We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good value - recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good value - recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Excellent location - clean rooms with good facilities and friendly staff. For venice the price is very good and we loved it.

A shame that the rooms did not have tea / coffee tray but they do have well stocked fridges. Also no English TV channels ( apart form euro sport 2 and CNN).

Venice is expensive particulary with the crazy value of the Euro to sterling - a visit to the local COOP and take your own travel kettle and 2 mugs could save you £££. Beer and wine is cheap in the COOP and very £££ in the bars.

We went into Harrys bar and asked for 2 cups of tea - 16 EUROS !!!!!

It really does cost 1.5 Euros to use a WC !!!!



Otherwise Venice is beautiful and one of the best city breaks we have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset-jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,019
    320
    42
    5
    3
See reviews for
406
1,501
67
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

My wife and I and a second couple went to Venice for a 3 night trip in mid-March. Flights from Heathrow were a surprising 90 minutes and in next to nothing we were disembarking at Marco Polo Airport. When you land and want to head into Venice itself you are confronted with three real choices - Bus, Waterbus or WaterTaxi. The Water bus goes every hour so whilst it's cheaper, if you choose this option, check the online timetable before you go - whether you go to San Marco or Rialto it makes little difference when you get there - tickets you can buy in the area you pick up your luggage.

We chose the Waterbus and then walked to the Hotel from Rialto. It took about 10 minutes. Buy a map for 3 Euro - it will be worth it!

The hotel was registered as a two star on line however on arrival you immediately know it is so much more. The rooms are basic but clean and with a period charm all of their own. We stayed in the Annex which was perfect - large tall ceilings, fantastic shower and as clean as a 5 star.

The reception team were excellent. We tried our broken Italian on arrival and they let us stumble along. My wife and her friend were very impressed that it looked like we had studied before arriving. The truth was that we were trying our best and the reception team appreciated this and didnt try to break into their well tuned English until after the girls had moved out of earshot! Thank you guys. Much appreciated.

The truth of the matter is that this hotel has excellent staff who will bend over backwards to help you whether it be at breakfast ordering coffee, booking a restaurant or ordering a water taxi. In addition to this, there are some nice touches to this hotel - firstly it is situated about 5-10 minutes from Rialto, 5-10 from the train station and 10 from San Marco. Secondly, it's quiet but located near some great restaurants. Finally, it's right by San Stae - the Vaporetto stop.

We saw most of the 'key sights', a gondola ride and some shopping all in one day. One day two we hired a car from Hertz (Sunday morning) and drove up to lake garda - it's about 60mins away to the base of the lake, but if you have a spare day and not sure what to do I would recommend it. There are some beautiful small villages at the base however head up the east side and you can get to the cable car... the alps are just on your doorstep.

Breakfast is cereal, juice, yoghurts, pastries, teas and coffees. Basic but it's all you need to be honest - especially after the pizza you had the night before. Staff are yet again friendly and overly helpful.

Final Tip! Getting into Venice is probably a longer journey than the flight. Treat yourself to a water taxi back to the airport - it is a special way to leave Venice and one you probably wont forget. Yes it's 95 Euro but for 4 people sharing the extra 15-20 Euro is so so worth it. Well, that's what the wife said.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Stu_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

I booked this hotel for Valentines weekend thinking it would be a romantic hotel after reading the reviews. Well...there's nothing romantic about this hotel. The staff were extremely nice & helpful and the bathroom is new and clean. Other than that....there's not much I can say about it. Frankly, I'm really dissapointed with the quality of this hotel after reading all these good reviews.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mojohomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

I stayed at the Mocenigo for 3 nights in January and can highly recommend this hotel. It's easy to find from the Vaparetto stop (handy for when you first arrive, particularly if it's dark like it was for us) and you can walk to all the sights in 15-20 mins. The rooms are lovely and breakfast is good.

Our only complaint was that we were allocated the room right behind reception which lacks privacy as there is someone sat right outside the door all day & night (not ideal for a romantic break away!). We did ask if we could be moved but unfortunately the hotel was already full (hazzards of arriving late on a friday eve). If I were to stay again I would put in a request prior to arrival to not have this room, although the room itself was charming and extremely spacious.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzy_tinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed at the Al Ponte Mocenigo for 2 nights in early March. We could not have been happier with our choice. Walter and Sandro, the hotel, and the incredible breakfast exceeded the excellent reviews we read before booking. We stayed in the new annex which is literally around the corner from the reception desk and main hotel.

The hotel is just a few vaporetto stops from the train station and Piazzale Roma. The Al Ponte Mocenigo is a short vaporetto ride or walk from the main tourist areas which is exactly why we chose it. Easy access to the touristy areas, quiet at night.

Note: On our 2nd day I became extremely ill. Walter, Sandro, and the night conceirge (I am sorry we don't have his name) could not have been more helpful to my partner. They are exactly what the word customer service means. When we return to Venice we will gladly stay at the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo...if it is not booked.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Czman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lwalker01
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My husband and I cruised the Mediterranean for our honeymoon and we began our trip at Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo. The hotel was a fabulous was to start! I had never been to Venice and was nervous about finding my way around but the staff was always very responsive to my emails asking a myriad of questions. Our room was very spacious and decorated with such an Old World feel. My husband is a minimalist when it comes to decor, but he also fell in love with our room and the Hotel. The location was perfect for us because the crowds in Venice can be overwhelming and it was nice being slighlty off the beaten path (only by an alley or two). Plus, a vaparetto stop is only a few steps away. We will definitely stay at the Hotel on any return trips to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwalker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Great place. It is tucked in right behind St. Stae Church, which is the third stop from the train station on the water bus. St. Stae is not mentioned in any guidebooks, but is spectacular. Al Ponte has only a few rooms and is very quiet. Ours was very large. Very clean and modern bathroom. There is a restaurant called Mocenigo just about 100m away that was excellent. There is a computer provided, or they will sell you wifi in your room. Breakfast is limited but sufficient, with staff to make and bring coffee orders.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,170 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#18 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#6 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing