We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel within walking distance to most of the sights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ranked #32 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel within walking distance to most of the sights”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Back after a surprise four day trip here using a late flight to Venice and this hotel was available. Knew nothing about it and it seemed off the beaten track but....what a great find. The hotel was a quick walk from the main bus terminal (as we used a Treviso flight) and really easy to find, but in a real neighbourhood. The staff were really pleasant and all spoke good English, lots of smiles and very helpful. The room was amazing and very warm and toasty with full bath and shower, away from the hussle and bustle of central Venice and all the noisy tourists/ transport. The furnishings were totally in-keeping for this grand place, silks on the walls, well dressed windows, great lighting and the breakfast was perfect. A coffee machine that did everything (imagine a real choice of good Italian coffees for breakfast in Italy!) backed by a wonderful croissant choice and hams, meats, cheeses, fruits and fresh fruitjuice and cheesecake. In the summer the outside space looks tempting but now in the winter the Christmas touches made it special. A really nice neighbourhood, close by Tintoretto's house, the ghetto and some excellent restaurants and bars. If you do intend to visit any churches it is well worth buying the Chorus pass for 10 euros. It lasts a year and gives you access to most of the interesting churches in Venice. Without this you can expect to pay 3 euros admission per church.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    543
    67
    33
    24
See reviews for
292
1,538
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a really lovely time in Venice at this quiet hotel. When we arrived, we were two hours earlier than the check-in time. It did not matter though as the helpful male receptionist said that as our room was being prepared, we could enjoy a relaxing frink in the hotel bar. We did just this. We took these drinks outside and sat in glorious sunshine for a good 30 minutes. We were treated to complimentary nuts, olives and snacks. This felt as though it was the real start of our short break away. We were advised of when our room was ready and were told we had received an upgrade to a room with a balcony. When we saw the room, we were slightly disappointed at the size of it but delighted we were situated at the front and had views of the canal at the front. It was a very pretty space and just enough for us. The bathroom was clean, as was the rest of the hotel. The mini bar was useful, the bed was very comfortable and warm. Waking up to the sound of gentle water lapping the gondola's and other working boats carefully passing by was one of the best sensory delights. The breakfast each morning was delicious. Continental by classification but offering a wonderful, full and varied selection. We both had to stop ourselves from overeating! It was interesting having to leave our key with reception each time we left the hotel but easy to manage. The door to the right of the hotel was where we accessed our room. This was very stiff, perhaps due to water over the years but was ok to manage. Staff were helpful and we really enjoyed our time and had no problems at all. What would have been nice would have been a bigger room. when a room upgrade was announced, I was expecting to be wowed rather than pleased. The location of the hotel was away from the busier tourist parts but we liked this. Armed with a lonely Planet Guide and complimentary map fromt he hotel, it was no problem finding our way around, although Venice is a network of little streets and squares that are best to navigate in the day. There was not a swimming pool at the hotel so I have marked this as average intentionally.

Room Tip: Ask to view the available rooms so you can make the right choice for you. We were under the impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KylieC602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here twice, one in the summer with temperatures of 35 degrees and once in the winter when we had two inches of snow. On both occasions we were greeted in a most welcoming manner. Nothing was too much trouble,even to phoning a local restaurant to ask them to stay open for a little longer so we could have a hot meal. The rooms were excellent, the atmosphere friendly, the staff polite and helpful and breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyridge114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location, away from the main tourists but so close to everything. our room was a little small with no window, however it had everything we wanted, was of a high standard and we didnt go to venice to look out of the window. Impressive Hotel on a whole, breakfast was what we expected and staff friendly. will stay here again when I next visit Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent hotel in the Byzantine style, luxurious but small and very friendly. Only critism, it would be nice to have coffee making facilities in the room. Happy hour needs looking at, they are missing a trick by charging stupid money and having to traipse down to reception twice a day for a wi-fi password is unnecessary. All around well worth the money and we would definitely come again.

Room Tip: I think suites are canal facing but all rooms are good. there's virtually no traffic on this ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Hotel is not in the centre, but located about 7 mins from a vapperetto stop and about 30 mins walk from the bus station/ train station. There is a vapperetto stop that will take you from the bus station to the local stop, but depending on the time of day and tides this might not be as straight forward as it sounds.

If you are looking for a nice clean well presented hotel then this is perfect. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. It is right on the canal side, with a couple of nice little restaraunts and bars very close by.

There is a basic cold breakfast in the morning, lots of cakes, pastries, croissants, cold meats and cereal. This is served in a little dining room just by the reception.

If you are not prepared to walk a little further to get to the main sites then this is not he hotel for you, it's about 20 mins from Rialto bridge and not close to the very touristy parts. For us this was not an issue, we enjoyed the peaceful location and the nice walk back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited in March of this year as part of Railbookers train journey to Venice. Arriving in sunshine and that was how it stayed for the 4 day stay, we couldn't have asked for better weather. The hotel was lovely, from the rooms to the peaceful location- we could escape back to the hotel after the crowded. The breakfast was most enjoyable, the staff couldn't do enough, it was clean, stylish and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 385 in Venice
851 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
2,161 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,640 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel

Property: Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Address: Fondamenta Della Sensa Cannaregio 3319, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm & boutique renewed hotel in the incomparably enchanting Venice, overlooking the Rio della Sensa and della Misericordia in the Cannaregio district where picturesque hidden courtyards whisper ancient legends and where the rooms will cradle you in luxury and comfort.Quietly located in the city center near the Jewish ghetto and Campo dei Mori, the rooms at the Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente instill a warm atmosphere of hospitality and tranquility where elegant Moorish touches evoke the trade along the Silk Road.For a romantic getaway full of elegance and comfort surrounded by astounding beauty, fall in love all over again with Venice on a vacation at the New Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Mori d Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d Oriente Venice
Hotel Ai Mori Doriente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing