We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel BIG on charm”
Review of Alla Corte Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alla Corte Rossa
Ranked #224 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great location and very cosy place. I asked for a canal view and got an email straight away saying they would do their best. They did and we got the best room in the house, no 101. The breakfast is served in your room and is simple but nice. Paulo who takes over in the evening as concierge is a great man, so friendly and an encyclopaedia of Venice history, especially the unusual. The hotel is so close to P. Margheritta a hive of activity at night with some great restaurants near by especially the Tratorria Da Silvio just over the big bridge by the church at the end of the square, S. Pantalon. Would we come back to the hotel again, definite yes, excellent value and in an amazing part of amazing Venice.

Room Tip: Room 101 without a doubt, spacious and brilliant views. Just relax and have drink, watch the numerou...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thosthetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Alla Corte Rossa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Saw other reviews and booked this hotel - we had a 'heartsink' moment when we arrived- wondered if we had the same hotel we had read about. Outward appearance was 'rundown', wasn't easily identifiable as a hotel. Small cramped reception, narrow staircase so difficult to access bedrooms with luggage. Room appeared clean, towels and sheets were very clean. Decor left alot to be desired, furniture very dated, notice stuck up with masking tape etc. Bathroom ok apart from shower cubicle, needed thorough clean and discoloured/mouldy grout replacing. Breakfast was minimal and unappetising. Pleased we were only staying one night. Hotel location was good for access to Piazza del Roma.
This hotel was not good value for money, even in Venice!! Wish we had photo's to back up our review.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yates58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our second stay at this excellent quite holtel. We had room 101 which is very spaceous with and wll appointed with 2 large windows looking out onto the Canal There is also an additional sitting room area which provided lost of extra space. The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Bus Station Piazzle Roma which makes it very convenient to get to when arriving and it also means that it is very easy to find again becuase there are always sings pointing you back to the Piazzle Roma. The Fondamenta Rossa is very quiet because it is not on the main tourtis route and yet is it only a few minutes walk from the Campo St. Margherita which has a wonderful buzz and lost of bars and restaruants. It is also part of the main route to Academia. We will definately be staying there again on our next trip to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Foom 101 is the best room but others we have stayed in were also clean and had a very cosy feel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidKlaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stay just two nights in February (low season) and everything was great.

Room: It was a double-bed room very cozy and clean and the bathroom was all new.

Service: The staff (Paolo) was really polite and helpful. Gave us the city map and a lot of good advices. There isn't a breakfast hall and for this reason they serve breakfast in the bedroom.
There isn't parking lot but they offer a discount in private one.
There isn't internet.

Location: Great location, close to bus and rail station. 20 mins walking to Piazza San Marco.

Price: Good considering the quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavia_Maximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in June/July last year.

It is very close (well I guess everything is close on the island) to the main train and bus station and was very easy to find. The location is very quite away from all the touristy spots which was nice.

The reception staff were very helpful and gave great suggestions on what to do in the little time we were there.

The room was beautiful, looking out onto the canal outside. It was very spacious and comfortable. It had its own ensuite bathroom which was very clean.

The breakfast was fine for us as we don't tend to have a big breakfast. You are also given a key so you can come and go as you pelase.

Overall couldnt imagine staying anywhere else in Venice, was absoultly perfect for us!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Convenient and very quiet rooms enough close and far from main sightseeings in Venice.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erwan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is an OK BandB. It is modest, clean and wonderfully located. It is close to the train station and far enough away from the tourist traffic. Its a bit hard to find. Our room was small but clean. At night you had to open the window for air and you could hear some noise. The front desk man was my favorite part. In the afternoon, he would mark our Venice map to various attractions and hidden gems of the city. He made certain that we experienced a varied sample of all the Venice has to offer. This was one of my favorite cities in Italy. I would have given this place 3 stars if it was not for the front desk man. The rooms were nice but VERY small. The breakfast was below avarage at best. But the owner really makes the place and is a true Venitian. OH AND NO WIFI AT ALL.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#93 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#185 of 384 in Venice
367 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#129 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#329 of 384 in Venice
362 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#145 of 384 in Venice
936 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#124 of 384 in Venice
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Corte Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Rossa

Address: Dorsoduro 2518 - Fondamenta Rossa, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#156 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $96 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alla Corte Rossa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Corte Rossa is located in an eighteenth-century building that fronts Canale Briati in the artistic and historical centre of Venice. The nearby area, very smart and quiet, provides visitors the occasion to enjoy evocative and delightful Venetian emotion. The Alla Corte Rossa is situated near the arrival points of Venice: - Piazzale Roma (bus connection from and to air-port Marco Polo Venice and air-port Treviso) - Railway station Santa Lucia - Port of Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alla Corte Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Rossa Venice
Alla Corte Rossa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing