We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden gem in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #23 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Charming hotel with wonderful staff. My family had a great time, we could walk out of the hotel into the narrow streets of Venice. Just round the corner from the doges palace and many more attractions. Breakfast was a delight with much more than you could possibly consume, and the best till last was being woken my church bells every morning. A must if visiting Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    119
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
427
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What more can you ask for - Just catch a No1 vaporetto and stop at St Zaccaria, it is then only a 1 minute walk from the hussle & bussle of St Marks to the tranquility of Ca dei Dogi.

The rooms are compact but spotless. We stayed in the Batik room which had a Queen size bed and a small but effective shower. The room also had a balcony looking at the Doge's Palace dome - a great place to sip a glass of wine at the end of the day. Breakfasts are good and they are willing to cook eggs to your liking.

The owners are wonderful and very happy to spent time helping to plan your visits to Venices many attractions.

There is a restaurant on site but I would not recommend eating there. They seem to cater to large tour groups and individual diners end relegated to a dark corner and often forgotten. There are so many wonderful cafes and pizzarias within a 2 minute walk which will give you a more authentic Venetian experience.

We will stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: We liked the Batik room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The owner of this hotel was so helpful and although my room was tiny, the location was fantastic. Moments away from St Marks Square and with very stylish decor, a wonderful retreat from the August hordes in Venice.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October and loved it. The staff were extremely warm, friendly and helpful! It is tucked away in a fantastic location... even though you were in the middle of Venice it was still quiet. Breakfast each morning was great too! The hotel restaurant was nice too and the waiters were very entertaining and friendly. There is a lovely rooftop terrace to enjoy. The rooms were cosy and clean. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alioopsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing experience - we stayed in the apartment and although up six flights of stairs with a husband who had a partial knee replacement 3 weeks ago it was worth every bit of effort. All the staff were warm friendly and helpful to a fault. The apartment was so clean and so spacious we took the opportunity to buy bread,cheese and wine and sit on the terrace in the sun watching the visitors in the Doges Palace.
So want to stay again thank you Suzanne and Stefano.
I have not given full stars for value as this is Venice - but in every way it did not disapoint.

Room Tip: The apartment whilst a steep climb is worth it due to the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After arriving by water taxi from the airport we had a short walk down two alley ways to find this small gem. Tucked away and nice and quiet, this well located hotel was a great place to stay in Venice close to San Marco Square. Breakfast was adequate in the morning, as well we ate at the hotel restaurant the first night and had a very pleasurable meal. Admittedly the room was small but we knew this going in, very clean and nice though, we also had our own little private patio off our room which was pretty cool, also had fridge and safe and small LCD TV. Greeted very warmly when we arrived and offered a nice glass of sparking wine, overall a good experience and would recommend this small yet quaint hotel for your visit to Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio if you want, not many rooms so a phone call or email will be needed to communicate w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel sits virtually on top of Saint Mark's Square. Our rooom had a balcony looking at the Doge's Palace dome. We had the room with a jacuzzi and the bathroom was monster sized! The only drawback was there was no shower, although the jacuzzi had a shower head. The room was standard European size but clean and comfortable. Susanna was very helpful when we encountered a train strike and had to cancel the next night's reservation at another hotel and reschedule another place. She helped us find a new room and work through the cancellation. Breakfast was included and you can order an omelet, if you want. The location was the great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFlaHales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#13 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#14 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#18 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,172 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Property: Ca' dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#12 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing