We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Ca' Zanardi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' Zanardi
Ranked #185 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A beautiful Palazzo with original antique furniture - yet relaxing and comfortable. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. It's in a great location - get the Allilaguna from the airport to Fondamente Nove and it's a 3 minute walk. Easy to get to anywhere in Venice by foot. We loved it here.

Room Tip: If you like an early morning tea in bed bring a travel kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ca' Zanardi is in a great location; being close to the Fondamenta Nuove stop (which services the airport) and also within walking distance of San Marco & the other sights. As everyone else has said, Andrea was extremely helpful; he had chilled water waiting for us when we arrived, took our bags to our room and gave us maps, pointing out the best places to eat and visit.

We had a basic room which didn't have the grand features of the rest of the building (which is beautiful) but as it was cheaper, we wouldn't have expected it to. The beds were comfortable and we had a private bathroom down the corridor from the room (the shower was a little iffy but wasn't a major problem). Eating breakfast outside on the terrace was lovely.

The only problem was the heat. There is no air conditioning- we had one fan in the room and took one out of a room that wasn't being used but they still weren't enough (they were just blowing hot air around the room); we couldn't get to sleep because we were too hot. The only way to cool down was to open the windows which of course invites all the mosquitoes in. We did open the windows one night and I still have two scars on my leg from the bites I got. I'd definitely stay here again, but not during summer- though if you're accustomed to heat, you might be fine!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaH283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a truly unique B&B and we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The location in the northern part of Venezia is very good, far enough away from the real touristy parts, but close enough to just walk anywhere in Venezia (about 15 minutes to Rialto bridge and 20 minutes to Piazza San Marco). Also connection to airport with Alilaguna public transport boat service is very convenient (takes 40 minutes directly from airport and costs 27 Euro p.p. for a return trip) and is only a 5 minute walk from the boat stop (Fondamenta Nove) to the B&B.

The staff working at the B&B are all very friendly, professional, and make you really feel like at home. The B&B has only 4 rooms, so it feels really intimate despite it being a very large palazzo. All rooms are just beautiful, including the entrance hall, dining area and art exhibition areas. It is also very quiet with quite comfortable beds, so great for a good sleep after exploring the city.

The breakfast is typically Italian, with cornetti and very good coffee!

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: If you like lots of space in your room, ask for the largest room (Sissy). It doesn't have a cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here in August it is a fabulous place and it felt like our own little palace. The staff were fantastic and could not have been more helpful. It is close to all main attractions but far enough away form all the hustle and bustle. I have just rebooked to stay with my friends in June 2013 really looking forward to re visiting Venice and the Ca'Zanardi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelandbrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Ca’Zanardi is a marvellous place to enjoy your Venice experience from. It is located in the north in Canareggio, tucked away in a back street, away from the hustle and bustle of Piazza San Marco, which is a good thing as far as I am concerned. You can take the Alilaguna boat from the airport and it is just 5 minutes walk from the second stop – Fondamente Nuovo - which is also a good thing if you arrive late at night like we did. Andrea stayed up until 11pm to welcome us in from the rain after our journey from England.

This is not a posh smart glitzy hotel set among the key sights of Venice, no , it is much better than that. It is a real building, in a real part of Venice (a third of all Venetian residents live in Cannaregio) with a real Venetian host, Andrea, who was very helpful and friendly. Our room overlooked the canal and was a wonderful view to open the shutters to each day. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a third bed included for our 9 year old daughter. She grew to love the place as it came to feel like home over our four night stay.

The breakfast, which was included in the price (fairly unusual for places in Venice) was delicious being a plentiful supply of croissants and other bread along with coffee and juice.

The Rialto Bridge is under 10 minutes walk away and from there you can get to almost anywhere in Venice on foot in under an hour or quicker if you jump on a Vaporetto. There is so much to see in Venice that you will never be short of things to do. Fondamente Nuovo is just 5 minutes walk away too and this is the best place to get a boat to the outer islands such as Murano and Burano – an island of such colourful buildings it makes Tobermory look drab, don’t miss it.

And the floods ? I thought we were unlucky to get flooding during our stay, but I came to see it as a good thing, for us as tourists anyway. They were all part of the fun, just get yourself a pair of wellies and there is almost nowhere in the city you can’t get to. You can bring them with you or buy them on nearby Strada Nova. It’s an exciting different way to see the city. I loved it and I want to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the canal side which was worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The host was extremely friendly to us. His hospitality was exceptional and he made us feel at home. The view and the scenery were unique and indescribable. Everything was lying there under our feet. Magic moments for magic occasions.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank elias n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The most difficult experience we had in Venice was leaving Ca'Zanardi where we felt so at home that all we think about now is how we will return. Walking up two fights of spiraling marble staircases to our apartment never ceased to delight. We were then treated to a three bedroom apartment with a full bath and kitchen. When basking in the sun on our large terrace the sounds of children and boats were outdone only by the chorus of church bells ringing in harmony throughout the city. As great as the physical beauty of this 16th Century Palace, is the warmth and efficiency of the staff. We had met the host Andrea the previous year at World Art in Venice and had been so taken with his warmth and humor that we immediately felt like friends. Now we are family. Ca"Zanardi represents the best of the Venetian's Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendybaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#258 of 476 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,170 reviews
Hotel Laguna Residence
#268 of 476 in Venice
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Zanardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Zanardi

Address: Calle Zanardi 4132, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $118 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ca' Zanardi 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Cà Zanardi is a residential palace dating back to the 16th century which, over the centuries, has been added on to by various noble venetian families and is one of the most evocative and beautiful palaces in the city of Venice; the Serenissima.Sumptuous and possessing particular charm, Cà Zanardi is located in a most peaceful setting and has its own delightful private garden as well as a magnificent terrace full of sun and colour.An ideal setting where to live the intimacy and emotions which the city inspires; in a palace reminiscent of the ancient splendours of the Serene Republic of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' Zanardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Zanardi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing