We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we were looking for in an apartment in Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' Alexander

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ca' Alexander
Ranked #238 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for in an apartment in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed in Ca Alexander's other apartment, Ca dell'Ancore, for a week in May 09. The Castello area was a great choice - a scenic 10min walk along the waterfront to Piazza San Marco and the main tourist area, plus wonderful things to see and do in Castello itself. And ... not a lot of tourists - what a relief! The area around the Rialto Bridge and San Marco were so crowded it was MADNESS.

Our apartment was a "canal view" - our own little canal outside (we were one floor up), a FANTASTIC patisserie and gelati shop in the little courtyard below, a fruit & veg barge daily, lots of terrific bars and restaurants (expensive, but ALL Venice is!) and that rarest of animals, a huge beautiful green park at the back door.

Unfortunately there was no washing machine, but a laundromat is not too far away. Our only MINOR complaint was the couch .. very hard and uncomfortable, but who spends time on the couch when Venice is outside?? What a wonderful experience, we'd definitely stay here again.

Sabrina & Alessandro were very welcoming and hospitable, spoke good English (which was great because my Italian is very poor).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

This review is for the apartment, which is on a different location than the B&B, but run by the same owners. We found it to be perfect for our needs. The apartment consists of a large bedroom with a large, very firm bed (I think it was a Cal King) and a twin-size bed (which we did not use), a fully equipped kitchenette (it looks recently renovated), a hallway and a good-sized bathroom. It was sparkling clean, and very quiet. A good place to return after a full day of sightseeing. The owners are very friendly and made us feel welcome from the moment we made the reservation. The only drawback was that the a/c broke down on our first day and Venice was very hot. We adjusted by having the window open at night, but that might not even be sufficient in the summer. Also, there are two flights of stairs to be dealt with and no elevator, so bear this in mind if you have a lot of luggage. There is no breakfast service at the apartment, since it has the kitchenette, and we did not mind at all as the kitchen is fully equipped and there is a grocery store (Coop) a few yards from the apartment. The area is very nice, as there is a park (Giardini) within 5 minutes from the apartment. Overall, I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alipg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

My family of 4 adults, stayed in this very lovely apartment for (unfortunately!!) only 2 nights and we could not have been happier with it. It was the nicest place we stayed in our 10 days of traveling. It is spacious, modern, has a great patio with nice views from both directions and is in a great location. The beds were all so comfortable and there are huge closets with plenty of space. It is located above a street that has good restaurants, fun people watching, a number of bars, grocery store and anything else you might need.

The owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast (juice, coffee, warm sweet rolls and regular rolls) was delivered at a time of our choosing. The refrigerator is stocked with milk, butter and yogurt.

My adult daughters thought this place was wonderful, and loved everything about it. We all travel light (carry-on size bags), so the steps were not bad (from the ground level there are approximately 10, then about the same for the 2nd floor, there are 28 up to the apartment).

Hopefully we will be in Venice again, and we would absolutely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jperkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

Worst experience we ever had.

Louisa & Jeannot

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The shower area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisaSislian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrone822003, Direttore at Ca' Alexander, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
No words for them. They want to leave without saying words and without paying the bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIC, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

Stayed in the Ca' Alexander 1 bedroom apartment in Venice in May 2008, it was awesome. Best accommodation we had in Italy, it was the nicest, cleanest, brightest and most comfortable room and certainly better than anticipated. The owners were great and breakfast was delicious. Great location, only a short walk to some of Venice's most popular areas. A park is nearby (we found that we missed seeing trees and open spaces after being around the canals for too long!) which was nice too.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and location
  • Disliked — that we didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

I highly suggest to anyone travelling to Venice to look to Castello as a base for their stay. And particularly look at Ca' Alexander. It was very clean, finely decorated and the owners very warm and helpful. The terrace view was fantastic; what a joy to watch the locals in their early morning activities and early evenings community gatherings. Very close to water bus and easy walking to the center. You can't go wrong staying in this apartment!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

My mother and I spent two nights in the Ca' Alexander. Once we got over getting our massive luggage up the 72 stairs, yes, 72 stairs, we had a really enjoyable stay here. The room itself is huge! The decor is great and the view of the street below is phenomenal. The breakfast consisted of brioche (hot fruit filled croissants) and rolls, along with coffee, juice and yoghurt. They also left out great chocolates for us.

This pensione is easy to get to (once you know where it is) via the Vaporetti (Water Bus). You get off at "Arsenale", then turn right and walk up to Via Garabaldi. Turn left down Garabaldi and walk down the street about 400metres. The small alley that you need to take is on the left hand side of the street. Once you walk down it....the door for the hotel is on left. You need to read the knocker to see that you are there. There are NO signs guiding your way. If you have trouble, ask one of the owners of the restauarants on Garabaldi.

The only draw back to this suite, was the miniscule shower. It was incredibly awkward, but, not a reason to not stay here.

I would definitely not recommend this pensione for seniors, disable tourists or anyone with mobility issues.

I would highly recommend it to a couple looking for some romance and quiet time.

The owner recommended a restaurant on Garabaldi and it was far superior to anything else we had in Venice.

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regnigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Casa Favaretto Guest House
Casa Favaretto Guest House
#218 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
San Marco
Morettino
Morettino
#88 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Al Tramonto Dorato
Al Tramonto Dorato
#211 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#94 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#69 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Alexander

Property: Ca' Alexander
Address: Castello 1966, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Alexander B&B is a beautiful attic with terrace located in Castello district, facing the picturesque main road Via Garibaldi, near the famous Biennale Exhibitions of Art and the Arsenale.The attic at the top of a Venetian building (4°floor/ no lift) consists of a big double-room with a single bed, kitchen and table for breakfast,a living-room with another bed,a nice bathroom with shower and an amazing terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing