We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet sanctuary in a tourist island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #13 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Well situated in the middle of Venice. This hotel is housed in a beautiful old building with a private bridge and courtyard. I stayed in a small double room. The furniture was composed of beautiful antique pieces. The bathroom had all necessary pieces with a few special treats like a towel warmer. Free wifi and breakfast and the staff is incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 2,684 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It is near the San Stae vaporetto station and it is a short walk to the hotel. If you are carrying lots of luggage, it is quite convenient. There are 2 buildings - the original hotel and the annex (where you have to cross a bridge). We stayed at the annex and it is a new wing so the room and bathroom were very clean. I am surprised to learn that this is only a 2 star hotel when it felt like a 4 star hotel. The staff is helpful with a majority of them Filipinos. I may be biased since I am Filipino, but Carlito, Grace, Millete and Mae provided the well known Filipino hospitality. They made our stay extra pleasant by providing us with extra blankets, making great coffee and providing us with some tips on Venice shopping. Sandro and Valter also did a good job in providing recommendations for places to eat. Wil definitely recommend to friends!

Room Tip: If you are bringing heavy or lots of luggage, choose a room on ground floor of the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinoyNuances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Oct 2012, 3 nights
Lovely, clean hotel in a quiet location. We stayed in the small room behind the front desk. And although we booked in February for an Oct stay, it was the only room they had left for our dates! The room quiet and was small but we have stayed in smaller! The bathroom was modern and well appointed.
We had great weather so enjoyed beautiful breakfasts on the terrace. The hotel was an easy walk to the sites. Of course we got lost a few times but that is part of the Venice experience!
It is popular for good reason!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning, due to a flight at the crack of dawn, and were not only welcomed warmly but given a good breakfast - for which they refused to charge us ! Throughout our stay both Sandro and Walter were smiling, patient and informative. The hotel provided us with wellington boots for the high water, good maps and tips for restaurants. The room was impeccably clean and beautifully furnished, the buffet breakfast copious, the staff very friendly. In a nutshell, we found what is quite hard to find in Venice - a place where you are not regarded as "yet another tourist" and where you do not get the impression that all they are interested in is milking you for what it is worth. Well done. It restores my faith in the Venetians. Thank you to both Sandro and Walter. Anna

Room Tip: We had a room in the annex which had the advantage of a view over a canal, but the disadvantage of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As so many reviewers say this is a lovely hotel in a great location.
I loved my first stay here with my husband in 2010 and was very happy to be able to return in early October. This time I was traveling with 3 others (my sisters-in-law and a friend). I was very happy to recommend Al Ponte Mocenigo but you always hope that others will enjoy what you recommend. We had two huge twin rooms in the annex, one with an ensuite and the other with the bathroom just outside but we were able to close off the corridor door to create a private suite. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms great.
Walter, Sandro and their staff were very helpful both before and during our stay. The stairs in the annex are steep but the staff were very helpful with our bags,
We booked a walking tour with Elisabetta on their recommendation which was excellent.
Hopefully I will be able to come back again sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel for a recent Venice stay based on the great Tripadvisor revues. We were skeptical that there could be so many five star ratings, but they are well deserved. As others have said, it is a charming hotel in a quiet part of the city. Yet, it's an easy walk to restaurants and tourist attractions. We stayed in an annex room with a view of the canal and would recommend this location as some rooms in the main building could be noisier. The bathroom had completely modern fixtures and the entire room was spotlessly clean. The staff could not have been nicer, helping us with our luggage both arriving and departing. And refusing to take a tip! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shir Hayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in an annex room at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful with information regarding tours and attractions. The breakfast was really nice, with hot croissants and good coffee served every morning along with a selection of fruits and cereals. The hotel is a short walk to the Rialto Bridge, St Marks Square and the Vaporetto water stop is only 50 meters from the hotel. We traveled from Marco Polo Airport to the Hotel on the Alilaguna water bus and were happy that the San Stae stop was so close to the hotel and we managed our luggage with ease. There is no lift to the upstairs rooms in the annex, however I had no problem lifting our suitcases up and down the stairs but this may be an issue for some people to consider requesting a ground floor room. We loved our trip to Venice and would definitely stay at the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 384 in Venice
1,947 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 384 in Venice
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#5 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $105 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing