We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves all the praise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Deserves all the praise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is rightly praised. We stayed in the new annexe in a room lavishly decorated in authentic Venetian style. It was spacious: as was the bathroom with its large head shower. If you want a combination of hotel and appartment life, Al Ponte provides it.

But it is the breakfast staff and the men at reception who make the experience so special. Their enthusiasm and friendliness got every day off to a good start.

The overall location was good. The locality is quiet but there are plenty of eating places and pleasant bars.

Room Tip: Don't be put off if you can only get a room in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JWBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,162
    344
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
425
1,630
69
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here at the end of January and were not dissapointed. All the staff were great, especially Sandro and were always polite and very helpful.
The Hotel is so easy to find and in a great, quiet location and just a short walk from the main attractions.
Breakfast was good, rooms clean and comfortable, what more could you ask?
Would recommend to any visitor to Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great hotel in fantastic location. Venice is fantastic and this hotel is close to all it has to offer. Had a great time. lovely rooms, staff and breakfast. Made our stay very special. Close to nice restaurants and bars and their guide on how to get from airport to hotel was spot on


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowSlime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for Valentines Day, after reading all the fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor. We were pleased with the hotel, but felt that for us did not quite live up to all the hype, particularly for a price of €140 per night. The location is fantastic and a great place to start your exploration of this beautiful place. The decor of the hotel is very Venetian and has a romantic feel to it. Our Room (5) had an incredibly high ceiling and a wonderful little balcony but the room itself was quite small, but perfectly acceptable. The mini bar was basic and there were no tea/coffee facilities which was a shame. The reception staff were pleasant and polite but did not go out of their way to give us much information about Venice. The breakfast was ok, although we would have preferred some eggs or ham/cheese etc. What they did serve was quite delicious, fabulous croissants, muffins and strudel with the thickest hot chocolate I have ever had! There was also cereal and nicely prepared fruit salad and yoghurt. The breakfast area is a little small and felt quite cramped, but I imagine in the Summer when they use the courtyard, this is very different. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, other than the heating was a little rattly at times. The bathroom was modern and there was plenty of hot water. I think all in all the problem was that our expectations had been set too high by the Tripadvisor reviews. If I had stumbled across the hotel, I would have probably thought it was a good find, but I had been led to believe it would be amazing, out of this world, with 5 star standards and being classed as No.1 out of God knows how many hundred of hotels....I think I just simply expected more.
OUR TIPS:-
(1) Get a water taxi from the airport (fantastic) 95€ direct online from Motoscafi... the only way to arrive in style!
(2) Buy a 36/48/72h Vaporetto pass as S.Stae station is adjacent to the hotel and and we covered most of the City including Murano, via the Vaporetto and also lots of it on foot!
(3) Forget 80€ for a gondola ride and spend it on the water taxi from the airport. Take one of the Traghetto gondolas costing 2€pp across the canal to tick this off your list!
(4) Get the Vaporetto across to San Giorgio Maggiore Campanile which is the Bell Tower across the water from San Marco. Its a replica of San Marco Campanile but much quieter and only 5€ to get the lift to the top. The view is stunning and you can see the whole of Venice.
(5) Head to Cantinone Gia Schiavi (also called Al Bottegon) for lunch..... standing room only, crostini snacks and cheap wine...our most favourite place in Venice. Quick lunch and drink for 2 is 10€.
(6) Try the best and probably cheapest coffee in Venice (really!!) at Torrefazione Marchi. Its a standing room only coffee shop that's been going since 1930. We even brought some home with us!
(7) Try dinner at La Zuzza, the local veggie restaurant. If you are a meat eater, please still try it as the food is amazing!
(8) Have a free 2hour tour with Catherine at www.freetourvenice.com who will take you off the beaten track and give great tips.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a lovely little balcony overlooking the canal and directly above the hotel's water do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and the reviews were spot on. We went mid-January, and the weather was "cool". This hotel is only three stops from the train station by vaporetto. The walk to the hotel is very short. It's located in a quiet neighborhood and the owner and staff went out of their way to see that we were comfortable. My husband and I are early risers, and the staff had "americano coffee" available every morning by 7am which made our day. Internet is a little sketchy but the smell of fresh baked croissants makes the stay one you can't pass up.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 in the hotel which was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were really impressed with this hotel and agree with the positive comments from others on here. It's in a great location, just set far enough away from the majorly touristy parts of Venice to make you feel as though you're off the beaten track, yet near enough to be able to walk everywhere easily. The staff are fantastic, cheerful and helpful - we loved the fact that they have a big box of wellies for nights where the waters come so high that you need boots to get back! They were warm and welcoming, great service. Our room was lovely, and although it was downstairs we weren't disturbed. We were always quite glad to get back to the room and relax for a couple of hours before heading out for dinner. Great continental breakfasts too. We will definitely return and would highly recommend this to anyone planning a trip to Venice - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyndy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst NSW
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel really exceeded our expectations, but the real draw card here (apart form the location - which is not in the hustle and bustle of tourist areas) is the hospitality of the hosts. Nothing was a problem and they seemed genuinely concerned that we were happy and satisfied.

The Valporetto is less than 5 minutes walk, and there are no bridges you need to cross to get to it (using their excellent directions, otherwise you would have to cross bridges, and believe me, you don't want that - especially if you have luggage.) About 40 minute stroll to St. Mark's Basilica - but be warned! It's very easy to get lost with all the narrow lanes and 'tunnels'. Easy though to navigate by getting back to the grand canal though. A wonderful city, and wonderful accommodation.

Our room (The Quad Suite with 4 poster bed) has a great bathroom, especially the spa bath, though the floor in the room is, as stated before, sloped. No big deal though, this is a hotel I would definitely return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#20 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#5 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing