We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Star Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Boccassini
Ranked #204 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One Star Gem”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This being my 6th visit to Venice I really wanted to stay on another part of the island. Finding this hotel was perfect & the price even better! The hotel host Luca was very helpful, the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the location was great. We felt like we were emerged in the local Italian culture and enjoyed the quiet away from the beehive that Venice has become. The Rialto & Sao Marco Square are within walking distance & there are several great restaurants nearby...one night we ate a fabulous dinner on the lagoon, watching the color of the sky change as the day melted away. I think my favorite thing about this place is the garden. It was so nice to have breakfast outside and to have a place to retreat to if we didn't want to be in our room. Don't get swayed by any bad reviews about this place...it really is a gem!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanny Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luca m, Proprietario at Hotel Casa Boccassini, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Shanny,

Thank you very much and I hope to see you the next visit to Venice !

Best whishes
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    65
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
84
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this lovely Hotel for 2 night and was really good!
Very quiet around there, nice room and good localization.
Besides, It's just 5 min walk from the vaporetto (Fondamente Nove Station).
There are a few restaurant near to there and it's just 20 min by walk from Piazza San Marco

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guigosoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luca m, Direttore at Hotel Casa Boccassini, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and hope to see you again !


Best wishes
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed here several times in the past few years and have always had a great stay. The location is really good. You are close to everything but out of the massive crowds of people. Luca, the owner, is very helpfull and speaks perfect English.

It is peaceful, clean, quiet and true value for money.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sartz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luca m, Proprietario at Hotel Casa Boccassini, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and hope to see you soon !

Best regards
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montalto Ligure, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Casa Boccassini qualifies as the worst hotel experience ever. We arrived at the hotel very tired and with official Expedia confirmation of the booking. We were greeted by unpleasant receptionist who started shouting at us that our booking was cancelled and they had no room for us. The receptionist was agressive and used abusive language (calling me a liar was among the more acceptable phrases he used), even after I warned him that that's not appropriate. He was claiming that our booking was cancelled because the credit card was not accepted and showed us a message from venere.com, where in fact we used Expedia. The result was that we found ourselves in the streets of Venice at 9PM, tired, hungry and with no accommodation.

We are very disappointed with Expedia as well, as they didn't reallyhelp solve the issue. We'll never again book accommodation using their services,and we'll certainly make sure that we publish our comments about Casa Boccassini on all travel portals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngrceva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luca m, Proprietario at Hotel Casa Boccassini, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Mr/Miss NGRCEVA,

You made a reservation with Expedia-Venere ( is the same company ) PREPAID NOT REFUNDABLE and that mean that you have to pay the room before your arrival, so we tried to charge the amount of your stay on your credit card, but the message from the credit card machine was " TRANSACTION DENIED " so we don't have the money to guaranty your reservation ; at this moment we cancell immediatly the reservation and you receive the mail of cancelletion ( Tuesday 25 June 2013, 17:07 (GMT +2h) then we have sent also from the hotel this mail:

Questa è una copia del messaggio che hai inviato al cliente #### ###### in riferimento alla prenotazione #######

Dear Mr #######

we tried to charge the amount of your reservation on your credit card but it don't work.
Please contact us to fix the problem.

Best regards

Hotel Boccassini

We don't have received any answer and after 3 days we have sold the room.

You have also forget to say that we have found another 2 star hotel for the same price but it was refused from you.

PS: we spent also a phone call to tell you that you forgot your lap top on our reception desk.



Best regards

Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This small hotel with its own secret garden, lies perfectly situated in one Venice's quieter areas, very close to the Fondamenta Nove (seaside where many of the larger boats leave from, among others the boat to the airport) and not more than a short stroll away from the Rialto bridge and the more busy parts of the city.
The hotel is basic, but has everything you need. Our room provided us with a double bed (well, at least two single beds placed next to each other), a small private bathroom with WC and shower, fresh towels, soap/shampoo and even slippers, a wardrobe, a large mirror and a small TV, plus a couple of chairs and a small table.
The staff was very nimce, welcoming us in a friendly and agreeable altough rather quiet (as opposed to what many of us think of when we think of stereotype italians at least...) way. They will provide you with a map of the city as well as tips for good restaurants nearby if asked. They were also so kind as to store our luggage on our last day in Venice from the time of our check out until out boat was leaving for the airport.
We never got up in time for the breakfast which is served in the hotel from 8 until 9.30, however as there were lots of cafes with great coffee nearby, this was never really a problem.
The only thing which was less fortunate during our stay at the Casa Boccassini, was the fact that the hotel must have either really great accustics or really thin walls as we were often woken up in the morning or kept awake at night by other guest arriving/leaving, people speaking loudly or even shouting in the corridor or outside in the garden. It was actually quite peculiar that we were disturbed more by the sounds within the small hotel than from the street outside our window.
Nevertheless, I would really recommend this small oasis in an otherwise buzzling city! Bring a couple of earplugs and I promise you'll sleep like a baby after an eventfull day in this amazing city and not least with a stomach full of delicious pasta and great wine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bathroom. This will really enhace your stay. Also, try asking for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luisita-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is very disappointing. Our room was very expensive and tiny! It had a sink and a wardrobe but the bed was stained and dirty. The floor was dirty and mouldy in the corners. The whole room had a clear smell of damp.
We only saw the staff twice - on check in and out when we had to ring a bell. The staff weren't welcoming or helpful, they hardly spoke to us at all.
There was only one bathroom between all of the guests! And the shower was broken!!!
The bathroom was always flooded and the staff didn't seem to maintain it. The 'other toilet' is so small you can barely stand in it. No sink.
I'm not surprised that most of the provided pictures are of the garden - it's the only nice bit!
Our room cost us 80 euros a night. The room did not meet up to the cost at all!
Would not return or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EloKids13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luca m, Proprietario at Hotel Casa Boccassini, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

are you sure that you was here ?
we have the best rewiew about cleanning, if you check on internet ,we have one of the lowest price in Venice center.
The shared bathroom was made brand new in 2012 and is shared for 3 rooms. We remember that all the other room have ensuite bathroom, air conditioning and TV, but if you book a cheap room is your choise.
I think that with 40 euros each you can not find a luxury hotel in Venice.

Best regards
the owner
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Enjoyed the stay (3 days). Nice area away from the tourist crush. Only wish the breakfast were better. This is a real Venetian neighborhood, with practical shops and local folks greeting each other before and after work.

Room Tip: If you are walking there from the C'a Ora v. stop and Strada Nove you will likely pass a COOP su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastsidematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#183 of 457 in Venice
38 reviews
B&B Venice A Casa Da Cinzia
#138 of 457 in Venice
19 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#73 of 457 in Venice
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Venice Resorts
Venice Resorts
#160 of 457 in Venice
220 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Star
Venice Star
#65 of 215 in Venice
70 reviews
Castello
Casa Favaretto Guest House
Casa Favaretto Guest House
#206 of 457 in Venice
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Boccassini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Boccassini

Property: Hotel Casa Boccassini
Address: Cannaregio 5295, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Casa Boccassini 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa Boccassini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing