We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price versus quality”
Review of Al Campaniel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Campaniel
Ranked #77 of 464 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good price versus quality”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights beginning of September.

The owner who received was very friendly and served us a nice breakfast everyday.nI had requested a room with a french balcony but unfortunately it was not available. We had a standard room with a bathroom down the hall (only 1 meter from the door of the bedroom) which we could close with a key. The bedroom was cleaned every day, the bathroom only once.

The room was small and rather dark since it only had 1 small window, but we only slept there, so it was okay.

The breakfast was great and the rooftopterrace nice to have a drink before going to dinner.

The location is great, very close to the vaporetto stop and no bridges to cross with luggage.

We paid 74 euro for a standard room including breakfast, excluding city tax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    100
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
192
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is nicely situated close to St. Toma vaporetto station and close to Rialto bridge. It is also a very short distance from Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari. There is a supermarket nearby. The owner Marco is very kind and helpful. Breakfast is good, rooms and bathroom are cleaned everyday and air conditioning was a blessing on hot days. Our room had a water stain on the ceiling and there was from time to time smell of dampness but we left the window open and it was OK. Otherwise everything was perfect, the location proved to be the winning point.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room without water stain on the ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a very good place to stay in Venice and we would recommend it to anyone on a medium budget. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was comfortable and pleasant to be in, and in temperatures outside in the 40s the air conditioning was efficient and very refreshing. Breakfast was good and solicitously served by Marco himself; the hotel is quiet, clean and well run. It is extremely conveniently situated, two minutes from a vaporetto stop at which both Lines 1 and 2 always call. Like all hotels in Venice, it might be a little difficult to locate at first, but it's easy, really. Just get off the vaporetto at San Toma', walk straight ahead down the alley to the T-junction, turn left and it's a few metres along on the left opposite the chocolate shop. We will certainly stay at the Al Campaniel again when we're next in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this B&B (7/7-9/7/2013) with my 2 daughters and and met friends from Finland. I would highly recommend it to my friends and family. The location (not far from St Toma's stop) is just fanstatic as you dont have to carry your bags too far! Our room was very clean, the beds were made each day which was a lovely surprise and the price was excellent.
Marco our host made us breakfast each day which was a real treat.
Macro was very helpful in telling us what to see and do whilst in Venice and recommeded great places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karendundon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently stayed at this B&B while on vacation in Venice with my mother and sister. I would highly recommend it to my friends and family. The location is amazing, the rooms are quaint and clean, the breakfast delicious, the price is reasonable, and the service from Marco is the best! He is so helpful and accommodating. The stay was so enjoyable, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmrp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Simple, a little dated but clean, confortable rooms. To italian standards Al Campaniel had a realy good value for money. We stayed in a room with a private but separate bathroom (right accross the hall) but this wasn't that much trouble. The bed was made each day (rarely the case in B&Bs I stayed in) and Marco was very polite and accommodating. The breakfast was really good with plenty of choices. It exceed our expectations and for the price, I highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiaHRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The B&B is just few steps away from St Toma's stop.
Which means you dont have to carry the luggage up and down onto the bridges.
The room was clean. nothing much to complaint about.
The price is relatively cheap compared to other places i have stayed during my italy trip.
This B&B is a good find and i already recommended it to my fellow friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#97 of 385 in Venice
484 reviews
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#150 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#179 of 385 in Venice
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Apostoli Palace
Apostoli Palace
#39 of 464 in Venice
374 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#139 of 464 in Venice
142 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#17 of 464 in Venice
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Campaniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Campaniel

Property: Al Campaniel
Address: S. Polo 2889, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 464 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Al Campaniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Campaniel Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing