We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
79
97
43
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
97
43
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantsannex buildingwater busvaporetto stopauthentic venetian experiencesmall hotelrooms are nicegoogle mapsyour luggageair conditioningexplore venicenice breakfastmarcocannaregiocanalnutellasquare
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 255 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were a family of four and we booked the apartment with the Casa del Melograno. Mind you, we did not stay in the hotel proper, so many of the things here are only applicable to the apartment.

Advantages:
- Good location. Close to waterbus stop, at walking distance from the train station, close to supermarkets, souvenir shops and street markets.
- Good value for money. The price was much more friendly than for most of the rooms for four people in other hotels.
- Nice apartment with many things that can be useful in daily life, such as kitchen. Clean, very nice bathroom.
- Very helpful and caring staff.

Disadvantages:
- Reception only working until 8 pm - maybe only in the low-season?
- No breakfast included
- No internet in the apartment - only in the hotel, and only free for the first hour, later you have to pay. The largest disadvantage, especially taking into account that the reception is working only until 8 pm - which means you cannot purchase internet later.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pliumbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Nothing more than a bait and switch. We paid for and confirmed via email the exact room shown in the photos on this website. Instead we received a filthy, dingy, squalid, so called equivalent room that we ran away from without even staying the night. To top it all off the owner of this pigsty, who I dare to spend an evening in this bug and mold infested third world dump, had the guts to charge us a cancellation fee of $400 Euro. Of course they don't accept AMEX so we got stuck with paying this outrageous charge and found ourselves stranded in Venice without a room. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Never, ever stay at this hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitalybfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Venice is expensive. Period. After doing a lot of research and after reading reviews of other travelers we settled on this hotel. It's a nice quaint hotel in Venice, the person at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were both very small but comfortable. It was like everything had been scaled down in proportion. It had a nice little garden where they serve breakfast. We reached early so left our bags at the hotel, freshened up and left to explore the city. Venice is very hot and humid in August so make sure you take an air conditioned room. When we finally checked into our room the AC wasn't working but the person at the reception told us that it was down for most hotels in Venice and they were getting it fixed at the earliest which they did. It is very close to the boat stop on the canal which is an added advantage.
The breakfast is included in the price of the room but it is very limited and not enough. The croissants they serve are delicious but you just get one and some bread which is not enough.
The hotel was nice and we didn't have any problems. Definitely worth a stay especially if you can't splurge. You can read more about our trip to Venice here: http://travel.manasg.com/posts/tag/venice

Room Tip: You can choose a room that overlooks the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geetanjali85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great location, 2 mins away from a boat stop. Extremely helpful man on reception. Great room with the added bonus of a little 'living room'. Great garden area to eat breakfast in. we even had lunch there one day. Clean, quiet, not expensive and 10 mins away from the main tourist bit. For us this was ideal as we got to explore the parts other people don't go to. Would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalieh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Located just off the Strada Nova, the main "street" paralleling the north side of Venice's Grand Canal, the Casa del Melograno was an easy walk from the train station. Even with luggage in tow, the 10 minute stroll from station to inn provided a nice introduction to the city. There is a vaporetto (water bus) stop nearby, if that is your preferred mode of travel.

We didn't get to see any of the rooms in the main building as our rental was a spacious two room apartment across the small side canal. While it was a couple of flights up from the street, we didn't mind. The room was clean and had windows overlooking the little canal. (Note, the boat traffic was a little noisy at times, but closing the windows blocked most of the sound).

A bonus for us was that resident of the apartment below us was apparently a music teacher of some sort. In the afternoons there was often piano music and some singing that wafted up the stairwell. A charming little soundtrack.

Breakfast was served a little later than the posted 8:00 starting time, so we only availed ourselves of it one morning of the three mornings we were there. Served in the garden, repleat with the eponymous pomegranate trees bearing fruit, the capuccino and brioche were very good.

The staff was friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JCTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews