We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Ca' San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ca' San Rocco
Ranked #133 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was our first trip to Venice and finding accomodations that were remotely reasonable and nice was a challenge. I am very glad I found this B&B through Tripadvisor. We had a very hard time finding the hotel when we arrived (but then again everything is hard to find in Venice :)) We don't mind being lost but it's not as much fun when you're lugging heavy suitcases up and down endless bridges in your quest to find your hotel. However, once you know where the hotel is it is very easy to find your way back from the main tourist destinations. We found everything to be within walking distance from the hotel but we also enjoy walking.
We stayed in a separate apartment off the main building. It had a small but very nice courtyard which would have been lovely if the weather were better. It was also very private and quiet. The bedroom and bathroom were very large by European standards and there was a kitchenette with mini fridge as well.
The breakfast was good and the outdoor seating area was fantastic. We got a very good dinner suggestion from the front desk (Au Crevete I believe). I would definitely recommend this B&B to other travellers who are willing to stay a bit off the main tourist route.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 310 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed in Ca'San Rocco for three nights in May, 2010 and really liked it. It was a 5-10 minutes walk from the train station, with only two bridge crossings. It is located on a very quiet side street overlooking a nice yard (not sure if it belongs to the B&B though). Our room was really clean, spacious, with modern bathroom but the room itself has an antique look which makes it quite charming -- look luck figuring out how to open the windows! Our room even has a small balcony. The staffs were friendly but on the polite and quiet side. I kind of feel bad for the girls sitting at the tiny reception desk down the stair all day long. Our breakfasts were OK. The two days it rained in the morning, all the guests cramped into the tiny dinning area which made it uncomfortable. On the nice day though, the outdoor sitting was lovely.

Overall, if you'd like to have a quiet place for the night in Venice away from San Marco, Ca'San Rocco is a nice choice. Our fond memory of staying there, other than the quietness of this little B&B, came from a great restaurant a couple of blocks away, Osteria ae Cravate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y_su58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I have been going to Venice for 25 years now, but usually in the summer. This year I decided to attend Carnivale for the first time. It was enormous fun to see the costumed Venetians and enjoy the spirit of the event.... but what made it perfect, was returning each night to this quiet, slightly out of the way, bed and breakfast. Absolutely no problems here. The most wonderful thing about it was the quiet ... after all that frantic activity outside to return to a room that was large, clean, well appointed and utterly quiet was wonderful. The two sisters who run the B&B speak English and were very helpful to me when my flight was cancelled ... I went right back from the airport and they took me in again. My room was overlooking a lovely garden area, that was green even in February, but the little street outside the wall of the garden was seldom traveled. They give a good directional map, and it is close to both the rail station and Piazzale Roma, a big boon if you are a single traveler like myself with bags to schlepp. Bravo.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed here during a 2 day trip to Venice. It is a close walk from the train station, and the directions provided by the hotel worked perfectly - I don't think we would have found it otherwise. When arriving, the reception area was small making us think the rooms would be tiny as well, but we were pleasantly surprised that our room was quite spacious and the bathroom was by far the largest we encountered for a hotel room in Italy. The room was very clean and decorated ornately in the classic regional style. Our room was a corner room (#3), and we had lots of windows and light in the room and bathroom. There is wi-fi available for an extra charge, as well as a TV, small refrigerator, and safe in the room. The mini-bar was juices, water and snacks - no alcohol, so prepare. The breakfast was quite good with warm pastries, rolls, cheeses, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juices and espresso drinks offered. The small staff was nice, but seemed a litte reserved, though this was perfect for us as we had been traveling through Italy for awhile and did not require much assistance. The hotel was quietl, as are some of the surrounding streets. There are some good restaurants and shops that we stumbled across as a result of the hotel location, that we would not have otherwise found. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, and plan on staying here again if returning to Venice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecm156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We spent three nights here in October 2009 and made our decision to reserve a room here largely on the comments from the past year of Trip Advisor reviews for this hotel. The positive reviews of Ca' San Rocco were spot on.

We took the airport bus to the Venice bus station, and then walked 10-15 minutes with our luggage in tow to the hotel. It was an easy walk - just two bridges. A good map is a must for navigating Venice. (We recommend the Rough Guide map) The hotel is located in a very quiet neighborhood, well lit and safe. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean. The windows have an automated retractable metal shutter that not only serves to block out light when recovering from jetlag, but also does a good job of muffling the many church bells that go off everywhere throughout Venice every hour.

The hotel is ten minute's walk from the closest vaporetto station. We found that we used the vaporettos (water bus/taxi) frequently and took a 72-hour pass for our three day stay. There are several small cafes and casual restaurants within five or so minutes of the hotel. The more lively areas are a bit farther walk, but not too far.

Breakfast is included in your stay. Some reviewers have commented that breakfast wasn't enough - but we found they provided plenty of food. Breakfast consisted of your choice of coffee made just for you (prepared espresso, cafe latte, machiatto, cafe americano, etc) and juices. There was a selection of canned fruit, yogurts, cereals, croissants, pastries, cheeses, sliced meats, and breads. It was pretty good, if slightly repetitive after three days.

Although three night's stay cost $717 (US), it was comparable to other hotels we considered, and we feel got very good value at Ca' San Rocco. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabreeze1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I agree with all of the posted reviews. This B&B is lovely, quaint, and on a quiet side street. If you're prefer small, intimate hotels where you get to know the staff (the two sisters who run Ca San Rocco were very helpful, polite, and professional) then stay here. The B&B seemed recently renovated and was very clean with great amenities. Breakfast was also very good - you can either eat inside or on their terrace. I loved this B&B because it really felt as though you're staying in someone's house in a quiet neighborhood. It's a 15 minute walk from the train station and easily accessible to great restaurants and major sites.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This is a little ripper, close to station just 2bridges to cross. very quiet and secure.
We stayed here 2 years ago and I just suddenly remembert this cute hotel/BB
in Venice.I allways meant to write a review but forgot.so here you go.
I would recommend this cute little place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#233 of 385 in Venice
100 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#166 of 385 in Venice
441 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#85 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexander Hotel
#206 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#131 of 385 in Venice
943 reviews
Russott Hotel
#344 of 385 in Venice
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Rocco

Address: San Polo 3078 | Ramo Cimesin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#56 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#98 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $124 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ca' San Rocco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` San Rocco Hotel Venice
Ca San Rocco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing