We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good !”
Review of Alla Corte Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alla Corte Rossa
Ranked #216 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Convenient and very quiet rooms enough close and far from main sightseeings in Venice.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erwan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is an OK BandB. It is modest, clean and wonderfully located. It is close to the train station and far enough away from the tourist traffic. Its a bit hard to find. Our room was small but clean. At night you had to open the window for air and you could hear some noise. The front desk man was my favorite part. In the afternoon, he would mark our Venice map to various attractions and hidden gems of the city. He made certain that we experienced a varied sample of all the Venice has to offer. This was one of my favorite cities in Italy. I would have given this place 3 stars if it was not for the front desk man. The rooms were nice but VERY small. The breakfast was below avarage at best. But the owner really makes the place and is a true Venitian. OH AND NO WIFI AT ALL.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We booked this hotel based on some of the other reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! We didn't want to pay too much but really wanted to stay on the island. We stayed 4 nights and paid 159 EUROS for the week days and 179 EUROS for the weekend nights for a superior double room with a view of the canal.

The room was on the top floor up 3 flights of stairs (no lift) but the size of the room and bathroom more than made up for it! It was a shabby chic room with a large double bed and large en-suite bathroom. The two windows overlooked the small canal outside which was a lovely plus, but not one I'm sure we'd pay the extra for again. I think the non-superior (i.e. no view) rooms were about 139 EUROS but not sure of their size. As this was our first trip to Venice however I'm glad we did! We did wake up to the sound of gondola and water taxi horns as they rounded the corner of the canal but this didn't bother us as we were eager to get out and about and explore more of the many sights Venice has to offer.

The guy who ran the reception in the morning was a little brusque, however the guy who ran the desk at night could not have been more helpful. He always welcomed us warmly and offered lots of advice on what to do the next day, pointing out which vaporetta to get to travel to various places. His two top tips were: One to visit Murano - he gave us a card to present at one of the glass shops upon which we were ushered into the back-room factory to watch Antonio create a cat and a horse from the melted glass straight from the furnace. This was obviously a special treat and not one available to all. We also visited Burano where they make lace - this is a very pretty little island with colourful houses. Finally we visited the lido to see the old hotels such as Hotel du Bain - we were a little disappointed however as the public beach is overrun and a bit dirty and the large hotels own the other stretches of beach along the coast. I'd give this a miss unless you're willing to pay an extortionate amount to use one of the private beaches.

The second tip was to give us free entry to the casino - there is a free water taxi from nearby which takes you to the casino entrance making sure you arrive in style. If you don't have a dinner jacket you can rent on there. We even won enough to take a midnight gondola trip which was just magical!! We'd decided previously we weren't going to shell out up to £150 to share a gondola with other tourists - or at best to ride alongside another whilst the gondoliers chatted in the queue through the canals. However this was something else - we managed to negotiate the fee to £100 and it was well worth it - we had the canals to ourselves with only the lapping water and the whispers of the gondolier pointing out Casanova's house for company while we sipped on little bottles of Prosecco we'd bought from a nearby shop :o)

Other top tips would be to avoid buying drinks (alcoholic) with lunch - it doesn't seem to matter where you are they can cost as much as your food. We quickly realised it was nicer to buy a beer from one of the street vendors or cafe's with a bar on the street and take it to sit somewhere nice and enjoy the view after a long day's sightseeing. We did have a couple of glasses of Prosecco on our first evening in St. Marc's square which is a must - they cost 10 EUROS each, but a cup of tea cost 9! Another tip would be to eat like a local in Dorsodura - we sat in the far right corner of the main square (from the hotel) and shared the most delicious risotto I've ever had, with a couple of proseccos and a bottle of wine for about 60 EUROS - a bargain in Venice. We also were accompanied by a huge group of old Venetians and the men got up to serenade their wives - it was lovely!!

My only negatives about the hotel were the breakfast was tea and a couple of rolls with spreadable cheese - we usually ended up buying elevenses somewhere as it wasn' t enough to fuel all the walking we were doing. Also, the shower didn't attach to the wall over the bath.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate_dafnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

So....just to be clear i am not someone that is picky BUT this hotel is NOT worth going to.
We had a budget holiday in Italy but we thought to book somewhere nice and fancy for Venice since it was a romantic place...So i came up with this hotel which on OFFER was 100 euros per night....
The hotel was so not worth even 50 euros...the building was old, they had no lifts and we had to carry our bags on those tiny stairs up to 2nd floor. Ofcourse the staff did not suggest to help.
The room was actually small and not that nice.
The breakfast was .....ridiculous...
The location was not hat bad as it was close to the train station BUT we had to carry our bags up and down the stairs of Venice bridges....
NO WI-FI, not even one to pay....So overall it doesnt worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LarnacaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Hotels are expensive in Venice - its a given. This is a very good value option for those wanting an en-suite bathroom and to stay on the island itself. The room was clean and the bathroom was a little larger than some we have seen in Europe. The guys who works in the morning is ok but the guy who staffs the desk at night was great in helping us get oriented and with suggestions. In fact, he was a little hard to get away from some times :)

Breakfast was adequate - you might want to bring a breakfast bar or something if you need fiber or protein...

Location was good - about 12-15 min to Accademia, 20-25 to St. Marks and about 10 min to the train station. Probably one of the "less" touristy areas in Venice - nice to see some normal people going about their daily business.

Very very quiet - make sure and pull the shutters shut and you won't hear a thing - but you might want to use an alarm then!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. The room was quite spacious with a clean bathroom and a big comfy bed. There was also a safe and a fridge in the room which were very useful.

Breakfast is simple but we still enjoyed having it brought to us in the room at the time we wanted. Being British and loving our cups of tea, we would have liked a kettle in the room!

The location is ideal, walking distance from everywhere yet away from the busy tourist areas.

The gentleman who runs the hotel was friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. He supplied us with a map and advised us on what to do and where to go. The Alla Corte Rossa feels more like a B&B than a hotel, very homely and cosy and even from the outside you wouldn't know it was a hotel! The front door is hidden away in an alley.

Venice is beautiful and we would recommend the hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samandtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Sorry for the delay in writing this review. I was at the hotel back at the end of May 2010 with my partner and a few friends. The hotel is awesome for the money. Hotels are very expensive in Venice so this was a find considering it was clean and good location. The owner and other staff at this hotel are very helpful and friendly. I loved the coffee in the morning. The hot chocolate is very tasty as well. Things to know about the hotel: typial European airconditioning so it's not cold like US standards. Bathroom is very clean and spacious. The hotel has a 3 floors if I recall, if you need an elevator I didn't see one. It's a little noisy in the morning as it most of Venice (boats honk as they go around all the canal corners for safety).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguy_0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#123 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#58 of 387 in Venice
544 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Canal Regio
Al Canal Regio
#304 of 387 in Venice
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Palazzo Contarini della Porta di Ferro
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#335 of 387 in Venice
256 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#173 of 387 in Venice
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Corte Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Rossa

Address: Dorsoduro 2518 - Fondamenta Rossa, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $62 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alla Corte Rossa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Corte Rossa is located in an eighteenth-century building that fronts Canale Briati in the artistic and historical centre of Venice. The nearby area, very smart and quiet, provides visitors the occasion to enjoy evocative and delightful Venetian emotion. The Alla Corte Rossa is situated near the arrival points of Venice: - Piazzale Roma (bus connection from and to air-port Marco Polo Venice and air-port Treviso) - Railway station Santa Lucia - Port of Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alla Corte Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Rossa Venice
Alla Corte Rossa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing