We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Appartamento Corte Due Porte
Ranked #311 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2010

A friend and I took our two young children (6 & 7 yrs old) for a quick trip to Venice this week. I do a lot of traveling and prefer to stay in B&B's for the atmosphere and price. After much searching for cheap accomodations in Venice, I was about to give up and opt for Mestre until my friend happened upon this wonderful little B&B. We were very happy with our accomodations! She had never stayed at a B&B and was also quite pleased. The B&B is very easy to find. From the main bus stop you take vaporetto 52 to the Osperale stop. Turn left after walking ouff the vaporetto and continue walking along the waterfront. At the end of the walkway (you'll run into he gate for the rowing club and a grocery store) turn right down a small alley called Cappucine. Walk straight ahead until you see a small chapel in from of you. The B&B building is directly behind the chapel. The B&B's webpage has a map and detailed instructions on how to get there, too. We felt very safe in this area though arriving in the dark, the small alleyways can be intimidating. Silena and her father Franco run a very clean and friendly establishment. Our rooms were done in warm colors and were very big compared to many other places I've stayed at throughout Europe. The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well as the square below was quite quiet and away from the hussle and bussle of the touristy areas. We booked the 2 double rooms on the 4th floor. They were the only rooms up there so we had the floor to ourselves which was nice. Both rooms had bathrooms en-suite. The bathrooms themselves were quite large by European hotel standards but of course the shower stalls were small. Unlike most other B&B's I've stayed at, the bathrooms had soap, packets of shampoo and a wall mounted hairdryer. Breakfast was typical - toast, jams, honey, butter, small rolls, yogurt, cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee and a different pastry each day (muffin/jam filled croissant). No fresh fruit but we found the breakfast to be very satisfying. As others have mentioned, the stairs could be a problem for some people. Our children counted 67 stairs up to our rooms and they are rather steep. We were out of breathe when we reached the top but it didn't bother us. We figured we needed to work off the wonderful food we were eating anyway. One issue we had was that the water in the shower was cycling from freezing cold to boiling hot through out our showers but we let Silena know. She seemed to appreciate us telling her and would get someone over to fix it. Our flight back to Germany left late and night and Silena was very helpful with information on what time we should catch the vaporetto back to the bus terminal and the bus back to Treviso airport. She also let us leave our bags on the ground floor of the building and gave us a single key to the front door so that we would not have to lug them around with us all day. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxnomeatxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2009

This is a review for those wondering what the apartment is like. We wanted to book the B&B but it was already full. We were offered the apartment, which we were a little bit hessitant at first but turned out to be fantastic for our 4-night stay.

NOTE: the apartment is probably best suited for INDEPENDENT travelers who have been to Venice before because you basically have no one to ask for directions, what to see and where to go. In the apartment, there's a board with the timetables of water buses and their routes etc. There are also brochures on events etc and an emergency cell phone in a glass case outside the door in case you need to reach the owners. Else, you are pretty much on your own. You can choose to have the apartment cleaned every day for a small sum a day, which we did. The towels were changed every day.

The apartment has 2 bedrooms (they locked up one because there was just the 2 of us). Ours was big by Venetian standards, with a double bed (and a single bed at the side), air conditioning, a tiny tv, and an attached bathroom - shower stall and toilet - which was quite spacious. The furniture was basic but adequate and the room faces the square. There's also a tiny kitchen - with sink, fridge, electric stove (double cooking plate), dishwasher and cutlery. Outside, there's a dining table and a small tv.

The location, away from the crowds, is a quiet haven to return to at night. There's a supermarket about 150 meters from the hotel, where you can stock up on water, juices etc. The apartment is on the third floor and it's a steep climb up. The stairs are narrow, as are the steps. We had backpacks and it was still quite a climb up.

The price is a steal especially in Venice, where hotel rates are notoriously high. It's also close to the water bus stop, which is convenient if you are arriving from the airport or departing to the train station. The owners give very clear directions on how to get to their premises.

If you are fairly independent, know what you want to do in Venice, have no problems finding your way around, not particularly worried about having breakfast in a cafe nearby, this no frills, convenient, basic, clean, comfortable, value for money apartment IS THE place to stay in. We will definitely return. LIM

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Dear Silena
Your B&B ist wonderful, we realy recomend it. It is realy close to everything in Venice and we enjoyed it. We got two double room for us and our kids. Everything was clean the breakfast (prepared by Silena) very good, especially the capuchino. The only lack is the staircase, you have to climbe up several stairs probably nothing for elder people but no problem for youngsters and people who is still fit. Thank you again Silena we realy endjoyed it and certainly can recomend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donald63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

My husband and I wanted to spend our money on food and the sights not a place to stay & this fit the bill. For 100 euros we had a large room with a view of the square ( & the bird that hung out the window across from us and spoke Italian). The bathroom was huge by Eupropean standards and spotless. The breakfast was plenty and as for the steps up to the room, if you can't do steps, Venice is not the place to visit. It was a little off the beaten path but that was part of the fun. Venice is to get lost in anyway, so bring a compass and a good map. We used Rick Steve's guidebook for restaurants and found plenty nearby. It was not far from the vaporetto stop and close to St. Mark's square (if you didn't get lost). I would stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RPHINATHENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We reserved a room with a bathroom, which was great. It was a fairly large room, but the bathroom was small. The location was off the beaten path a bit, but quite close to St. Mark's square. The only watch-out were the number of stairs that were required to climb to get to the rooms. The breakfast was great, make sure to try the cappucino.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmhult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed at 5 different hotels/B&Bs while in Europe and we were very impressed with our accomodations at this B&B - especially for the price (approximately $150/night). The room was very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Additionally, the bathroom was massive compared to some of the other places we stayed at. The hosts were very nice and served us a wonderful breakfast each morning. All around, we were very satisfied with our experience and the value of these accomodations. Couple other hints - stay away from the Strega Nona restaurant nearby - the Pyramid restaurant a couple store fronts past is much better.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prestonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the campiello S. Giustina. It is very easy to get to from Fondamenta Nove, although the walk is longer than 250mts as suggested in the e-mail. The B & B is lovely and clean and set in a quiet square. there are great restaurants near by, plus a supermarket. The breakfast was very good as well. We had coffee making facility which was very handy. The sites were not too far away from the B & B. will go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shirleycoppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
B&B Gli Angeli
B&B Gli Angeli
#211 of 479 in Venice
94 reviews
Castello
Taverna San Lio
Taverna San Lio
#160 of 479 in Venice
135 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#282 of 479 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 387 in Venice
2,179 reviews
Hotel Laguna Residence
#289 of 479 in Venice
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartamento Corte Due Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartamento Corte Due Porte

Address: Castello, 6499 | Campo S. Giustina o Barbaria, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $120 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Appartamento Corte Due Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing