We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE - Alloggi al Mercante in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alloggi al Mercante

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alloggi al Mercante
Save
You added Alloggi al Mercante to your Saves list
Ranked #378 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“STAY HERE - Alloggi al Mercante in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent 1 night in this hotel during our trek through Italy. Typically when booking European hotels, I get a bit weary because they are usually in older, refurbished, dusty buildings and the bathroom and bed sizes can be questionalble. I usually don't make any issue since most of these hotels are what they are and. They can't renovate extensively, and have a few inherent cultural differences. It's all part of the experience. After all, if I wanted a Holiday inn, I would stay home.

That said, I was COMPLETELY SATISFIED with Alloggi al Mercante. We had booked online, and the site was easy to navigate and they responded t our email questions promtly - and in English. When we checked in, we were greeted in English by a friendly desk clerk. We got up to the room and it was exactly as pictured on the website. As a matter of fact, as we were settling in, the desk clerk came up to offer us an upgraded room.

Both rooms had the equivalent of a queen-sized (or larger) bed. Both bathrooms were extremely clean and well appointed. Many hotels in Eurpoe can have tiny waterclostes with phone booth sized showers. This hotel had a large shower - big enough for 2 - with a bench seat. Plenty of room inside and out to do what you needed to do without bruising a knee or an elbow. Shower and bed size is very important to us since my husband is over 6' 3".

Bothrooms were immaculate, rooms had working air conditioning and were decorated in old Venitian style with blown glass light fixtures. I have to be honest and say that given the age of the city and the building that the hotel is in, it was remarkably clean and there were no signs of dis-repair.

We slept in, so we did not sample the breakfast. Breakffast is served in the lobby. The lobby of the hotel is TINY, but seemed to be prepared to provide the usual coffe/tea/croissant type breakfast amenities.

The building itself is charming. But I don't think you find many of those in Venice anyway. You walk up to your room looking at the architecture and you can picture what the building would have been used for in it's day. The landing on each floor is spacious, plenty of room to get in and out of your room without bumping into anyone.

Value for the money was superb. We'd thought of spending more for a ritzy canal side hotel, but quickly realized that ALL of venice is canal side. And all of it is quiet since there is no vehicle traffic. The front door of the hotel is about 50 feet from the canal We were steps away from the Rialto Market, the Architectural Museam, the Water Taxi and the Vapereto. What more could you ask for?

STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Book online - they have great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed in suite for 2 nights. The room had a loft bedroom and two baths. Nicely maintained and comfortable. The one person staff was very pleasent and helpful. Like many Ventian hotels there are no elevators.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gberg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

we were very looking forward to staying in this hotel as we had booked the suite for one night and after spending the previous week camping we were really looking forward to a bed! However to say we were disappointed would be an understatement, the first thing we discovered in our room was that our bed sheet was all covered in blood!! This was not the most pleasant of sights and hardly the health conscious either! Secondly a mini - bar had been advertised on the website but all we got was an empty fridge and there also seemed to be a problem with the draining system. When you are paying a lot of money you expect to get what you are paying for!! Although the room itself was lovely and we did we did recieve a 20 euro discount it just simply wasn't good enough!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel was only a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and the big fish and produce market. The hotel served a continental breakfast, but we opted to go to one of the many quaint cafes nearby. The hotel is relatively easy to find for Venice, just a short walk from the water taxi station and we felt very safe there. The rooms were very spacious for Italy's standards. We didn't have a waterview, but it didn't matter as we were always out. This isn't a full-service hotel, so don't expect room service or bellman.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

First of all, no one knew where the hotel was, the road that it's on apparently changes names 3 times, so we took about an hour looking for the place.

When we got there, it was beautiful. You can tell it was newly renovated and just absolutely more than what I expected. There are NO ELEVATORS and the stairs are EXTREMELY steep. So PACK LIGHT....The air kicks in after a while but it is rather humid in the rooms. All seemed well until it was night time. We were about to go to bed when I realized there were bugs everywhere!! I stayed in room 103.There were these Wood louse or God knows what crawling on the ceilings, walls and floors!!! They looked like prehistoric trilobites and there were silverfish and mosquitos. I probably killed about 10 of those "trilobite" things and 5 mosquitos. The door guy (from the Phillippines) is very nice but he is hardly EVER at his desk so be prepared to wait around a bit or yell Excusi Signori!

Also, their phone lines are not connected so...good luck finding a phone if you need one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C4clev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I never got to stay at this place. I booked a single room for 2 nights and the booking was confirmed. Only one day ahead of my arrival I got a mail that said Urgent reminder. (Reminder???) They then informed me that no room was available but they had booked me into a similar hotel instead. Only that this "similar" hotel was way off in Arsenale, which I don't consider similar at all. I got really pissed off and really was under pressure to find a room closer to everything. Really bad behaviour from this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnicaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

I travelled to Venice with my wife and daughter and so booked a triple room for 180 Euro. We only had two nights in Venice so we preferred to stay in town and not to have to travel to and from the Lido, where prices are lower. Venice is expensive and so the price was really OK for a location so close to the center of town. An easy walk to the Rialto and another 10 minutes to St. Mark's. A few restaurants very nearby, including a Chinese one that was open late so even though we arrived at 11:00PM we could still get food. Many restaurants near the Rialto. Take into account that they get pricey if they are on the Grand Canal. We had room 104 which is actually a two room suite with a modern bathroom (shower). There are 54 (!!!) steep stairs to climb to the first floor (rooms 101-104) and they were NOT fun but they did not take away from the advantages of location and clean rooms. As others have written, breakfast is practically nothing but it was OK to start the day (you spend a lot of time in coffee shops in Italy anyway). The receptionist could have been more helpful but again, the stay was definitely worth it. I would go back again (with less luggage :) next time)

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#15 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
#41 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
#2 of 198 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#18 of 462 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#93 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi al Mercante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi al Mercante

Property: Alloggi al Mercante
Address: San Polo, 1770, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alloggi al Mercante 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing