We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deligthful stay - again!”
Review of Al Campaniel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Campaniel
Ranked #76 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We were fortunate to come across Al Campaniel 8 years ago and stayed in the self-catering ground floor flat for a week in 2000.
This year we planned our itinerary to include another week long visit to Venice and were very pleased to read through Trip Advisor that Marco was still there and the quality of service had not changed.
The flat is very good if you like more space than a B&B room, to get up at your own pace, as well as organize meals as you please.
Marco's advice and suggestions were helpful yet again and we especially appreciated his readiness to greet us late at night when our arrival plans were changed due to a cancelled flight; (side bar - avoid the Hungarian airline, Wizz Air!)
Added to this was the price of only 80 Euros a night along with the excellent location.
Altogether, these things helped make Venice one of our favourite places during our 3 months in Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2008

We spent 3 nights in Venice at Al Campaniel, and what a great time it was! For two 50 yr old Kiwis who'd never seen Europe, Venice was a fantastic experience, and it was made easier and more enjoyable by the location and tender ministrations of Marco at Al Campaniel B&B.
Location? Couldn't be better... San Toma vaporetto stop and one short street to the door. San Toma square, great shops and cafes in Dorsoduro, and the Rialto Market all within easy access (i.e., you don't have to jump on crowded boats - unless you want to, 'cos it's so much fun!), and you can easily get lost in the narrow streets and alleys - fantastic fun in a thunderstorm!
Marco was great - informative, very good English speaker (I understand he has French and maybe Spanish as well...), and provides a more than adequate breakfast to get you through to siesta time. The room was clean, adequately serviced, and private, with airconditioning and a nice quiet place to be at night. We'll be back in Venice again, I'm sure - and Marco's B&B will be our first choice to stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaucousDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Thanks to my Eyewitness Travel guidebook and TripAdvisor, we were able to find this great little B&B in Venice without spending a fortune. My husband and I stayed in the double room that has an outside private bathroom. We were initially concerned that not having an en-suite room would compromise our privacy, but the bathroom is just a couple of steps away from the bedroom -- plus we were the only ones with a key to the bathroom. Unlike the decay (beautiful as it is) of Venice's exterior, Al Campaniel's interior is very clean. The bed was very firm (all of the beds we had in Italy were extra-firm), which was great for my back, although I can see where it'd be too hard for others. Marco, who runs Al Campaniel, speaks excellent English and was a good host. Breakfast was simple but good with tasty juice made from blood oranges, cappuccino and a basket of pastries and toast. Oh, and did I mention the value? At 76 Euro a night -- on the same weekend as the historical regatta, no less -- it can't be beat!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank twinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Al Campaniel Bed & Breakfast for 3 nights in June 2008. We paid $121 AUD per night for a Private Double Room which is quite cheap for Venice. We arrived in Venice by train & phoned Marco, the owner, to let him know we had arrived (so he can be at B & B to let you in). We took a 6.50 Euro Vaperetto ride to San Toma station (on Grand Canal) which took approx. 20 mins and literally walked for 30 seconds before we found the B & B. Marco gave us a friendly welcome & gave us any information we required. He has exceptional english. Our room was upstairs to the right. The room consisted of a large double bed, desk, air conditioning, large wardrobe, kettle, tea & coffee. It was clean & comfortable. The private bathroom was just outside the room and was also very clean. Breakfast is of course included. This is served up stairs in the breakfast room. The room has 3 tables & Marco serves you the breakfast. It consisted of Granola cereal, breads & croissants, jams & spreads, yogurt, ham & cheese, juice & coffee. There is also an outdoor patio on the roof just outside the breakfast room. There are no Internet facilities. You are given a key for the front door & you can come & go as you please. We had to check out early on our last day to catch the train, however Marco left a basket of nibbles for us because we were missing breakfast. I would definitely recommend this Bed & Breakfast. It is hard to find somewhere cheap in Venice & Al Campaniel is great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareandMichaelPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Great location, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, and a reasonable price. Our particular room had significant water damage and the accompanying mold by the air conditioner. So I ended up feeling a bit under the weather after a couple of nights in the room. We had a room with a "private, but detached" bathroom. This was not a problem at all, and I don't see any reason to spend the extra money on a room with an attached bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

LOCATION: Al Campaniel is just a two-minute walk from the San Toma vaporetto stop (though you wouldn't know it because the alley it's on is so quiet). I can't overemphasize how important such a location is in Venice! You'll never get lost, and there are no steps and bridges to negotiate (important when you have to carry your own luggage).
The B&B is only a few minutes from the beautfiul Santa Maria dei Frari church. The Scuola Grande di San Rocco, with its gorgeous Tintoretto wall and ceiling paintings, is right next to the church. Close by are many restaurants and little shops (where prices tend to be lower than in the more popular tourist areas). Al Campaniel is opposite a specialty chocolate shop (chocoholics beware). A bakery is a couple of minutes away--turn left when you exit the B&B door, cross the little bridge; it's right there on your left. The restaurant opposite the bakery, Trattoria Dona Onesta, is a gem. The food is beautifully prepared and the prices are extremely reasonable.
ROOM: We asked for a quad room instead of two doubles to save money. Understandably, the room's a bit cramped, but it's entirely serviceable--simply furnished but clean and neat.
BREAKFAST: Breakfast is upstairs, served by Marco himself, and includes the usual coffee/tea-rolls/croissants as well as juice, toast, yogurt, ham and cheese. The breakfast room opens onto a tiny but charming balcony/rooftop garden. You can see the bell tower of Santa Maria dei Frari from it (hence the name Al Campaniel, I assume).
SERVICE, AMBIENCE: Owner Marco is wonderful. He's low-key but friendly, gracious and helpful, always ready to look up information for you. We felt we were staying with a friend.
Wireless internet access is a bit iffy. Marco said that roughly half the guests got it with no problem and half didn't. We didn't, but he offered to run a cable out of his office downstairs so we could hook up our computer. Though we didn't take him up on it, it's such a nice gesture.
All in all, Al Campaniel is the best place I've stayed at in Venice on my four or five trips there. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saulwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Al Campaniel. It is easy to find and in a great location, near the San Toma vaporetto stop. We booked the room with a private bath down the hall (only room available). I was a little apprehensive about this, but the privacy was still there. No one else used the bathroom but us. The room and bathroom were very clean. The room was small, but very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The ac worked quite well. The host, Marco, was gracious. He even brought a basket of croissants and tea and instant coffee, as we were leaving before breakfast the second morning. There was no television,but that was not a concern for us. I would surely recommend this room!
Patrice
Raceland, Louisiana USA

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patirooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#115 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
3749 Ponte Chiodo
3749 Ponte Chiodo
#25 of 476 in Venice
471 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#20 of 476 in Venice
990 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#167 of 476 in Venice
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Campaniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Campaniel

Address: S. Polo 2889, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $67 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Al Campaniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Campaniel Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing