will be the first place I contact for reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badwaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

What can I say this is a great b&b in Venice. Angela is so kind and made us feel welcome in her b&b. Angela kindly gave us advice on what to see and do in Venice and the best places to eat out. The rooms were comfortable and clean, nice ensuite bathroom and kitchen. We had the apartment with own private balcony/courtyard. About a 10/15 minute walk to St.Mark's Square. And only 2 minute walk to catch the boat bus from the Arsenale stop. Good bed and breakfast to stay to see all the major attractions of Venice. I stayed here with a friends and we felt safe walking back to the bed and breakfast at night.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Sonia has a wonderful b & b and she is a great host. Once she spent an afternoon helping us look for an apartment for a long term stay in venice. This time we stayed in an apartment nearby that she is renting. It has the best location. Near the tourist sites, but just far enough away to make it quiet and not crowded. On the Arsenale canal with a view of the lagoon, remodelled, perfect. Just steps from the Bienalle.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

If you are fortunate enough to visit the lovely city of Venice, you must stay At B&B Gli Angeli. We are 7 time return guests of Sonia, who goes to great lengths to ensure your stay is memorable. The B&B is within walking distance of Saint Mark's square, and is in a beautiful quite neighborhood. Gli Angeli is beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and Sonia's warmth and hospitality are truly one of a kind. One year, we were leaving Venice and headed to Rome to catch our return flight home, when Pope Jean Paul passed away. My husband and I did not have reservations in Rome and were told that all rooms were booked, after many calls and e-mails Sonia was able to arrange accomodations for us. Had it not been for her help and concern, we may have had to spend the night in the airport. There are many hotels and B&B's in Venice, but none like Gli Angeli, and especially not at the very reasonable rate!

Elizabeth & Jorge
San Diego, California

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

This B+B is in a gereat location, quiet but just a few seconds' walk from the main waterfront and only a minute or two from the Arsenale vaporetto stop - get the Alilaguna red line direct to/from the airport. We stayed a few nights in the Gold Suite then moved to Sonia's Blue Room. Both were lovely and clean, most comfortable. Sonia gave us a litle bottle of wine and a massive Italian cake on arrival. Sonia and her mother are lovely, genuine people, very welcoming. We had a great stay and are already planning another one. We've stayed in Venice before, so know the standard of some other places (including hotels) - we recommend this one, the best we have found.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
B&B Laguna724
B&B Laguna724
#207 of 471 in Venice
12 reviews
Castello
B&B in Venice Back to San Marco
Dorsoduro / Accademia
B&B Dorsoduro 461
B&B Dorsoduro 461
#189 of 471 in Venice
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Room in Venice Bed and Breakfast
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#107 of 471 in Venice
182 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gli Angeli

Address: Campo de la Tana 2161, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $117 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your B&B Gli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Gli Angeli
b&b Gli Angeli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing