We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean and friendly”
Review of Al Campaniel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Campaniel
Ranked #80 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is very easy to find, out of our expectation. The room is clean and tidy. The owner, Marco was so nice and helpful. We wanted to take a photo with him before we left, unfortunately it was Saturday and he didn't come. He was also so warm-hearted when we had breakfast. He stayed in the kitchen when we were having breakfast to make sure that we wouldn't be disturbed, he would come out immediately when he heard we finished our breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

I almost hesitate to write this review for fear of possible consequences as to availability and price. We've been independently traveling to the mediterranean for 26 years and this is the place we've stayed at for our last five visits to Venice. You can find higher priced (250 up) hotels with many more stars and wind up in a cramped room with deteriorating plumbing fixtures and moldy carpet. The Al Campaniel is very very clean with rooms ranging from adequate to roomy space (see tip) and a very nice breakfast. No elevator but at most you'll lug your bags up three stories of roomy stairs. Very quiet neighborhood. Exit the door and turn right and right again and you're 100 feet from the San Tomas vaporetto stop. Marco, the owner, is very helpful and available by room phones or by telefonino (cell phone). Other than the two recommended rooms (see tip) there is no view to speak of except a view of the rooftops of nearby buildings from the terrace adjacent to the breakfast room at the top of the b&b. The Frari church is a short walk away as is a small bakery, a laundromat, a famous sweet shop, and several cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the two on the first floor with balconies that overlook the street entrance to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hdassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable and the location could not be beat. Very clean rooms and good breakfast. No lift. Definitely a good value in Venice. Not a five star hotel, but a great place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a lovely stay and Marco was wonderful. The room was clean, but small and a little musty smelling. Beds were comfortable, and we had a bathroom of our own, but in the hall. We paid 70 Euros a night, and were very close to the Frari Church (gorgeous) and the St Toma vaporetto stop.

Breakfast was quite thorough. And there is free wifi. The breakfast room was very nice and had a patio, but since it was rainy most of the time, we never used it. This is perfect for someone who plans to be out and about most of the day and just come back to crash. The bathrrom was clean and the shower was forceful and hot. It was very small.

This is a great budget accommodation..I cant see it rating a 5, because of what it is...but for us it worked.

Room Tip: I am sure the superior rooms are a bit better. I wouldnt want to be on the top floor as its so close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the Al Campaniel after a recommendation by our guide book. Booking the room was fairly easy as the owner Marco is fully fluent in English. They don't have a secure site for entering credit card data. Our room was very reasonably priced at 87 Euros per night, but you get what you pay for. The room we had was of fair size, included a double bed, two chairs, a wardrobe (with safe), fridge and a small desk. The bathroom was very small, but adequate. The room was very dated, old carpet, furniture and linens and towels. Also note that the bedding and towels are only changed every three days.

Our room had an old stale smell, which refused to leave even when we left the windows open all day. We found a pair of pajama pants from a previous guest in our room when we checked in which was a bit of a turn off. The air conditioner was leaking water in the bathroom initially, but a call to Marco had it repaired promptly. The bed was made of two different mattresses (seems to be common in Italy), but these two mattresses didn't match well. There was a big gap and there seemed to be a bit of a height difference between the bed half’s. Overall the bed was not very comfortable. When the windows and shutters were closed the room was very well sound proofed from the noisy street below.

Breakfast is basic. Marco serves the food, which consists of cereal (corn flakes or musli), milk, juice, buns, toast, croissants, and cheese. There is no fruit, so we ended up buying some from a grocery store. Marco did buy soy milk for my wife when he discovered she couldn't drink milk.

The location is decent, not to far of a walk from San Marco, and very close to the San Toma Vaporetto stop. We actually walked with our bags from the train station since the Vaportetto was so full. As first timers in the maze of Venice, we found the place with ease (with a map). It took about 15 minutes to arrive and there are two bridges with steps to carry bags over. By our last day we were able to do the walk in ten minutes with our bags. The chocolate shop across the alley way is definitely worth a look.

Marco is nice, but is not very outgoing, seems nervous and like another reviewer said never smiles. We wished he would have been more helpful with restaurant recommendations and the like, but you are pretty much on your own with him.

Overall, the Al Campaniel is a good value for the money. We wouldn't stay there again because in our opinion the facilities need some improvements. However, if you are looking for a basic room and affordable costs, then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

That is realy perfect place to stay in Venice!
Positive sides:
- Location: walking distance to any place; Dona Onesta resotto restaurant in few blocks
- Clean rooms;
- Perfect value;
Negative sides:
- no elevator if you will get a room on a highiest floor.

Resume: definitely recommend!!!

Room Tip: we had a room on ground floor, that was ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed four days in early February. The weather was cold with some ice but the Al Campaniel provided a welcome respite. The room was adequate and an excellent value. Breakfast was a good start to the day. Close to a vaporetto stop. The Trip Advisor map has it in the wrong place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#11 of 482 in Venice
684 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#170 of 482 in Venice
45 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#65 of 482 in Venice
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Corte Modigliani
Corte Modigliani
#112 of 482 in Venice
34 reviews
B&B Venice A Casa Da Cinzia
#116 of 482 in Venice
26 reviews
Santa Croce
Venice Resorts
Venice Resorts
#177 of 482 in Venice
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Campaniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Campaniel

Address: S. Polo 2889, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $89 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Campaniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Campaniel Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing