We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel/B&B”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #19 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights, from Oct. 6 -Oct. 10th, 2013. The first two nights were in the (very) small downstairs room & the next two nights were in the walk up apartment across the street. The rooms were well organized & very clean and the staff were super friendly & helpful. Breakfast was a great way to start the day as it was fabulous & the omelets were delicious. The location on a quiet little side street by the Doges Palace was another plus.

Room Tip: The first floor room next to the reception office is more like a ship's cabin and is best suited...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrjer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Ca' dei Dogi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 833 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a great little hotel in Venice - very well priced for the location and quality of the rooms. Nothing fancy in the rooms, but they are done up nicely and kept very clean. Most importantly though, I found the staff to be amazingly friendly from start to finish, and were quick to help out as much as they could. I really found that refreshing and it made the stay really enjoyable. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clmmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a charming, well-appointed hotel in an absolutely fabulous location! Adjacent to St. Mark's Square (a major tourist attraction), this hotel is tucked away down a small alley but very close to the Waterbus, a myriad of restaurants and cafes, shopping, etc. We had a room with a deck (chairs and table) and a Jacuzzi tub which we used every evening after a long day of walking around and taking in the sights. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast they serve surpasses any breakfast we had during our 6 weeks of European travels. By Venice standards (and having done some price comparisons), we found the Ca die Dogi to be excellent value. If you want charm and want to be in the "centre of it all" this hotel is a superb choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed two nights and wished we had planned for a longer stay in Venice. Small room but very comfortable and quiet at night...even with the windows open! Stefano and Susanna are wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to help us with our travels. They have their own restaurant attached, and so breakfast (included) was superb. The location was perfect for seeing the best of Venice, and we even got to a chamber music concert one evening because it was so close. They eased us in to the Italian way of dinner....late, over conversation and wine...no rush, many courses! This is a great B&B!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor...a little bigger and better view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here only one night, before starting a cruise that began in Venice. We arrived before check-in and the lady at the desk cheerfully greeted us and assured us that we could leave our luggage in the lobby and it would be brought up to our room when the room was ready. And that's what they we found. In the meantime, we walked the few blocks to San Marco Square to do some sightseeing and grab some lunch. Our room seemed small (to an American used to American-sized hotel rooms) but it had everything we needed - a minibar, a nice-sized bed, a safe for our passports, and all the amenities you need in a bathroom. Breakfast included omelettes, which I truly appreciated. In the evening,we accidentally short-circuited the electricity in our room and the front-desk clerk was quick to act to figure out how to get us our electricity back. On our check-out, again we were graciously allowed to leave our luggage in the lobby until we were ready to go to our cruise ship. Two small issues we had - the shower seemed to leak water into the bathroom (or did we do something wrong?) and the bed frame juts out at the foot of the bed and we kept bruising our shins on that. Very minor problems, all in all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near St. Mark's Square.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmgronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I think we had the only two-bedded room in the hotel. It's, literally, under the stairs. Just off the lobby. It felt a bit like we were in the hull of a ship. :) Having said that, it was comfortable and had enough space that two of us didn't feel like we were on top of each other. It also has double doors and was quite quiet. The shower would not be good if you were tall though, having said that the shower head does detach from the rest so, you could probably make do.

Breakfast was great - fruit, pastries, yogurt, juice, coffee and they'll make you an omelet. The staff at the restaurant and the hotel were all lovely and very accommodating.

After we found the hotel (we kept being told by the people working at the boat ticket booths to get on different boats at the terminal outside the Santa Lucia train station & ended up taking a water taxi) we realized how fantastic the location is. If you keep going 20 steps more down the alley past the hotel and look left you'll see the bridge of sighs. It's a 2 minute walk to the front of the bridge, and 5 minutes to the Piazza San Marco and great shopping. Five minutes the other way is one of the best gelato places we went to in Italy (La Mela Verde).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JupiterZowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 301 which had a balcony and table for two. The room was small but tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable. The balcony terrace overlooked a private wooded courtyard and the Dogi palace. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the breakfast of croissants filled with fruit and omelets. We arrived late back to the room while the staff was cleaning up the restaurant and we asked if we could purchase a bottle of wine to enjoy on the terrace of our room. Well they practically tripped over each other getting us a very nice bottle. Whoever was running the restaurant event sent back the first selection to get us a better quality wine. They supplied a cooler sleeve and wine glasses. We ate at their restaurant for lunch and the service was great and the food was good and reasonably priced. Will definitely come back again. Great value for the location and they made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Loved the terrace room 301 overlooking the private courtyard and Dogi palace.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,860 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,731 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#25 of 385 in Venice
907 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,564 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#21 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $137 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing