We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Through a secret garden, your window on Venice”
Review of 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
3749 Ponte Chiodo
Ranked #27 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our first stop on our trip to Italy, we found our way to this bijou guest house, hidden away in the streets of a quiet neighbourhood. After much research, this place ended up being the perfect choice. The area is fantastic, being within a very easy stroll to the Ca' d'Oro vaporetto stop and some handy shops, yet far away from the crowds. Entering at the rear of the house through the peaceful garden (a nice spot to check emails and have breakfast in the morning), the setting is charming -- in an gorgeous spot overlooking a small canal, with a little bridge out the front. It's so picturesque, a wedding party came to take photos on this very spot! Once over the bridge, you can walk down to nice strip of restaurants and bars right on a quiet canal. And the Rialto market is easily accessible via a gondola "ferry" service nearby, which runs backwards and forwards across the Grand Canal. The room itself was very comfortable, and lovely (ours was on the first floor), bathroom spotlessly clean and well fitted-out. The bed was one of the most comfortable on our trip, and the room even had a bar fridge. Mattia was the perfect host, giving a lot of time to find out what your plans might be, and very helpful with his advice -- taking into account our interests with his suggestions. Please note that this is a guest house, so it's not manned at all times, which may not suit everyone. If I'm ever lucky enough to return to Venice, I'll stay here again ... We loved this sweet little place. In my opinion, 3749 Ponte Chiodo's rating should be much higher!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hello,

I am so glad you enjoyed so much Pontechiodo.
Thanks so much for the nice pictures and for supporting "Pontechiodo" in Tripadvisor!!.

All the best
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 471 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

My postcards read, "Venice was so lovely. I hated to leave her." Much of the credit goes to the Ponte Chiodo guest house.

Follow her web site's four-minute walking directions from the Ca' d'Oro vaporetta stop, key in the password, open the great green door to the private garden and leave the intensity of travel and Venice's tourists behind. Matteo, the enjoyable owner and manager, was there to welcome us with his excellent English to what would become our home for five nights. Everything is well cared for ... gardens, rooms, and guests. Modern comforts and pristine clean, but the room feels like romantic Venice. Our windows looked out onto a quiet canal and the small bridge for which the guest house is named. Geraniums bloomed in window boxes. Bright blue skies of early May reflected in the water. From time to time a gondola would glide silently by on its way to the secrets and beauty of Venice.

Mornings began at small tables in the garden. Cappuccino, espresso, ... graciously prepared and served. Guests are invited to select from cheeses, ham, salami, fruit, breakfast breads and pastries, yogurt, and granola. A glass pitcher of juice is placed on each table. Roses climb and unfold. Leafy trees dapple sunlight. Matteo catches up with his returning guests - a photographer of many visits from Russia and a couple who consider his suggestion to visit the Manet exhibit, currently, at the Doge's Palace.

Matteo understands his guests and can recommend sites of specific interest, including, exceptional neighborhood restaurants. Ostaria da Rioba and Osteria l' Orto dei Mori were our favorites. Dine with Venetians on the day's freshest ingredients, carefully prepared and artfully served. (Reservations essential. The effort to communicate in Italian is appreciated, but the persons making the reservations sufficiently understood English. Specific times were offered, either, 7:30 or 9:00 PM - nothing in between. This confused me at first but made sense later. Linger. Enjoy.)

Billa, a large local grocery on Strada Nuova carries cheeses, olives, well-priced wines, fresh fruit, salads and prepared foods. (For Americans it is Whole Foods and much more.) On our last evening we shopped and dined in the garden. The large, patio canopy sheltered us from raindrops. More-protected space with table seating is just inside. A kitchen refrigerator conveniently provides storage in addition to a small, cold-drink refrigerator in the room.

None of the things I worried about happened - too hot, too humid, bad smells, bugs, noise, floods, or drenching rain. Whether traveling to the lagoon and the islands or along the Grand Canal, the vaporetto stops are nearby. We purchased passes that afforded unlimited use for a week upon arrival at Marco Polo Airport. (Look for a booth. Explanations proved in English. Cost, 58 euro per person.) The pass include bus transportation from the airport to Piazzle Roma where we picked up the vaporetto, just four stops away from Ca' d'Oro. Passes electronically verified with each vaporetto access.

"Buon giorno. Buona sera. Buona notte."

Room Tip: Being comfortable with stairs is necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boscoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

What to say!
I'm really amazed.
I should replace your judgment to my website.

grazie mille!
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the very start we knew we were onto a winner! The directions outlined in the confirmation email were perfect and easy to follow. As we were checking i n we were given a map with the best "local" restaurants marked withe their contact details. Some great tips there and probably saved us from overpriced tourist traps.
The room itself was clean and comfortable with a fantastic canal view. Breakfast each morning was great and eating it in the courtyard was just perfect.
We really could not have been happier with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The 3749 was a great place to stay in Venice. The directions we received made it easy to walk to with our luggage from the Fondamente Nouvo water bus stop. We had the little room, and it is little, but it was the only one open. As long as you are not a 300 pounder it is fine. The breakfast was good, and the designs created in the cappucino will make you order and extra cup. Great sitting out in the garden, drinking wine and playing on wifi in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If we return to Venice, we wouldn't bother looking elsewhere as Ponte Chiodo has the lot....clean rooms with e suite, views, lovely brekky of yoghurt, cereal, meats, and real coffee whilst sitting outside amongst a lovely little garden...you can help yrself to coffee /tea throughout the day which was good in the afternoon...Matteo was very helpful and considerate when addressing a couple of issues like no tv reception and our bar fridge not cooling....he also was great for recommending areas to visit outside the tourist zones as well as restaurants...was nice to also chat to fellow travellers over an afternoon drink or coffee and swap stories...recommended and thank you Matteo

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you like to start your morning at the communal breakfast table with fellow travelers from around the world sharing stories, plans for the day, expresso, pastries and emails addresses - all with the guidance from Matteo, a native Venetian - then Ponte Chiodo is for you! Location is fantastic, rooms are large and clean with great unobstructed views (unusual for Venice) and the peaceful, private courtyard is the perfect spot for an end of day glass of Pino Gris. Have already recommended Ponte Chiodo to others and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I chose this B&B because of its great reviews everywhere and I was not a single bit disappointed. The owner is really nice and friendly and gives you all kind of advice. Great breakfast in the cosy garden. Next time I'll go to Venice I wont have to search for a place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#33 of 476 in Venice
306 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 476 in Venice
1,121 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#4 of 476 in Venice
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Filu
Hotel Filu
#11 of 476 in Venice
159 reviews
Cannaregio
Apostoli Palace
Apostoli Palace
#44 of 476 in Venice
381 reviews
Cannaregio
B&B Casa Baseggio
B&B Casa Baseggio
#65 of 476 in Venice
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3749 Ponte Chiodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Address: Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $80 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 3749 Ponte Chiodo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our guests write: "A home away from home. Quiet, clean, convenient and very welcoming. Excellent location off the beaten track but still close to everything, located in not touristic and alive Cannaregio's district. If you are looking for lavish 4/5 stars Hotel with huge rooms furnished with fake baroque golden furniture please move on. If you visualize small bridges crossing the little canal outside your window, vine covered walls surrounding a patio and small garden and cappuccino every morning, then this is the place for you! The rooms are cozy and comfortable, their furniture original antique and well refurbished... Remember this is an old, Venetian home. No gyms. No pools. But a nice patio to enjoy breakfast or an evening glass of wine and cheese. You may also have the opportunity to meet some nice people from almost anywhere. The Venetian owner suggests local small restaurants and hidden itineraries through the wonderful unknown Venice". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 3749 Ponte Chiodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3749 Ponte Chiodo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing