We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa ai Due Leoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa ai Due Leoni
Ranked #167 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Merseyside
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Off the beaten track, but handy to walk to the bus and train station in around 15 minutes. The man on reception was most helpful and looked for bus times to the airport and arranged for an early breakfast so we could catch our flight. Our room was actually in an annexe a couple of doors down, the room was modern and spotlessly clean, but the bedroom and shower room were both extremely small and there was not much room for luggage. Toiletries were supplied and lovely soft towels. It did feel a bit claustrophobic, as the room looked over a tiny courtyard with a partial roof which did not help. We did experience some noise from other rooms as the walls were all studded and not very noise proof. Air conditioning was on, and one bonus was a fridge/minibar which we were not expecting. The bed was very hard, as were the pillows, so we did not sleep very well even though the room was very peaceful during the night. Also, there is no one at reception after about 8pm and the front door to the main hotel is locked,this meant that we had to carry three keys around with us all night and could not request extra pillows etc. There is an emergency number to ring if needed. We were able to get our breakfast earlier than 8am,which is the stated time. It was plain bread and croissants, biscuits and preserves, yoghurt and juice, and coffee. It was a little limited but this could have been because we were half an hour early. I think we would prefer a more central location next time,with 24 hour reception. We found this rather expensive for the area.

Room Tip: Would have preferred a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaylover091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    71
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
88
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tete, Mozambique
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is not bad, but it is very expensive for its category and quality. I hated the bed which was very short and not confortable.
Beside that, the hotel is very clean, the staff is very very friendly and it is really well located close to the train station and is very easy to go to the "city centre". There are several restaurants near the hotel.
And ah, do not be fooled by the pictures of the garden..it is there, but it is not that beatiful and it really needs more assistance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidaAcaci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Just 10 minutes away from railway starion. it is a quiet place, and close to restaurants and shops. will stay here again if visit vinece in the future. The breakfest is simply, but it is enough. After all, almost all italian prefer simply breakfest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in May, 2013.
There are some very good things about this hotel, the most outstanding being the staff. We found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful.
We also thought the location was great. It is quiet, but still easy to walk everywhere.
However, there are a few things that made the stay less desirable.
The breakfast was poor. Plain sliced cottony industrial white bread out of a plastic bag with little packages of Nutella, a mediocre croissant, a container of yogurt and some fruit punch, plus coffee. High in cheap carbs, low in protein and zero fresh fruit!
When we returned to Venice later, we stayed in two other Venetian hotels. The other two hotels were less expensive than Due Leoni and had fabulous buffet breakfasts with tons of fresh fruit, cheese, eggs, fresh pastries, etc.
The other issue was a strong citrusy-chemical smell in the room - perhaps it was a cleaning product or some kind of air freshener or an insecticide for the ants in the bathroom, but it made our eyes burn and our throats raw. We had to keep the windows open all the time. Fortunately it was not hot while we were there or else the room would have been uncomfortable. There was an air conditioner but it just made noise and didn't seem to cool anything.
I would not stay here again, because there is much better value to be found in other Venetian hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coralbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Caneletto room for three people in Dec. The room is spacious and décor was interesting.

The hotel is also not far from the train station, about a fifteen minute walk.

The receptionists were friendly and helpful.

The only issues we had with the room was the accessibility and number of sockets for charging. There were not enough of these for three people. The location of the socket in the room was high up on the wall which is quite an unusual place for charging. We stood on a chair to reach it. The other issue was the water flow from the bath tub. It drains from both the shower nozzle and the tap at the same time. We informed the receptionist but unfortunately nothing could be done as it has been experienced by other guests too (not sure why the problem can't be fixed). In winter, it gets cold while bathing in the bathroom because the water flow is too little.

That said, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We were very happy with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Venice is different from the other cities. My expectation was to find a hotel near the train station, not that expensive, and that I could easily find.

Let me tell you that this hotel was super easy to find, thanks to the directions I received from the hotel via email in the night before arriving.
The furniture is old and could be replaced, however the sleep quality was good and the price was fair. They don’t have a room for breakfast therefore they serve it in the room, which is something different but after all you are in a different city. I prefer to have my breakfast picked by me but I have to say I was happy with the selection (could be better but at least it was enough).
The staff is nice and friendly and give you advices which is always a good plus.

The toilet however had low pressure which I didn’t like since even toilet paper had problems going down… image the rest. And in the last day the hot water wasn’t working.
The bathroom wasn't that clean since I found some hairs (long and black) wich weren't mine...

Basically if you want an easy to find hotel this is the place to go. And believe me, some hotels within the city can look and be nicer but if you have problems finding them all the time you will waste precious time and probably money (if you have to take a water taxi or Vaporetto).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed for several nights in August 2012. Despite what others say, the hotel was super easy to find, we cycled into Venice and had absolutely no problem finding it from the main train station. The guy on reception was so very helpful and accommodated our bikes without any issues. The location of the hotel is perfect for peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, but still within walking distance for the rest of the city - it's really not that big. There is a water bus station right by the hotel anyhow. Cannaregio is a great part of the city to wander...you find areas with no tourists around, little cafes where you drink your espresso at the bar for 50c and get amazing little Jewish treats for next to nothing. Really is perfect.
Breakfast wasn't cooked, but given the heat of Venice in August, I could only just manage a hot coffee, and there was certainly plenty of cold food to eat. The only issue for my partner (it didnt bother me) was that the air conditioning was struggling a bit.
Overall though, a really lovely little place.

Room Tip: We were in a split level room - maybe one of the other rooms struggles less with the air con, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMM834644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#251 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#171 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#219 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Antica Raffineria
Antica Raffineria
#208 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#154 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Moro Di Venezia
Hotel Il Moro Di Venezia
#164 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa ai Due Leoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa ai Due Leoni

Property: Casa ai Due Leoni
Address: Cannaregio 565, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa ai Due Leoni 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa ai Due Leoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ai Due Leoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing