We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Venice, Little Gem!”
Review of Ca' Zanardi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' Zanardi
Ranked #185 of 475 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Two stops (30mins) from the Airport onboard the Airport River taxi,5 mins walk form the Stop to Ca'Zanardi and moments into the Charms of Venezia,10mins to Rialto Bridge of Views, San Marco Twilight features...... What more could you want.....

How about an enchanting place to stay, relaxing and chilled in a beautiful setting. A host who is the mostess, helpful like a friend you have always known for years, Andrea Chinellato, makes you feel like a welcomed guest and thankfully speaks Superb English! And I should not forget about the piano where you may set and play away!

Staying here made our NYE and I can't wait to return in the Summer months and enjoy the sunshine that shines from a stay at Ca'Zanardi.

Simple, Chic and my new Venice home!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodysTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 153 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Andrea and his team gave us such a warm welcome to Venice. He gave great recomendations on what to see and where to eat. The location was so central and easy to find. The cost was great value for our 3 nights stay.

Our room(1 of 5 rooms on the top floor) was wonderful including original furniture from the palace.
The dinning area on the 2nd floor had stunning chandeliers in 3 grand rooms and the ground floor was used for parties. Andrea and his team have ensured the original character of the palace has been retained and it is beautiful.

Ringing in the New Year at Ca'Zanardi was extra special. Andrea hosted a party for 200 people.The decorations and music were fabulous. Enjoyed meeting great people and only had to walk upstairs at the end of the night!

I would stay again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErintheCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The location is great: 20 min away from the railway from one side and 20 min walk to San Marco from the other. Ca Zanardi is run by Andrea and his family who live and work there. The property is magnificient, spacious and museum-like.

We stayed in the end of October so it often rained and we didn't have the opportunity to eat on the terrace. The breakfast was served inside in a big luxurious room under a giant chandelier. The breakfast itself was elegant and tasty but may be insufficient for some. It is great to chat with Andrea and other guests during the breakfast. This place gives you something individual, a thing that public hotels don't have.

The room we stayed was big and beautiful and overlooked the water and the school. Our bed was impressive but had two separate matrasses so it was uncomfortable to sleep in the middle. The room was badly heated and the marble floor was extremely cold so I suggest taking sleepers with you. The shower had problems with temperature control. Oh, yes and the school is noisy in the morning but its a part of the culture, I guess everybody in Venice is an early-riser. And it's a crime to waste time on sleeping in such a wonderful place like Venice!

I am sure that you couldn't get a better place to live for the price you pay at Ca Zanardi. Needless to say the ambience of the residence and its decorations are priceless.

Andrea is very helpful and talented at what he is doing. He has great plans for this residence and I wish him all the best. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room that overlooks the water has a noisy school :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very friendly people but facilities were pretty basic. Beds were quite uncomfortable. Bathroom was not en suite and the shower was weak and swung from red hot to cold. Opposite our room was a school which opened around 7.30 am even on Saturday with some pretty noisy kids so dont expect a lie in. Visit Venice around every 2 years but would probably would not return to this property.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leeson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have stayed in Venice a few times and I chose this residence based on the glowing reviews and was really looking forward to my stay.In hindsight it probably was not the best night to stay as the owner was not only attending a best friend's wedding and was not really on-site but the wedding reception was also being hosted at the establishment.Although quite romantic as guests it felt quite intrusive as due to the layout of the palazzo we had no option but to go through the reception room on 2 occasions. We had a couple of issues namely the room was quite cold and there was no hairdryer which meant we were attempting to dry our hair with a fan.In my opinion the owner maybe should not have had paying guests on this particular day as he had other priorities. I would however say a plus point was sitting in the courtyard with a nice bottle of wine which isn't an option at other establishments.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HGCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Ca Zanardi is a lovely Venetian palace restyled into a residence for travelers. On our trip, 3 couples shared the 3 bedroom apartment, which was huge. The living area itself was palatially large. There was a very nice and well-equipped kitchen. Those staying in smaller rooms without kitchens have a complimentary continental breakfast. The balcony was very large and had nice, comfortable furniture. Our host Andrea was waiting for us when we arrived just across the canal in our water taxi, and he helped with the luggage. He was very helpful with directions, getting ice, recommending a restaurant, etc. The location is wonderful - on a quiet canal but within walking distance of most sights and close to a vaporetto stop. Drawbacks - only one bathroom with only a handheld shower, rather uncomfortable beds, no elevator. However, travelers to Europe should be prepared for lots of walking, including up and down stairs. We slept with the windows open and enjoyed waking up to the early morning canal sounds. We would definitely return for a longer visit to Ca Zanardi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from 7 wonderful days in this beautiful Venetian palace and are already missing it. Andrea the host is lovely and welcoming and makes you feel as though you are friends being invited to stay. It's informal, relaxing and unpretentious.

We stayed 7 nights and were given what felt like a stately period apartment consisting of a large bedroom with a large comfortable bed - we slept well, a separate sitting room with table and chairs and a big bathroom. It was on the 2nd floor which takes you through some very grand rooms on the way. Our rooms overlooked the large terrace where we enjoyed breakfast. You can sit on the terrace at other times and relax with your own drinks and get ice from the kitchen which is next to the terrace. We made tea using hot water from the coffee machine when we returned in the late afternoon.

It's in a lovely unspoilt location yet within a few minutes walk of the Grand Canal. It's close to Fundamente Nuove where the Blu Line Alilaguna ferry arrives from the airport (25 euros return) and where the vaporettos and other boats go to the other islands and all around Venice.

There are excellent places to eat nearby, Trattoria Pizzeria da Alvise at Fundamente Nuove sits right over the water on the lagoon and food is excellent and inexpensive. Trattoria Storica is very good too (Andrea recommends this one).

We will definitely be staying at Ca' Zanardi again as it made Venice an even more special experience.

Room Tip: Do ask Andrea for anything. He's so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Casa Boccassini
Hotel Casa Boccassini
#175 of 475 in Venice
153 reviews
Cannaregio
B&B Ca' Dor
B&B Ca' Dor
#161 of 475 in Venice
53 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Riccio
Ca' Riccio
#87 of 475 in Venice
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Harry's Guest House
Harry's Guest House
#314 of 475 in Venice
29 reviews
Santa Croce
Casanova ai Tolentini
Casanova ai Tolentini
#194 of 475 in Venice
305 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#186 of 475 in Venice
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Zanardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Zanardi

Address: Calle Zanardi 4132, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 475 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $120 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ca' Zanardi 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Cà Zanardi is a residential palace dating back to the 16th century which, over the centuries, has been added on to by various noble venetian families and is one of the most evocative and beautiful palaces in the city of Venice; the Serenissima.Sumptuous and possessing particular charm, Cà Zanardi is located in a most peaceful setting and has its own delightful private garden as well as a magnificent terrace full of sun and colour.An ideal setting where to live the intimacy and emotions which the city inspires; in a palace reminiscent of the ancient splendours of the Serene Republic of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ca' Zanardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Zanardi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing