We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very family friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our family stayed at Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo in early January 2014. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we knew we would like it. The staff were very warm and welcoming and helpful. We had a very comfortable room, beautifully furnished, which we were able to share (a bit squishy for the 4 of us but great not having to book two rooms). The breakfast was fabulous and the location excellent. Just the right distance from all you wish to see and do in Venice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1705Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,162
    344
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
425
1,630
69
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The location is very convenient (100m from San Stae vaporetto, 10' by foot to the Frari, the whole centre easily reachable by foot, etc.), the hotel building is nice and has character. The rooms are very comfortable and (for the superior ones at least) quite beautiful and large (we did not stay in the standard ones - but they looked perfectly fine too, just smaller and less impressive). The breakfast is fine - not too many choices but good quality, and considering the price really OK. Service is good. The only drawback/limitation is that there is pretty much no view from the rooms - this explains the fantastic price/quality ratio. If you WANT view by all means, not the place for you. Otherwise: nice and comfortable rooms, good amenities and everything, for a price that you can't beat in Venice. The 2 stars rating was explained to me by the owner - they specifically asked for a lower rating than the 3 stars they could have gotten given the characteristics of the hotel, precisely to ensure everyone is happy and people do not have "grander" expectations. Definitely a great place and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are particularly nice but standard ones also look OK. I guess the suite is even nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mithrandir84110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

this hotel has it all. Great location only ten mins walk from realto and 20 mins from san marcos square and only a couple hundred metres from the water bus if you prefernot to walk. definitely should be rated at least 3 star if not 4 rather than the 2 it is rated at, spent 3 weeks in Europe and was by far the largest and most comfortable hotel room we stayed in as well as being one of the cheapest. Staff are very friendly and breakfast which was included was really good. Would definitely stay here if im ever back in venice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mathewwellington88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

6 years ago I visited Venice with my lovely husband. This time our daughter and I came for 4 days. We wouldn't stay anywhere except Al Ponte Mocenigo. The reviews are all accurate....lovely place, great location right beside a vaporetto stop but nice and quiet. An easy walk to Rialto and San Marco... Great local restaurants, lovely well-equipped rooms- but the best part? The owners Walter and Sandro and the charming and helpful staff. Because it's such a small hotel it's difficult to get a booking but it's worth the effort to keep trying. How could this be a two star hotel? It's a five star in my book!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariao6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay, our room was fabulous with high ceiling tapestry walls & a super balcony overlooking the canal below, everyone is very friendly & helpful. The location is perfect for walking as it is a 10 minute walk from the Rialto bridge & directly onto the waterbus stop of San Stae. We would highly recommend this super little hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcheeksAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I did my research and I was not wrong. We booked this for our 25th wedding anniversary. This is a heavenly spot of quiet tranquillity. It is excellently placed for the river boats. Its also in a well connected part of Venice making walking to the main tourist spots easy (and exciting get lost) but in a quiet part of Venice which is so much nicer than being where you get ripped off for a coffee. Be prepared however- there is no such thing as cheap in Venice!! It is drop a pin silent at night and I never heard any sound from any other room. We chose the Junior Suite which was palatial and fitted out in such a great style, but the Jacuzzi bath is very small. if you are a size 16 plus -you wont fit in! The furnishings are elegant and the room huge. Bed was a wee bit on the hard side for me. Breakfasts plentiful with choice and good service all round. Balcony a nice feature. and such lovely staff there all day and night and helpful in suggesting the best route or a good restaurant. One of the best is in the same street. Invest in a big scale map! And good comfy shoes. And don't try and do it all in just 2 days.

Room Tip: Splash out and book the Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

A great base for a trip to Venice. Very easy to get to, we caught the 'Orange Line' boat from the airport and the hotel is only a 100 yards away from the San Stae vaporetto stop. The room was great, the staff were always helpful (upto lending us welly boots to get through the floods that occured whilst we were there). The continental breakfast were more than adequate. All round I am very pleased that we choose to stay here, it is about 10 minutes walk to the Realto bridge, and onto the other major attractions.

Seeing Venice out of season was a great decision as it is so much quieter, it was so enjoyable walking around the streets and canals without being too crowded. Seeing St Mark's under water was a brilliant experience that I won't forget. The irony of seeing the fish market under a foot of water was also very enjoyable.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindfieldSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#20 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#5 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing