We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli
Ranked #223 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast, Sydney Aust.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We loved Venice and stayed at the Don Orione after coming off the Queen Victoria cruise ship. I was looking for cheaper accommodation and checked our the monastery / convent options. Was delighted to come across this one and was sold on it as it looked so clean (and dust-free - important as my daughter has dustmite allergy), without being too stark and impersonal. (My daughter did not sneeze once!) We were very happy with the friendliness and service right from the moment of booking (direct via email). As I asked for a triple room, we were offered the choice of a large double and single or 3 singles. All emailed queries were handled immediately including advice on the best way to get from the ship to the location. And the location is excellent, between Zattere and Accademia. The religious aspect is minimal and the modern design incorporates the sites history. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. We were able to leave our luggage (as we arrived early) and head off for our prebooked Secret Itineraries tour of the Doges Palace (about 5-10 minutes walk or next stop on the waterbus). The only slight drawback was the (continental) breakfast, some fruit would have been nice, but it was enough to see you through until lunch.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JannieAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
36
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Don't let the category religious place fool you - this is one modern hotel! They had completely renovated the place that it contains state-of-the-art lighting, fixtures, etc.

I liked that the hotel is located away from the hub of things. It was quiet, very clean, and spacious. The room that was given to us (there were 3 of us) was big and the bathroom was almost as big as the room itself.

The place is also very close to the vaporetto stops (there's 2 - 1 on each side of the hotel). There are also restaurants near the area.

This hotel is located just one stop away from Piazza San Marco and the Basilica.

Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Netoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Excellent location and stay at Don Orione. The rooms are large sized and clean. No TV but this does not seem necessary in Venice! We were only two but they do seem to have a number of other size rooms - singles and family size with four beds. The location is excellent and the easiest way to arrive is from the Zattere stop but it is also very close to the Accademia stop. There is no curfew and the staff are very friendly and nice. Highly recommended - there may be cheaper places but the location and quality of the Don Orione make it worth it.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank AmAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

It is true that the rooms are 'minimalist' - no TV, radio or other unnecessary fripperies of any kind here! - but they are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We were with a group of friends and were probably, therefore, in the room less than usual - going out at 0930 and often not back before 2330.
Breakfast was more than adequate with cereal, fruit, pastries, bread and yoghourt. The staff were wonderful; nothing was too much trouble in terms of finding information or making suggestions.
We were all Christians from the same parish, but even a non-religious person would be more than happy here. Religion is not overt but is a constant presence in terms of the courtesy, kindness and simplicity shown by everyone at the centre. If you do not like a crucifix on the bedroom wall, best not come here, it's true!
The location is perfect - halfway between the Grand Canal and the Giudecca canal, one minute's walk from Accademia and Zattere vaporetto stops.
For our silver wedding last Octber, we arrived by Orient Express and stayed in the utterly peerless Il Bauer Palazzo. That can't be beaten. HOWEVER, we have had just as special an experience this time - simply with less carpet, jacuzzis and fluffy bathrobes. I recommend this place unconditionally.

  • Liked — So clean and everyone was so kind
  • Disliked — It was not a hotel, and that was obvious. However, I WOULD go back without a second thought.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Duettist96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

Booked based on tripadvisor and travelguide reviews and was very happy. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in April 2008. Very clean, recently updated with simple decor. Great location, staff and price. If you are looking for simple, safe and affordable accomodations I would recommend.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Simple decor
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJRTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

I highly recommend this centre. As a single female traveler who is transitioning from her hosteling days, I felt very fortunate to have happened upon such excellent accommodation. The centre is a clean, modern facility with a very welcoming staff and a social conscience. It is conveniently located by the Academia Bridge and is steps from the canal. I would definently stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank reviewer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

I recently stayed at this establishment for 3 nights. The room, and the entire center, was immaculate. Breakfast was provided each morning and was more than sufficient to start the day in Venezia. One outstanding feature of this religious guesthouse is its location. It is a very short walk to two vaporetto stops, Academia on the Grand Canal and Zattere. If you are travelling either too or from the airport, there is also a "boat" stop at Zattere that is just a few steps from the front of the center - very convenient if transporting luggage. There are also many excellent eateries withing walking distance as well as excellent gellato stands. Look for Gellato Nico on the Zattere (just around the corner) for great gellato for only one euro. There is a curfew at the Culturale Centro, as there often is at religious guesthouses. I thought it was 11:30 but found out after I arrived that it was 1:30 a.m. Plenty sufficient to do everything that you want to in Venice. I would, without hesitation, stay at this establishment again if I return to Venice.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Wolftrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#232 of 386 in Venice
786 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#185 of 386 in Venice
436 reviews
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#176 of 386 in Venice
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#268 of 386 in Venice
250 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#125 of 386 in Venice
478 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#53 of 386 in Venice
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli

Property: Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli
Address: Zattere Dorsoduro 909/A, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in Venice
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing