We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Ca' Dario
Ranked #423 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This place is in a great location near the train station but away from the crowds of Venice. Our room was clean and nicely furnished. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    44
    34
    31
See reviews for
32
74
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

They charge extra money, very unpleasant staff, so many better places in Venice.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank armin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My friends and I booked this hotel for our weekend getaway in Venice because it seemed well-located and decently priced. While I don't regret anything, I wouldn't particularly recommend Ca' Dario to anyone, either.

We arrived to a very cold and almost disdainful reception. Don't get me wrong: I don't expect hearty guffaws and warm embraces everywhere I go, but it would be nice not to be treated like a burden when I'm being shown to my room... Unless you make up for it with free booze and cupcakes. Also, after we checked out, we came back to grab our luggage from the 'storage' and my friend asked if she could use the bathroom for a quick change of clothes before hopping on the train... Suffice to say that I've never seen a place refuse access to bathrooms for a client that just spent money to stay there.

The room itself was pretty decent. It was kept fairly clean and the beds, while not super comfortable, did the job. i think the biggest drawback is that the walls are paper-thin so anyone going to-and-from the communal bathroom would wake me up. That, combined with the fact that I had a room with a window facing the restaurant on the busy street below, didn't help me get a decent night of sleep at all. Oh... and it was infested with mosquitoes, but that seems to be a given with this kind of a place in Venice, so I won't let my being an all-you-can-eat buffet affect my review too much. :P

The popular opinion of the breakfast being terrible is something that I share. Stale croissants, old fruits and coffee from a low-quality dispenser are pretty much the only things you'll find. A breakfast of champions of I've ver seen one lol.

Guess who's never gonna go back there! This guy!

Pros:
• Very good location if you're coming in by train. Just a 5 minute walk from the station and most major bus routes
• Fairly clean

Cons:
• Terrible service. Very cold receptionist and the maid decided to clean everybody else's room but ours for some reason
• Shared bathrooms (not a huge con, just not my cup of tea)
• Paper-thin walls and very loud doors
• I know the breakfast is free but come on! lol

Overall:
I personally don't think that I need that much. If the place is fairly clean and the bed isn't falling to pieces, I'm pretty much good to go; so in that regard, Ca' Dario did what it needed to do. However, a modicum of kindness or, at the very least, professionalism would've been appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darklyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

I paid more for this hotel than a cheap and cheerful hostel so was hoping for the standard to reflect this. Therefore I was disappointed. The breakfast included was a coffee machine being switched on between 7 and 10am and a short supply of stale croissants. The room was very small, the bed also small and hard. The photos were misleading in this respect. The bathroom was not in amasing condition and was shared with five other rooms. The floor was dirty so that walking around with bare feet I had to vigorously brush off my feet before getting into bed. In fairness, the location was good with a nice view over a canal.

Room Tip: Plentiful dinners will be necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilledeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed in one of the apartments operated by Residenza Ca'Dario. We arrived by train and had to collect the keys from the main hotel (about a 5 minute walk with clear directions). The apartment was just off the main drag near to Canareggio down a little side street. There was a lovely bakery and fruit and veg shop within a few metres. The apartment was one large room with a double bed and a strange bunk sofa that the children slept on. It was really comfortable for all of us. There was a little kitchenette - fine for breakfast/pasta/sarnies but not equipped well enough to really go for it on a self catering basis. The shower was great.

What I loved most about staying here was it's location. We explored Cannareggio - an area we would possibly have ignored otherwise and it really was lovely. We found a great family restaurant with no menu - just pasta/pesto/salad/ice cream/ coffee but as it was off the main rather expensive drag it was a delight. No other tourists and next to a canal with the odd gondolier returning after a hard days work and lots of Italians milling around. Loved it. Just turn left out the apartment rather than right into the main drag - keep going until you reach a little canal - over a bridge and left again and there it is.

Venice is obviously beautiful but staying in this litle place meant that we explored another part of the city as well as all the usual tourist areas.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

We booked this hotel as it was slightly cheaper than some of the other hotels and it was in a good location. I wish we'd spent more as the general discomfort and noise at night meant that we were fairly tired and grumpy in the day. The rooms are a decent size but you share a bathroom with everyone else in the apartment/hotel. You can hear everyone else in each of the rooms and you are only allowed the air conditioning on at certain times for ecologoical (not economical of course!) reasons. This meant that we were far too hot in the night. The kitchen was sometimes locked and the breakfast consisted of long life bread you could toast. We travelled from London to Istanbul and back last summer and this was the worst hotel we experienced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

We only stayed for the night. Thank god! After checking in, we carried our cases into another building (the lobby was covered in garbage and household junk); we proceeded to carry our cases to the 2nd floor and to our room, which, was huge, and yet, had no room for a bathroom! Sharing the bathroom was a bit weird considering that for the same price a couple of nights previous we were staying a Palazzo complete with en-suite. Apparently, this hotel the Ca'Dario offered the 'secret garden of Venice' which would have been great if you could go into it (which you couldn't). The air-con was noisy, but at least it was there and the creaking doors from every room on th e floor kept us awake for most of the night.
Breakfast was without doubt one of the worst things I've ever had. I felt like a backpacker again (I'm used to a bit more luxury for the price) and the kitchen was a bit smelling with food seemingly left to rot in the bin and the nearby sink. That for us, was the enduring memory: sweaty bread that we had to toast to make it edible and a capuccion in a plastic cup. Book this place at your peril!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highstreet43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#331 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#206 of 468 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Foscari
Locanda Ca' Foscari
#263 of 468 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Casa Mimma
Casa Mimma
#236 of 468 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#149 of 468 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#95 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ca' Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ca' Dario

Property: Residenza Ca' Dario
Address: Santa Croce 646, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Ca' Dario 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ca' Dario is located in the historic center of Venice, less than a five minute walk from the Venetian railway station of Santa Lucia and equally convenient to the parking garages and bus terminals at Piazzale Roma. It has been charmingly converted in a Guesthouse, it offers impeccably clean rooms at competitive prices. En-suite bedrooms as well as shared bathroom rooms are available. Self-made breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Ca' Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ca` Dario Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing