We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3749 Ponte Chiodo
Ranked #31 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our host was helpful, knowledgeable, and extremely friendly. He sat down with us on our first morning and helped us develop a plan to see Venice. He also suggested some terrific restaurants and even make reservations for us. He had a computer for guests to use, which was wonderful since we did not have our own laptop. The B&B is very clean, comfortable and welcoming. We felt right at home there. It has a lovely little garden which is a nice place to relax after walking the streets of Venice. The B&B is quiet and yet one only has to walk a very short distance to be on a main street. It offers guests the chance to experience Venice as a true Venetian. I will recommend this place to anyone going to Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNStanisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    74
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
278
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Gorgeous little b&b tucked away along the non touristy back streets of Venice. You open the front door onto a jasmine scented garden and you walk into a small piece of paradise not far away from the busy shopping area by ca d'oro. The rooms are really lovely, not over the top like many of the venician hotels we looked at, decorated with antique furniture and light walls. There was the added bonus of good air conditioning which was really needed in the June heatwave. Mattia the owner was away for our first couple of days, but Mr Vajira was attentive and friendly without being obtrusive, bringing us breakfast in the garden. The breakfast was a delight - bread, pastries, cheese, ham, cereals and biscuits, even better was the delicious coffee and cappuccino! When Mattia returned he gave us brilliant advice as to where to visit on our last day, which we enjoyed immensely. We will definitely be back again, it's certainly one of our favourite places and b&b's we have visited!
Try the restaurants away from the centre, behind the b&b is the Jewish quarter - the canal in this direction has lots of fantastic well priced restaurants and bars. Check out Ristorante Diana, great service and amazing local food, cuttlefish in squid ink.... Mmm very tasty!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room and ask for a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia_p86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Firstly our host was more than lovely! Excellent suggestions for places to eat. Location is perfect; near interesting sights, but on a quiet side street with lovely places to eat nearby. The rooms have nice views of the canal and are beautifully decorated. The breakfast in the courtyard garden was a wonderful way to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We loved Ponte Chiodo!!! There are so many things about it that we loved...the room, the garden, Mattia and his wonderful staff!!! Mattia made us feel right at home!! He went out of his way to give us help with what to see while in Venice and he also took care of my gluten and dairy allergies by buying me food while I was there to eat! The garden is so nice..just to sit out or to have breakfast int the morning!! Loved the cappuccino's!!! We would totally go back!! We felt right at home!! It made our stay in Venice perfect!! And the rooms are so charming!!

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the canal, what a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doll40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This guest house is at a nice area in a quiet street but right next to a main street with lots of shops, restaurants etc and very close to a vaporetto stop that goes almost everywhere in venice. Our room was quite big, at the second floor with a nice view to the canal. The furniture is very old but what is the worst about this place is that the building is very old and specially the second floor is made of wood or something,because everytime you step foot on the floor the whole room is shaking like at an earthquake and you can also see and hear the empty spots at the floor.I know Venice is expensive but 120 per night was quite much. The breakfast was quite fine (according to the italian standards) and you could choose the kind of coffee you like (even cappuccino). The owner was very professional and everything was very well organised, helping everybody with everything but only until 13:00 because then he leaves. I also have to mention that he was doing everything strictly proffesionaly, there was nothing friendly and warm in the atmosphere, but ok it doesn't matter. Apart from the floor problem and the price all the rest is just fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evangelia1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Evangelika,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Pontechiodo.
As regards your definition about "old" I wish to precise, for the next guests, Pontechiodo is an ancient house built in 1780 which has been deeply renovated 10 years ago by my wife who is an architect highly specialized in renovation.
To renovate means to try to maintain at its best the quality of an ancient building such as its flexibility (obtained by wooden beams and by "terrazzo alla Veneziana" the very famous flexible Venetian floor)) which is one of the plus of Venetians buildings.
To renovate means also to furnish an ancient house with all the modern comforts (air conditioned heating etc etc) but trying to maintain the atmosphere of the past
As regards the "old furnitures " they are ancient renovated furnitures from XVIII and XIX century which value is quite elevated.
My best wishes
Mattia Baseggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in June. I liked this little hotel very much it is set in a cool tranquil garden a welcome relief from busy Venice From the first contact by email Mattea was prompt in reply and the precise instructions made it very easy to find the property. I had the twin room with ensuite on the top floor albeit a small room it was comfortable and very clean plenty of storage, air conditioner, fridge and small tv. Breakfast was a pleasure yoghurt,fruit,pastries cereal and the best croissants and coffee all served in the garden.Unfortunately Mattia the proprietor was away during my stay. Like others on trip advisor I would highly reccomend this B&B.

Room Tip: Their is no lift at this property so be prepared to carry luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowdy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ponte Chiodo for three nights in June. We had the top floor room with canal view. It was truly an oasis tucked quietly within Venice. We had a very good experience in the whole process from reservation, email communication, checking-in, daily breakfasts (with beautiful and tasty cappuccino), room housekeeping, room interior, to sharing friendly chats and tips with other travelers. All this is a reflection of the inn owner Mattia's warm and thoughtful hospitality. We had really enjoyed and benefitted from Mattia's helpful tips, recommendations and his willingness in sharing Venice's culture and history with his guests. The server was respectful, polite and provided consistently excellent service every morning. We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility Ponte Chiodo offers. Would love to return some day soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konamoose70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#16 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#24 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#23 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#29 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#7 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Cannaregio
B&B Casa Baseggio
B&B Casa Baseggio
#64 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3749 Ponte Chiodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Property: 3749 Ponte Chiodo
Address: Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3749 Ponte Chiodo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our guests write: "A home away from home. Quiet, clean, convenient and very welcoming. Excellent location off the beaten track but still close to everything, located in not touristic and alive Cannaregio's district. If you are looking for lavish 4/5 stars Hotel with huge rooms furnished with fake baroque golden furniture please move on. If you visualize small bridges crossing the little canal outside your window, vine covered walls surrounding a patio and small garden and cappuccino every morning, then this is the place for you! The rooms are cozy and comfortable, their furniture original antique and well refurbished... Remember this is an old, Venetian home. No gyms. No pools. But a nice patio to enjoy breakfast or an evening glass of wine and cheese. You may also have the opportunity to meet some nice people from almost anywhere. The Venetian owner suggests local small restaurants and hidden itineraries through the wonderful unknown Venice". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 3749 Ponte Chiodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3749 Ponte Chiodo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing