We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem far from the madding crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ranked #33 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

During the six years that my wife Judy and i worked on our bestselling book, Serenissima: Venice in Winter, we would pass ai Mori d'Oriente and figure this place was just out of our price range. Then we began leading photography tours covering Venice in winter and realized what bargains can be had in the Floating City after Xmas, but before Carnevale.
Our travel agent put us in touch with ai Mori and we (and our clients) could not have been happier. The somewhat 'out of the way' location in Cannaregio turned out to be a blessing--a welcome respite from the busier spots near Piazza San Marco and Rialto. And, in fact, nothing really is out of the way in Venice since it really is a small town. Everything about the hotel was welcoming and first-rate, from the staff to the lovely morning breakfast and cappuccino.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fvanriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

My Wife & I stayed here some years back . What a surprise this little hotel was. Kind of off the beaten track ,but just what we were looking for & more .Very clean, friendly staff ,beautiful rooms & a great breakfast room. We enjoyed chatting with other travelers in the cozy bar late into the night. Great local dining was just steps away down the canal. We really enjoyed walking all over Venecia .Great adventure based out of this very ,very cool hotel We both would love to return another time as the memories are all good ones. We highly recomend Hotel Ai Mori D'Oriente to travelers who want something "old world" & really special.

mickey

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyfeetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. I asked for a certain room over email and got exactly the one I wanted, complete with bremed ceiling and four poster bed. A large continental breakfast selection and an airy breakfast room, a happy porter and a bar completed our 2 night stay.
The hotel isn't on a main stretch but we did find it in the dark after a while, using directions from a boat stop from their website.
The island flooded while we were there and we got lost but returning to our hotel at five in the morning, walking through water up to my thighs (!!) we were greated by the night porter offering to carry our umbrellas/coats/waterlogged shoes.
I would stay here agin when we next visit (in not so rainy season)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in April of 2010 and we loved our visit. They are a smart, clean, authentic hotel with great history. We paid somewhere in the range of 150 euros at the time and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very small, but the décor is authentic and comfortable. Why would you stay very long in your room in Venice anyway?! We walked so much around Venice and were very happy to return to our beautiful room at the Hotel ai Mori dOriente! Ah Venice!

Room Tip: To be honest, I never used any swimming pool nor fitness center, so I rated them as average. But, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

For anyone preferring a little peace and quiet out of the main tourist areas, the Hotel ai Mori d’Oriente is an absolute winner with very few drawbacks.

With its attractive ‘post-Moorish’ architectural features and own little quayside the hotel looks fairly small and unprepossessing from the outside. But inside it’s all polished wood, marble-floored elegance and deceptive space.

Being only a 20 minute stroll down to St. Mark’s Square is not what I’d call inconvenient, as long as you don’t mind walking. But that 20 minutes made all the difference. Because when you’re sitting at a little canal side table enjoying your (first) evening spritz, or standing on the Fondamenta with a delicious wake-up coffee before breakfast, you’re not fighting off swarms of tourists. You just see the occasional Venetian crossing the nearby bridge on his/her way to or from work. It was delightful to be able to return from a day seeing the sights to this haven of tranquillity.

The staff were all friendly and helpful if, perhaps, a little formal. Our bedroom was comfortable, if rather gloomily lit, and the well-appointed ensuite bathroom beautifully clean. If you want a view, though, don’t ask for one overlooking the rear courtyard. And do respect the stickers on the windows warning of mosquitos! I didn’t on the first night and was awoken in the early hours by a high pitched whine: fortunately I spotted the mozzy immediately and squashed it before any blood was spilled. Thereafter we used the aircon rather than opening windows…

The experienced bartender quietly prepared superb cocktails. Anyone familiar with ‘Fawlty Towers’ might detect more than just a hint of ‘Manuel’ in the ever-attentive hotel porter. And the reception staff were brilliant at recommending restaurants and sorting tables for us. Another big plus for this hotel is that there are 3 or 4 excellent eateries within 10 minutes’ walk – all friendly and offering superb value for fresh, high quality local dishes.

Breakfast here confused me to begin with. The coffee machine – whilst eventually delivering the goods - was not intuitive, and neither was the menu. You could help yourself to a buffet of gargantuan proportions if you wanted to. Muesli, other cereals, toast, yoghourts, fruit, cold ham, croissants, and tea and coffee by the gallon were all included in our tariff. Yet the boiled eggs nestling amongst these choices were extra, as was bacon and eggs. It would have been so much easier to include everything in the breakfast price. It surely can’t be based on cost because we could have fed a Roman legion on the cold ham available (or prepared ourselves packed lunches for the week). All I wanted was a couple of rashers of bacon and a fried egg, and paying extra for it was (like mosquitos) unnecessarily irritating.

Still, as that was our only slight niggle I can honestly say that we struck gold with the Hotel ai Mori d’Oriente, would recommend it and unhesitatingly come back here given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalcMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We fell in love with Venice. The hotel was how we imagined and we were very pleased. The staff were all friendly and made an effort to please. Breakfast was continental and the same everyday, but nice! The rooms were nice and spacious, with high ceilings. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ_inabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Oct . Friendly staff charming, elegant hotel with a feel for the old orient trading days. Romantic. A bit hard to find if coming from the airport but doable. We had a beautiful room, bathtub, free wifi free very nice breakfast. The neighborhood is Fantastic with lots to explore, 25 min walk to San Mark but we enjoyed the walk. We would definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patcat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#57 of 385 in Venice
2,231 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 385 in Venice
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#38 of 385 in Venice
1,593 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,857 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel

Address: Fondamenta Della Sensa Cannaregio 3319, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $113 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm & boutique renewed hotel in the incomparably enchanting Venice, overlooking the Rio della Sensa and della Misericordia in the Cannaregio district where picturesque hidden courtyards whisper ancient legends and where the rooms will cradle you in luxury and comfort.Quietly located in the city center near the Jewish ghetto and Campo dei Mori, the rooms at the Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente instill a warm atmosphere of hospitality and tranquility where elegant Moorish touches evoke the trade along the Silk Road.For a romantic getaway full of elegance and comfort surrounded by astounding beauty, fall in love all over again with Venice on a vacation at the New Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Mori d Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d Oriente Venice
Hotel Ai Mori Doriente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing