We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3749 Ponte Chiodo
Ranked #29 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Should I ever go back to Venice, I would stay in the Ponte Chiodo Guest House again. The place is really excellent, and I would recommend it wholeheartedly to all my friends. The location is superb (a few minutes walk to Rialto Bridge and views of a canal); the house is absolutely spotless; the rooms are nice and clean (and everything works!); and the place has a friendly and homely atmosphere. The owner, Mattia, is there every morning and he is the most helpful person I have met in a long time. He knows Venice inside out and not only patiently answers all your questions, he also picks up the phone to make arrangements and inquiries for you. Without his help and support our visit to Venice would have been much less successful. -- The Ponte Chiodo is charming and welcoming place with a personal touch - highly recommendable!

Room Tip: Try to get rooms 5 or 6. They are located on the top floor and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 217Roman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    74
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
278
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a great place. Really. I had been to Venice previously with my partner, and had rather negative experience when it came to the accommodation and culinary side of this lovely city (if you do not have too much money to spend). I did not expect to find such a lovely place as Ponte Chiodo, and benefit so much from the knowledge of the friendly owner. Me and my sister arrived horribly drenched on a Saturday afternoon because I had had the awesome idea of walking (take the vaporetto!!!!). Mattia was absolutely welcoming, even though I'm sure we were late from the agreed time, organised our bags to be carried upstairs and sat us down for advice on how to best spend our time. Do listen to his restaurant suggestions! I will write a separate review of at least one of them. Mattia also managed to instruct us on how to best see the opening of the Carnival without being stuck in the narrow streets.

Anyway, the b&b is tiny and cute. It has a lovely courtyard, probably heavenly in summer. Our room was small, just enough to fit 2 beds. But, it is Venice, I much rather spend time out than in! Beds were comfy and bathroom quite spacious, so we were pleased enough. Only minor complaint is that the corridor/stair gets a bit noisy because it's all stone, so our early-waking neighbours woke us up too. Breakfast was beautiful, lovely spread of fresh things and even seasonal treats that Mattia encouraged us to try. It was nice to chat with him and the other guests as well. We are not seasoned b&b visitors so it took us by surprised how friendly everything was.

Location of the b&b is perfect. You can easily walk everywhere, or just take the vaporetto from Ca' D'oro. We managed to cram plenty of stuff into 2 nights, thanks to the location and Mattia's advice on where to go.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank undome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

A great welcome awaited us on our return to Ponte Chiodo. We were concerned about a visit in the cold January days but no problems. Very warm and cosy. Mattia was his usual informative self and very helpful in anything we wanted and gave good recommendations for 'things to do' on cold Venice days. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a gem of a B&B!

Our room overlooked the canals and bridges, was quiet, clean and elegant. Mattia, our host, was enthusiastic and offered us a warm welcome. We most appreciated his home-made map of authentic Venetian restaurants (none touristy - and spread across the city).

When we tried to extend our stay, and there were no rooms, he tirelessly searched for good B&Bs for us. That's going the second mile. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pho-Trappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay In Pontechiodo and Venice.
I sincerely hope it will be possible to guest you for a longer time!
my warm regards
Mattia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was only in Venice one night and I was searching for a place that was not so touristy and that wasn't a complete rip off like most of the Hotels are. I was lucky enough to find 3749 Ponte Chiodo and I am so happy I did! It was not far from the water bus stop at Ca' D'Oro and there was a ton to do right around it. It was maybe a 5 minute walk to the Rialto and it was in a very safe area. THe staff was amazing and spoke english and helped me out with a map and suggestions on where to eat and a good plan to make the most of my one day in the City. I would absolutely stay here again and if you love the feel of a bed and breakfast, this is a perfect place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Ponte Chiodo for four nights and very much enjoyed what must be the best kept secret in Venice. This cozy B&B offers the perfect base for exploring the city and Mattia is a good host who offers genuine advice on local attractions, restaurants etc.

The B&B is centrally located in the Cannaregio neighbourhood, but away from any main streets and thus offers a quiet atmosphere - including a nice, little garden that allows for afternoon relaxation after having toured the city for the whole day. The breakfast is OK, but the coffee is fantastic.

We originally booked the bottom floor room for the whole period, but due to a cancellation we were able to get a top floor room with a fantastic channel view for half the time. However, we can also conclude that the bottom floor room is by far the least attractive. It can seem a little claustrophobic being in a low ground level and with low ceilings - and since it you enter it directly from the common room it also can seem at little less private. However, the generic room standard is similar to the others.

This place is perfect for couples or a small group of friends, who wish a nice and quiet base for exploring the city.

Room Tip: Make sure to book one of the rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our stay was wonderful in the quiet hotel a bit off the tourist track (but only a short 10 min walk to the Rialto Bridge). Our room was at the front overlooking the canal and was large by Venice standards ... we weren't in it long as we were out early and back late (4 day break not a long time in the city)... in the summer it is different as you'd need to have a siesta in the heat of the afternoon. The garden again we did not need or use but I would imagine is a wonderful place to spend time in the summer. Mattia was really informative and patient answering questions from all guests from boat times to restaurant recommendations. I'd return again no problem. As for the breakfasts ... they are simple but to be honest we had a little something to get us going and then enjoyed popping into the bars and cafes for coffees, snacks and prosecco throughout the day ... for us Venice/Italy is about food and drink as much as architecture, water and art.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#17 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#22 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#7 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#23 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#19 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#20 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3749 Ponte Chiodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Property: 3749 Ponte Chiodo
Address: Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3749 Ponte Chiodo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our guests write: "A home away from home. Quiet, clean, convenient and very welcoming. Excellent location off the beaten track but still close to everything, located in not touristic and alive Cannaregio's district. If you are looking for lavish 4/5 stars Hotel with huge rooms furnished with fake baroque golden furniture please move on. If you visualize small bridges crossing the little canal outside your window, vine covered walls surrounding a patio and small garden and cappuccino every morning, then this is the place for you! The rooms are cozy and comfortable, their furniture original antique and well refurbished... Remember this is an old, Venetian home. No gyms. No pools. But a nice patio to enjoy breakfast or an evening glass of wine and cheese. You may also have the opportunity to meet some nice people from almost anywhere. The Venetian owner suggests local small restaurants and hidden itineraries through the wonderful unknown Venice". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 3749 Ponte Chiodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3749 Ponte Chiodo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing