We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #14 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just finished our best ever vacation and it included a two night stay at the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo. We booked the stay almost a year ago based upon the reviews on trip advisor. Our experience lived up to the glowing reviews we read then. The hotel was extremely easy to access. We arrived by train and took a water taxi to the water entrance for the hotel. With our luggage and the age of some of the travelers, it made it so easy. During different times during our stay, we used the standard water bus and it was an easy walk to the entrance from the San Stae vaparetto stop. The hotel was small and quaint. We had the room next to the registration desk. It was nice size and had a more than adequate sized bathroom (shower only). We never heard any noise from the desk and it made it easy to navigate because there was no stairs to go up and down to get to our room. Other members of our group had premium rooms upstairs. One couple had a balcony over a secondary canal for the higher price. We did not feel that we missed out on anything. The morning breakfast was served in a beautiful courtyard just outside our door. The hotel offered free Wi-Fi of which we took advantage. We booked a private tour guide through the hotel which happened to be the wife of one of the owners. She was fantastic and well worth what we paid her. We were able to visit the non tourist areas of Venice and got to see how ordinary residents lived along with very detailed information about the key sites in Venice. The owners were helpful in so many ways and really made our stay there comfortable and memorable. For example, the first night we were tired so we asked for a restaurant recommendation close by. The restaurant recommended was not only close, but gave us a wonderful meal experience as we sat outside under the moonlit sky watching the people stroll by. There is no doubt that we will return to Venice and we will make sure that we book the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo for our next stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were great. Room 1 is easily accessible. Room 5 has a small balcony with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gradysdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

My two daughters, grandaughter and I recently returned from a very enjoyable 12-day Meditteraean Cruise which originated in Venice. My granddaughter made the reservations and was already there when we arrived. Safely to say she couldn't have chosen a better hotel - our rooms were decorated in Venetian style, spacious and overlooked the canal which kept them cool at night. Also, there was free Wi-fi connection. Thank you to the staff for providing breakfast in the courtyard that consisted of fresh fruit, fresh pastries, cereals etc, more than you could eat.

Many thanks to Walter and Sandro for their kindness and going the last mile for us during our stressful time - it will never be forgotten....not going into details but you know what I'm referring to!

Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, located in the heart of Venice, occupy two levels of a finely retored building in a lived-in-neighbourhood that is rich in history. There are no elevators; however, there is always help with baggage.

For those of you who are interested, it is easy to find. From the airport we took the airport bus and then the #1 river bus to San Stae Vaparretto stop. Once there, the hotel is a couple of minutes walk and within walking distance of Rialto and San Marco. This hotel is highly recommended!!

Tip: It was very convenient for us to take a water taxi to the ship because it came directly to our hotel door and directly to the ship dock.

Many thanks to walter, Sandro and their staff for helping make our stay in Venice a very memorable one. We look forward to return again to enjoy your wonderful hospitality and the beauty of Venice.

Sincerely,

Vi Holmes & Family

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A stone bridge over the canal leads you to the hotel door, where we were greeted by a very charming and knowledgeable gentleman. Our rooms were great, right on the canal. So cool. They had an amazing breakfast every morning with freshly made hot croissants! Easy to find, and close to the vaporetto station. We loved this hotel and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sierrasue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel, having stayed here five years ago on our first visit to Italy. It is still a wonderful hotel with spacious rooms, friendly service, and great free wi-fi connection. The location is very practical--close to vaporetto stop and within walking of Rialto and San Marco. They give good restaurant recommendations and are happy to help with reservations. The rooms are beautifully decorated in Venetian style. No elevator, but they help you with your bags. Breakfast is good with fresh pastries and good coffee. Just a little wear showing on some of the fixtures and carpet, but nothing compared to the value you get for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psychoteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights with our three children and my sister and her husband. Our luggage did not arrive at baggage claim after our long flight from Chicago which put an immediate damper on our spirits. Nonetheless, we had sightseeing and a new city to explore so we head for the Hotel. Once we arrived they made us feel very welcome and cared for. Throughout the 24 plus hours we did not have our luggage they stayed in touch with the airport so we did not need to. The breakfast was fantastic and we all really enjoyed the chopped fruit salad and croissant. Our rooms were very nice and well appointed with all that a traveler would need. Very high ceilings which give the rooms a bigger feel. The ladies that help at breakfast were amazing and made us feel terrific. We had dinner the first night at a restaurant not too far off that made us feel insignificant and as though we were a bother so we were very pleased the staff was warm and helpful here.

The beds are quite firm so if that is not your preference you should know. Also, the rooms on the canal side are quieter but not as lively.

We stayed in the annex and found it preferable. If you are worried about using the Vaporetto you need not be. It is quite easy and a stop is steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoFuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are elegant and more spacious that I expected. The breakfast is outstanding: be sure to try their chocolate, Nutella-filled muffin! And most importantly, Walter is earnest, helpful, and most professional. We couldn't have been more pleased with this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can only echo the previous reviews - everyone working there was so helpful and friendly that it creates a warm homely atmosphere. Breakfast in the courtyard to the sound of seagulls was excellent. My room and bathroom (on the first floor of the main hotel) were large and beautiful. The location is perfect - away from the madness of Rialto and San Marco but easy to get to them and everywhere else in Venice - I made extensive use of the vaporetto with a 72 hour card. It is very easy to get to the hotel on the vaporetto and if you use the side exit from the train station and follow the instructions to the back door of the hotel, you can manage your luggage with no steps.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you, you may want to check that the room has strong reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,868 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,975 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,469 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing