We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to stay”
Review of Ca' Bonvicini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ca' Bonvicini
Ranked #5 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week May/June and I cannot praise it enough. It's a small but beautiful place on a narrow lane by a canal. The room was decorated in opulent style with a modern designer bathroom with a good shower and complimentary toiletries. The bed was large. My only very minor complaint is that the mattress was a little too hard for me but my husband thought it was ok and slept well all week. Our spotlessly clean room had a balcony with flowers that overlooked the water. It was lovely sipping my morning cafe latte and watching the occasional boat go by. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided if you fancy a late night/early morning brew. Continental breakfast of assorted croissants, breads with preserves, cheese, yoghurt, juice and freshly brewed coffee is served in your room. Ca' Bonvicini is in a quiet residential area of Venice away from the busy crowds of tourists but yet is only a short walk from all the main sites. The S. Stae vaporetto stop is close by. You can catch the Ali Laguna orange line straight to the airport from there. A very easy and pleasant transfer. Sabrina was very friendly and helpful providing us with a guide book, a map and plenty of suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. She even left us a bottle of bubbly and chocolates as a welcome gift. I thoroughly recommend staying here for a taste of the real Venice

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 705 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here in March and could not fault this quaint little B&B. The location is spot on, we walked everywhere from here its so close to the main tourist attractions yet tucked away so its nice and quiet and feels so authentic. Our room was large and very grandly decorated, the bed was massive, I felt like a princess. The lady running the place was very welcoming, so lovely and they give you a great map which even has places they recommend for you to eat at marked on the map - they also tell you the areas to avoid so that you dont get ripped off, just what you need. They serve your breakfast in your room which I thought was pretty cool and a good way of doing it. We had a wonderful time in Venice and I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Ca Bonvicini in late May. The proprietors of this charming, well designed and well run b and b, Alberto and Sabina provided personal attention and made our stay quite comfortable. Located in a non touristy Venetian neighborhood it is still within short rides on the vaporetto or walks to the main attractions. Indeed the boat stop, S.Stae, is also one of the stops for the Ali Laguna making for an easy get away back to the airport.

The room we stayed in, 707, was charming, a large comfortable bed, great design and features and the updated bathroom was large by Italian standards. The in-room breakfast delivered by tray at your designated time was sufficient and included some personal requests that Alberto went out of his way to deliver. Ca Bonvicini also provided with us a great tour guide and maps with local restaurant recommendations that worked out quite well. If we or any of our friends ever travel to Venice we will definitely suggest a stay at this lovely b and b.

To be aware of: the Ca Bonvicini is a 5 minute walk from the vaporetto over 2 small bridges. We managed well with two 26 inch luggage on wheels; do not expect to get there easily with anything more than that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We stayed in a canal view superior room. The room was nicely decorated, the bathroom was very stylish, and the windows opened onto a little canal which was lovely. The location is good, in the middle of a residential area with the tiniest maze-like streets I've ever seen. The map we were given on check-in was a lifesaver! We flew into Marco Polo, got the 20min bus to piazzale roma, then walked to the B&B which took about 20 mins. The breakfast was lovely and served bang on the time we asked for it. We were allowed to leave our cases on the last day as we had a late flight. Overall I enjoyed our stay. It is very expensive but so is everything in Venice. My suggestions for improvements are: coat hooks near the door, and possibly new mattresses as mine seemed to slope but maybe that was the building being not quite straight!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After searching for a long time to find somewhere reasonable priced yet central in Venice we finally found Ca' Bonvicini. We stayed for a long weekend on our first visit to Venice and will definitely be returning ! The location is perfect, we walked everywhere during our stay and did not need to use any boats. It is 10 minutes walk from Rialto bridge and 20 minutes walk from Piazza San Marco, but in a quiet neighbourhood which does not feel too touristy. We arrived in Venice by train and we managed to get to the hotel easily by boat and a short walk (took about 40 minutes in total to get there).
Our room was beautiful, large and from our window we could even see the canal. The room was classical venetian style and looked newly renovated, especially the bathroom was brandnew and really nice. We were travelling with our 14 months old baby and they provided a comfortable cot for him in the room. There was also a reasonably priced minibar in the room (eg. water 1.50 EUR) and tea/coffemaking facilities. Breakfast was delivered to our room in the morning and was fresh and yummy. You choose at what time you want your breakfast delivered and there is a table and two chairs in the room where you could have it if you are not too tempted to have it in bed ! Breakfast consisted of your choice of tea or coffee, orange juice, croissants and role with cheese or marmelade, nutella and yoghurt (the portion was however not huge).
Upon checkin we received a little guide and map of Venice which proved to be very helpful and our hosts were also very helpful with restaurant recommendations and other tips. We flew back from Marco Polo airport and took the boat all the way to the airport for 15 EUR each (takes 50 minutes and it is a 10 minute walk from the B & B to the boatstop). We absolutely loved Ca' Bonvicini and will definitely go back !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondieandginger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for the two nights we were in Venice. Communication via email prior to our arrival was very good with the B & B. Pay strict attention to the directions they give you to access their location - they are very accurate and you won't get lost. The B & B is very convenient to the Vaparetto Stop, and we would use that station as our landmark for returning home at night. Breakfast is served in the room and it is adequate, but the least substantial (or varied) of all of the breakfasts we had during our time in Italy. Our room overlooked the small (quiet) canal and was kept clean, as well as the bathroom was kept sparkling during our stay. The one problem I had with the B & B was the bed. It was VERY hard. I have a back problem and the mattress did not help the situation at all. My husband, who can sleep any where, also said that he had never slept on such a hard mattress. The B & B is situated in a good location, with shops and restaurants nearby, thereby giving it a "neighborhood" feeling. As indicated, it is near to the vaparetto stop (less than 5 minute walk there), the staff is very helpful and always available to assist with questions/directions/suggestions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheWools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a perfect B&B for discovering Venice. The location is within easy walking distance of all the sights, but it is still a quiet retreat away from the bustling tourist hotspots. The service is excellent--the staff is friendly and helpful providing maps and condensed tourist guides made especially for their guests. The rooms are clean and charming, very fitting with the ambiance of the city. The breakfast is excellent and served to your room directly every morning. The wifi worked perfectly. My husband and I stayed here for three nights during the long easter weekend and had absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
1,998 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,914 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
#12 of 387 in Venice
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#8 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#7 of 479 in Venice
1,126 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Corte Antica
Residenza Corte Antica
#1 of 479 in Venice
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Bonvicini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Bonvicini

Address: Santa Croce 2160, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $126 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ca' Bonvicini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a few steps from Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square Ca' Bonvicini was once home of a noble Venetian family, it offers its guests the opportunity to experience a wonderful stay in an old palace of the late 17th century. This B&B joins an atmosphere full of ancient tastes that evoke past times with all the modern comforts, to make your holiday in Venice unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' Bonvicini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Bonvicini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing