We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #9 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family and I have been here for a week end in January and we loved it. Clean rooms, big breakfast. The only thing we did not apreciated was the pushing to go to Murano island... Is there an interest behind???
We recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: When there ask for the "better" room if possible. The saff at the desk will help you since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,189
    348
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
429
1,654
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Venice is magical, and the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo is a lovely part of the magic. Our room in the Annex was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The location was absolutely perfect for me and my husband for several reasons; the San Stae stop made it easy to move around Venice, we loved the Santa Croce neighborhood, the restaurants nearby were terrific, and after visiting the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco areas, we were so happy to be in a more serene neighborhood. We happened to be in Venice during the Regata Storica, which is the first weekend in September, and it was a lot of fun to watch the yearly parade and race with all of the local Venetians. We also explored the Cannaregio neighborhood on the other side of the canal, and it also helped to give us more of a “local” feel for Venice. For those that say Venice is just like Disneyland, I couldn’t disagree more. If you venture just slightly off the beaten path, you will find the hidden gems!
Room Tip: If you need a strong hair dryer, bring your own, with the proper voltage. I found this to be true with almost every hotel in Italy. Also, we loved staying in the Annex.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBeeMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The location is good as it is easily accessible from the car park and station.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and spoke excellent English. We had an upgrade to a 'suite' a hundred yards from the main hotel.
This had a bedroom, lounge area, kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen had tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, dishwasher and 2 hotplates. However there was no equipment with which to cook. There were plates, cups and saucers, spoons and forks. This was a great pity as we found amazing markets in Venice and would ahve liked to be able to cook a meal.

Also hot water was unreliable.

It was also necessary to walk to teh hotel for breakfast, which wouldn't have been pleasant in inclement weather. Breakfast was plentiful and good standard.

Given the option again I would have asked to look at the bedroom and suite first before I made the decision.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a Bed & Breakfast and we stayed on a suite – which was large and comfortable, with free Wi-Fi. The price was good as is the location – walking distance from the Rialto and the Piazza San Marco.
I did not like the Breakfast which is served in tiny tables (we were 3 eating on a small table for 2), with a poor selection – I understand that they may not have sufficient space for larger tables but I’m sure they could figure something out and offer more comfort and a wider selection.
At any rate, we had a nice stay for a reasonable price. And in Venice, you stay out most of the time anyway… So the cost x benefit is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel earlier this week. The staff really understand and are committed to serving their guests with the utmost in hospitality. From helping me with my bags in the rain up to my room to picking up my dinner from a nearby restaurant to fixing the wifi in my room the next morning, these gentlemen are quintessential hoteliers and could teach many brand name hotels how to treat guests.

I stayed in the annex across the "street" from the hotel and once I got over the daunting staircase that stood before me, I found the room quiet, clean, and well appointed. Their breakfast buffet is perfectly scheduled for early and late risers.

Although Venice is a rabbit warren of tiny little lanes that you will inevitably get lost in, the hotel is near the main valporetto (#1) that will take you to the key sites in Venice along the Grand Canal. Purchase a transit pass from the tobacconist in the plaza down the street from the hotel, so you can hop on and off of the valporetti.

Al Ponte Mocenigo is the best hotel in service, room quality, and location. I am glad to have had the experience staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasheen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk,UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

If this isn't the friendliest hotel in Venice, it must be close to it. The 2 guys who man the reception are genuinely nice people, very welcoming, incredibly helpful, and not intrusive or 'in your face'. It obviously 'knocks down' because all of the ladies who bring you (delicious) fresh coffee in the morning are equally friendly and helpful, as well as speaking English!
Bedrooms very smart, marble bathrooms, lovely old courtyard (would be ace in summer for 'al fresco' breakfast.)
And talking of breakfast, really good,fresh warm rolls and croissants, freshly made coffee and tea, fresh fruit salad, and a daily 'special' or two of strudel, pastries etc.
Only 50 metres or so from San Stae Vapo stop, so always easy to get back to on the Number 1 once you (inevitably) get lost.
These guys have Tripadvisor awards on display for the past 6-7 years. They clearly deserve them.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy, very near the breakfast area (7-10 am,so no lie in if you are in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

it was a very nice hotel and both the owners were very nice and welcoming.
hotel was beautiful and had had all the old touches.
it had all the comforts of clean, friendly and warm stay.
well it was the breakfast that would have got me to give the excellent from very good.
it was nice but i would look for some warm and salted part in the breakfast.
it was good what was offered but there was still more to be desired.
may be more options of cereal, some form of eggs, may be waffle.
i felt that i was expecting more in breakfast.
The hot chocolate served was very nice piping hot and extra dark.

Room Tip: if you are single the room just behind reception was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ManojBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing