We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, quiet and friendly”
Review of 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
3749 Ponte Chiodo
Ranked #23 of 475 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean rooms. The owner and the personnel are extreamly friendly. the position is quite well placed.
Ask for suggestions on places to visit or restaurants to eat at, and you won't be disappointed.
Nice internal small garden for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolomaz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 468 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Being very picky with places to stay in, it was difficult to find a good place knowing that everything in Italy is quite old. Even the top rated hotels in Venice wasn't appealing to me. After months of research, I finally decided to book with 3749 Ponte Chiodo. It was the best decision I've made! It was very spacious and very clean, which was of utmost importance to me! We got a room in the 2nd floor (which really was the 3rd floor) which was quite a hike - but the view in our room was fabulous! If you've got a big luggage like we did, book a room in the 0 or 1st floor. The best part about the B&B is that the whole experience felt so personal, thanks to Mattia! He offered to help us plan our route based on the weather and our preferences. He even gave a list of recommended restaurants to try, which was highly appreciated! Just make sure you confirm your time of arrival so you can be sure you'll be able to get your keys when you arrive. Definitely loved the city even more because of such a great place to go home to each day and the warm service of Mattia!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Ponte Chiodo.

We were delighted with the personal nature of Mattia and his care everyday for us.

The brilliant part for us who love our authentic food was the dining tips he gave us. Every place we tried was excellent and really helped us get to know the best of the local Venetian food.

If you want a place that helps you get into the real Venice then stay here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I found this B&B on tripadvisor and we couldn't have been happier. All positive reviews are right on the money. From the moment I booked, I had a great experience. Mattia communicated with me multiple times prior to my stay making me very comfortable that I picked the right place for our first night in Italy. The airline left our luggage behind, but when they delivered it the next day, Mattia's assistant was glad to provide the delivery person with his personal mobile number and meet them at the house for us. Breakfast each day was very nice, the room was very clean and the bathroom was recently updated. The house is close to everything...maybe 10 minutes to the train station, 10 minutes to Rialto bridge, and 15 minutes to San Marco square. I am confident that we picked the best place in Venice for our money. Thank you!

Stayed: March 2013
Thank mrfudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

A very detailed and nice review!
Sincerely thanks , thanks, thanks
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have just recently returned from the wonderful Venice with my Girlfriend and we had the lovely pleasure of being welcomed into Ponte Chiodo by the owner Mattia.

Even before we arrived Mattia was incredibly helpful by providing us with directions on how to reach his establishment from the Vaporetto stop of Ca'D'Or. A quick 5 minutes walk from a the Vaporetto stop and we were greeted by a smiling Mattia who was more than happy to welcome us at 11:00 am. He quickly explained the mass of keys we had been given for our room and exclusive bathroom (Room 2). After this Mattia gave us a local map and circled some of the attractions we might want to see and visit during our stay, he also gave us a printed map of the local area with suggestions for places to eat. These were personal recommendations of Mattia and we marked as either 1-3 stars for expense. None of these restaurants were tourist traps and we couldn't have been more thankful.

During our stay we sampled the breakfast that is downstairs between 8:30 - 10:30, fresh croissants, jams, bread, cured meats, cereal and yogurts were all available as well as the chance to sample a selections of tea's and coffee's.

On our last day (Fri 5th April) Mattia allowed us to leave our cases at Ponte Chiodo (we had a late flight back to the UK) and also let us use one of his umbrella's as the rain had came in over night.

Myself and Lucy will return again to Ponte Chiodo (maybe when the weather warms up) so we can enjoy Venice and this wonderful establishment again.

Grazie Mille.

-Mark

Room Tip: Room 2 gives a lovely view of the canal and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Hello,

thanks a lot for your detailed and helpful review.
I sincerely hope to guest you again in 3749 Pontechiodo.
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this beautiful house in a rainy weekend on March. Venice can be a very crowded and strange at first (with all the tourists and tourists gift shops) but the area of the hotel was perfect, full of real life and color. It is near a big street and located a few steps from wonderful typical restaurants. The host was so sweet giving us lots of tips on places to visit, handing little maps of the city and lending guided books for the day. The breakfast was lovely, specially the drawings on the cappuccino. Although the room was small, it was the cleanest place I've seen in all Italy and the bathroom was new. It was really quiet too and very warm. On spring and summer must be lovely to enjoy the garden outside the house. Overall the experience was amazing and if one day I decide to go back to Venice I will absolutely come back to Ponte Chiodo. I only have to thank all the help and confort that this B&B gave to us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeatrizNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not that one really needs an oasis in Venice, since Venice is wonderful, but this B&B is in a quiet, but not boring part of town. There's a beautiful garden you walk right into, where you can sit and have a delicious breakfast, cup of coffee or a glass of wine. The B&B is small, but comfortable and pretty. Our room looked over the canal. The owner (sorry can't remember his name) was VERY friendly. He went out of his way to help us get around, make dinner reservations, or get us anything we needed.
We used the water taxi's to get around and it was only a 5 minute walk to get to the stop, plus a few lovely bars/restaurants to stop and get our afternoon "spritz"!

Room Tip: If you want to be able to look out onto the canal be sure to request one, it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetkeithV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
Cannaregio
UNA Hotel Venezia
UNA Hotel Venezia
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,255 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#18 of 385 in Venice
776 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#46 of 385 in Venice
235 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#19 of 475 in Venice
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3749 Ponte Chiodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Address: Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 475 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $97 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 3749 Ponte Chiodo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our guests write: "A home away from home. Quiet, clean, convenient and very welcoming. Excellent location off the beaten track but still close to everything, located in not touristic and alive Cannaregio's district. If you are looking for lavish 4/5 stars Hotel with huge rooms furnished with fake baroque golden furniture please move on. If you visualize small bridges crossing the little canal outside your window, vine covered walls surrounding a patio and small garden and cappuccino every morning, then this is the place for you! The rooms are cozy and comfortable, their furniture original antique and well refurbished... Remember this is an old, Venetian home. No gyms. No pools. But a nice patio to enjoy breakfast or an evening glass of wine and cheese. You may also have the opportunity to meet some nice people from almost anywhere. The Venetian owner suggests local small restaurants and hidden itineraries through the wonderful unknown Venice". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 3749 Ponte Chiodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3749 Ponte Chiodo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing