We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza Ca' Dario
Ranked #419 of 470 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here in October 2009. We arrived late, and our keys were in an envelope on the door waiting for us. I thought this was a little strange because I was worried someone could have taken them, but it was also sweet because I liked the touch of having my name on it. It was like they were anxiously expecting us! I felt like we were in a typical Venice accommodation, it felt very homey. I didn't really like the shared bathroom, but it wasn't too bad. The breakfast was small, but it was enough to hold us until we perused the local bakeries. The view from our window was like just out of the movies. I felt like I should have hung out my clothes to dry on the line! Very lovely and quaint residence. I look forward to staying there again soon! Across from the office there is an AMAZING restaurant called Ostaria al Vecio Pozzo. Loved it! I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Ca' Dario
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

We didn't sleep because of the noise from the warm water convector in the floor. The room wasn't pretty at all, very spartiat for 105 euros! The person at the reception didn't want to give us a quiet room after we asked the first time. They didn't want to give us back the money we had paid in advance for 3 days too, so we were obliged to stay!!! After we that we complained us a lot they gave us another room, a better one, but they waited till the last moment, (when i said i would complain to the reservation central). The bread at the breakfast on the second day was totally dried. There's nobody at the entrance during the night when you arrive you have to give a Phone call.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clemence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fileok, Direttore generale at Residenza Ca' Dario, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

No refund are applicable on Non Refundable Bookins. And of course on cases or matter of perception: like silence or noises on rooms, or beaufiful or not beautiful rooms. Owner did not authorize any return of the money paid because they got the type of room they were looking for (double room with shared bathroom including breakfast) they stayed and paid for the 3 nights according to contract (Non refundable). No one forces a client to stay on the premises. They freely and for their personal reasons decided to stay into the other room offered on same morning. As adults they should be responsible of their decisions to stay or not to stay. We did offer best solutions possible and in literally one hour they moved floors and rooms. This is called fast service in a busy morning when place was full.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This place is in a great location near the train station but away from the crowds of Venice. Our room was clean and nicely furnished. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

They charge extra money, very unpleasant staff, so many better places in Venice.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank armin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My friends and I booked this hotel for our weekend getaway in Venice because it seemed well-located and decently priced. While I don't regret anything, I wouldn't particularly recommend Ca' Dario to anyone, either.

We arrived to a very cold and almost disdainful reception. Don't get me wrong: I don't expect hearty guffaws and warm embraces everywhere I go, but it would be nice not to be treated like a burden when I'm being shown to my room... Unless you make up for it with free booze and cupcakes. Also, after we checked out, we came back to grab our luggage from the 'storage' and my friend asked if she could use the bathroom for a quick change of clothes before hopping on the train... Suffice to say that I've never seen a place refuse access to bathrooms for a client that just spent money to stay there.

The room itself was pretty decent. It was kept fairly clean and the beds, while not super comfortable, did the job. i think the biggest drawback is that the walls are paper-thin so anyone going to-and-from the communal bathroom would wake me up. That, combined with the fact that I had a room with a window facing the restaurant on the busy street below, didn't help me get a decent night of sleep at all. Oh... and it was infested with mosquitoes, but that seems to be a given with this kind of a place in Venice, so I won't let my being an all-you-can-eat buffet affect my review too much. :P

The popular opinion of the breakfast being terrible is something that I share. Stale croissants, old fruits and coffee from a low-quality dispenser are pretty much the only things you'll find. A breakfast of champions of I've ver seen one lol.

Guess who's never gonna go back there! This guy!

Pros:
• Very good location if you're coming in by train. Just a 5 minute walk from the station and most major bus routes
• Fairly clean

Cons:
• Terrible service. Very cold receptionist and the maid decided to clean everybody else's room but ours for some reason
• Shared bathrooms (not a huge con, just not my cup of tea)
• Paper-thin walls and very loud doors
• I know the breakfast is free but come on! lol

Overall:
I personally don't think that I need that much. If the place is fairly clean and the bed isn't falling to pieces, I'm pretty much good to go; so in that regard, Ca' Dario did what it needed to do. However, a modicum of kindness or, at the very least, professionalism would've been appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darklyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I paid more for this hotel than a cheap and cheerful hostel so was hoping for the standard to reflect this. Therefore I was disappointed. The breakfast included was a coffee machine being switched on between 7 and 10am and a short supply of stale croissants. The room was very small, the bed also small and hard. The photos were misleading in this respect. The bathroom was not in amasing condition and was shared with five other rooms. The floor was dirty so that walking around with bare feet I had to vigorously brush off my feet before getting into bed. In fairness, the location was good with a nice view over a canal.

Room Tip: Plentiful dinners will be necessary.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camilledeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed in one of the apartments operated by Residenza Ca'Dario. We arrived by train and had to collect the keys from the main hotel (about a 5 minute walk with clear directions). The apartment was just off the main drag near to Canareggio down a little side street. There was a lovely bakery and fruit and veg shop within a few metres. The apartment was one large room with a double bed and a strange bunk sofa that the children slept on. It was really comfortable for all of us. There was a little kitchenette - fine for breakfast/pasta/sarnies but not equipped well enough to really go for it on a self catering basis. The shower was great.

What I loved most about staying here was it's location. We explored Cannareggio - an area we would possibly have ignored otherwise and it really was lovely. We found a great family restaurant with no menu - just pasta/pesto/salad/ice cream/ coffee but as it was off the main rather expensive drag it was a delight. No other tourists and next to a canal with the odd gondolier returning after a hard days work and lots of Italians milling around. Loved it. Just turn left out the apartment rather than right into the main drag - keep going until you reach a little canal - over a bridge and left again and there it is.

Venice is obviously beautiful but staying in this litle place meant that we explored another part of the city as well as all the usual tourist areas.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MaryfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 385 in Venice
322 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#149 of 470 in Venice
412 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#145 of 470 in Venice
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Venice Resorts
Venice Resorts
#166 of 470 in Venice
223 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Foscari
Locanda Ca' Foscari
#268 of 470 in Venice
102 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#177 of 470 in Venice
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ca' Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ca' Dario

Address: Santa Croce 646, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $68 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Ca' Dario 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ca' Dario is located in the historic center of Venice, less than a five minute walk from the Venetian railway station of Santa Lucia and equally convenient to the parking garages and bus terminals at Piazzale Roma. It has been charmingly converted in a Guesthouse, it offers impeccably clean rooms at competitive prices. En-suite bedrooms as well as shared bathroom rooms are available. Self-made breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza Ca' Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ca` Dario Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing