We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Melograno Inn
Ranked #213 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price!”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Venice is expensive. Period. After doing a lot of research and after reading reviews of other travelers we settled on this hotel. It's a nice quaint hotel in Venice, the person at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were both very small but comfortable. It was like everything had been scaled down in proportion. It had a nice little garden where they serve breakfast. We reached early so left our bags at the hotel, freshened up and left to explore the city. Venice is very hot and humid in August so make sure you take an air conditioned room. When we finally checked into our room the AC wasn't working but the person at the reception told us that it was down for most hotels in Venice and they were getting it fixed at the earliest which they did. It is very close to the boat stop on the canal which is an added advantage.
The breakfast is included in the price of the room but it is very limited and not enough. The croissants they serve are delicious but you just get one and some bread which is not enough.
The hotel was nice and we didn't have any problems. Definitely worth a stay especially if you can't splurge. You can read more about our trip to Venice here: http://travel.manasg.com/posts/tag/venice

Room Tip: You can choose a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geetanjali85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    87
    42
    14
    16
See reviews for
43
136
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great location, 2 mins away from a boat stop. Extremely helpful man on reception. Great room with the added bonus of a little 'living room'. Great garden area to eat breakfast in. we even had lunch there one day. Clean, quiet, not expensive and 10 mins away from the main tourist bit. For us this was ideal as we got to explore the parts other people don't go to. Would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Located just off the Strada Nova, the main "street" paralleling the north side of Venice's Grand Canal, the Casa del Melograno was an easy walk from the train station. Even with luggage in tow, the 10 minute stroll from station to inn provided a nice introduction to the city. There is a vaporetto (water bus) stop nearby, if that is your preferred mode of travel.

We didn't get to see any of the rooms in the main building as our rental was a spacious two room apartment across the small side canal. While it was a couple of flights up from the street, we didn't mind. The room was clean and had windows overlooking the little canal. (Note, the boat traffic was a little noisy at times, but closing the windows blocked most of the sound).

A bonus for us was that resident of the apartment below us was apparently a music teacher of some sort. In the afternoons there was often piano music and some singing that wafted up the stairwell. A charming little soundtrack.

Breakfast was served a little later than the posted 8:00 starting time, so we only availed ourselves of it one morning of the three mornings we were there. Served in the garden, repleat with the eponymous pomegranate trees bearing fruit, the capuccino and brioche were very good.

The staff was friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Finding a decent accommodation in Venice is a challenge: the tourists are overloading the place. Among all the overpriced, overrated lodgings, we found a real value and a very nice place: Casa del Melograno. The hotel has excellent rooms (rather big size for Venice), nice staff and it is very quiet even being quite close to all the places to visit. The "vaporetto" is a few steps away. But the most remarkable feature is a secluded garden, right in the center of Venice: you have breakfast there, and during the day you can relax, read, enjoy the little birds and even have a picnic at lunchtime after buying nice food from the nearby stores. Quite a difference from the rest!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The directions provided to the hotel were excellent and impressive.

The hotel let us leave our luggage and use their garden and internet even after we checked out, while we waited for the train.

They have a very pretty garden and the breakfast was fresh and good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svk04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room was in an adjacent building, but newly-renovated and very large, including a separate lounge. Location was OK - in the old town and about a 30 minute walk from St Mark's Square. Reception staff were very helpful, with restaurant recommendations. On the down side, reception was only open 8-8, the bin in the room hadn't been emptied from the previous occupants, toiletries were not topped up after day 1 and the waitress who was covering reception when we checked out was a little off-hand. Having said all this, I would stay there again. Very good price for the location and quality

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights in July and we thought it was really good.
The guy at the desk was really welcoming and friendly and gave us great suggestions on what to do and where to eat.

We had originally booked one twin room and one double room but there was a problem with the air conditioning in the twin room so we were upgraded to the apartment for free.
This was great as there was loads more room than in just a room but did prove to be a bit annoying being away from the main building where the other half of the family were and all the suitcases!

Breakfast in the morning is what let the rating down a star. It was pretty rubbish! The woman who served the breakfast was nice enough but she was really slow and if there were quite a few other people waiting in front of you, you could be there a LONG time waiting on food. The food its self wasn't very good. The croissants were burnt and the bread and rolls were brick hard...and that was it...you got nothing else!! If I was to give any suggestions to the hotel, it would be to get more staff, more food with a wider variety of things to chose from.

The location was great and for it being in Venice, it was really reasonably priced. It was just round the corner to the water bus and about 10 minutes from the bus station.

Venice itself was really expensive so try not eat on any of the main streets or be prepared to pay a fortune for anything. I would definitely recommend a visit to Murano which is a lot less touristy and busy.

Great experience and would defiantly look at staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mona39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
#194 of 385 in Venice
269 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#170 of 385 in Venice
435 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#192 of 385 in Venice
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel La Forcola
Hotel La Forcola
#263 of 385 in Venice
248 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#73 of 457 in Venice
230 reviews
Cannaregio
Angeles Inn
Angeles Inn
#65 of 457 in Venice
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Melograno Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Melograno Inn

Property: Casa del Melograno Inn
Address: Cannaregio 2022, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Melograno Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3 stars hotel in the heart of Venice (less than 10 min. walk from the railway station and 15- 20 from Rialto's bridge and Saint Mark's square). Completely renovated in 2003, the hotel offers single rooms, french-size bed double rooms, standard double rooms, triple rooms and a Suite (all provided with bathroom and all comforts). Breakfast is included and it is served in the breakast room, or, in spring and summer, in the beautiful inner garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Casa del Melograno Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Melograno Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing