We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Melograno Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa del Melograno Inn
Ranked #228 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Casa is very close to vaporetto pier and main street so very convenient located. There are eating places and banks around. Yet it's relative quiet as it is located off the main street. The Casa is located within the Cannaregio area which is not a main tourist area. It is good as the tourist crowd can be very noisy and irritating. I'm glad I picked this area after I witnessed what it was like in the main tourist areas.
The staff, Marco and Eduado, are very friendly and very helpful. They made the stay a pleasant one. They are willing to help with direction, eating places and traveling tips. However the place is manned from 8 am to 8 pm. Arrival after or before this time they would make arrangement for check-in.
Continental breakfast is included and is usually served in the courtyard if weather permissible. It is pleasant and food is quite adequate although it's not all you can eat.
Venus is unique and charming but there are too many tourists. I went at the end of the tourist season (end October) but the crowd in many tourist attractions was still enormous. A few times I got lost and wandered into the local residential areas and found these places very quiet and charming. One could hardly get lost in Venus so my advice is not to rely on the map too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    83
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
40
132
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We traveled with a group of friends. Some of us stayed in the main building and had a pleasant experience. We, instead, stayed in the "dependence", which is in another building - very close to the principal one.

The ENTRANCE and staircase were really bad (moisty, smelly, decadent walls). I understand that Venice is a humid place, but that was over too much.

The ROOM, which was meant to accommodate 4 adults, was a little apartment, with bathroom, living and double room. Result: those sleeping in the main room could actually sleep (bed was fine, only issue is that it is connected to another sleeping room with a non-insonorized door, so you could hear.. ehm... everything the neighbors were doing). Those sleeping in the living had to use a very small, old and not-so-clean convertible bed, with horrible mattress and - really - no space for 2 people. This accommodation might maybe work for a couple with 2 children or 1 additional adult. It should not be sold for 4 adults.

The BATHROOM was large, but cleanliness wasn't top and the shower - even if you pay extreme attention - will end up flooding the rest.

The PERSONNEL was very polite and nice.

The AREA is of course top. You can reach most areas of Venice with a 30 mins walk. It's very close to the historical "Casino' di Venezia" (where Wagner died) and relatively close to the Santa Lucia train station and Piazzale Roma.

Overall, I'd say that they try hard. We chose a cheap(er) solution and we didn't get much value out of it. You can maybe try the main building or opt for similar offers - for example at the Locanda Ca Leon (see one of my older reviews), where I think that you can get much better value in terms of comfort for a similar price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonimobelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at one of the two-room apartments. The location next to the Vaporetto-station San Marcuola couldn't have been better. It was easy to reach almost any part of Venice from Murano to Lido. We also enjoyed the fact that it was a little further from the biggest tourist attractions, which also made it amazingly quiet at night. Just the occasional motorboat driving by. The apartment was basic but tidy and spacious for a family of four. The only problem were the mosquitoes attacking our poor children at night. Perhaps the best part however was the very friendly but still unintrusive staff, who were giving us advice on just about anything and bringing our children strawberries while we were enjoying the small but still charming garden of theirs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kaesmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived in Venice and we very easily managed to find the hotel.
- it is very close to one of the water bus stations.
The room was clean and tidy and so was the bathroom - a very good basic room.
- we had a lovely view to the canal.
The breakfast was served outside, it was a great start for the day!
The reception staff were extremely helpful at all times, showing best routes on map and telling us where to go.
The hotel is very central, we literally walked everywhere from there - easy!

We had an amazing time! thank you Marco and team

Room Tip: the rooms facing the canal are lovely! the others will face the garden. A small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliapossebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights. It is a 15 min walk from the main train station, it is located near to the casino. If you need to catch the train early in the morning, location is good as taking the water bus can be slower than walking. Another plus point is, there are many eating places and shops near the hotel.

It is a 2 storey hotel, there are 4 rooms on the 2nd floor and 3 rooms on the ground floor. Breakfast was served every morning, not buffet style so you may have to wait a little before you get to eat. If weather is good you get to have it in the garden, otherwise it will be on the 2nd floor.

We were given the ground floor room which can be noisy as it is near the main door and the reception. We are Ok with a small room but the bed was a little small for a couple, it looked more like a super single bed than a double bed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room located on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLM1_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights, May 26 - 28 2013. We were passing through to Udine and wanted to get a glimpse of this beautiful city. Marco was extremely accomodating by supplying a general map of the town as well as offering us places to eat that were off the beaten path and away from your eurorobbing restaurants.

Worth everything that was offered. Very clean and bathrooms were fine. Breakfast was croissant, bread, yogurt with coffee and orange juice. Just enough to get you on your way! Don't expect a full egg and bacon buffet...go to the main street for this...

Walls are paper thin so if this unnerves you you should find someplace elsewhere...

Thank you Marco and Staff for a lovely time...!

Room Tip: From the train Water bus to S. Marcuola or the "Casino". Very easy to get there from ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here March 2013 as it was the cheapest and most decent we could find for our budget!

The room was pretty basic but nice with a decent sized bathroom which was actually really nice and a hot shower too! A tv was also in the room however we didn't use it!

Breakfast was included which was a croissant/yogurt and tea or coffee with come bread. It was nice and suited us just fine. This is served 8-10 each morning upstairs ins small room.

Our room was downstairs by the entrance so it could be a little noisy with people walking past outside and also coming into the hotel but we didn't find it too much of a problem!

Marco the manager was great.. Very friendly and informative and as soon as we got there he gave us a map and told us all the places we should visit! He was really nice and had umbrellas and wellies on hand for guests! He also let us wait on our final day in the room upstairs before we left for our flight.

Location wise its a little walk (15-20 mins) to rialto bridge/st marks square but the restaurants in he hotel area are a little cheaper and more authentic. We also found an excellent coffee shop (recommended on tip advisor) which served cheap and really nice coffees cappachinos etc. The walk actually takes you past a lot of nice shops.

For those who don't want to walk.. The varparetto stop is just round the corner!!!

All in all.. Its not extravagant but if this is your price rang this is perfect.. Its clean, warm, hot shower, modern bathroom, speedy wifi, decent breakfast, good location and a great host!

Enjoy your trip!

Helpful?
2 Thank 1990Emily
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#168 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#71 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#154 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Antica Raffineria
Antica Raffineria
#208 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Bibi
Ca' Bibi
#34 of 210 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Casa Martini
Locanda Casa Martini
#121 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Melograno Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Melograno Inn

Property: Casa del Melograno Inn
Address: Cannaregio 2022, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Melograno Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3 stars hotel in the heart of Venice (less than 10 min. walk from the railway station and 15- 20 from Rialto's bridge and Saint Mark's square). Completely renovated in 2003, the hotel offers single rooms, french-size bed double rooms, standard double rooms, triple rooms and a Suite (all provided with bathroom and all comforts). Breakfast is included and it is served in the breakast room, or, in spring and summer, in the beautiful inner garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa del Melograno Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Melograno Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing