We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
Nearby Hotels
$372
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$276
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ruzzini Palace Hotel(Venice)
$334
$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$327
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$281
$223
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$321
$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$341
$299
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$171
$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
33
89
51
20
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
89
51
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationhotel atlantidehotel is locatedwould stay againshowerfurniturecerealmarblecheesekeys
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 211 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We travelled as a couple, stayed here for 4 nights (5 days).
We were really delighted by the lovely spacious room at this great location close to the train station in Venice and vaporetto. The hotel is totally new on the inside and our room was tastefully decorated with artwork,
Furniture and fabrics that gave it a elegant feel, wonderful to come back to after walking around Venice in the morning, for an afternoon sleep :)
Reception is open 24 hours and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (Ciao Ragazzi!) the breakfast was OK, typically Italian. We arrived in the morning, stepped in at the hotel to leave our luggage and then went out for the first tour. We went back to check in in the afternoon.
Even if Venice is a bit “too commercial” these days, I would recommend you to visit Venice for at least 4-5 days but just loose yourself on the small streets (outside of the main commercial corridors – main alleys), and then take a 48-72 hours vaporetto ticket to visit all the surrounding islands (Lido – you can go to the beach, Murano with it’s wonderful glass artwork, Burano with the interesting and colorful architecture, peacefully Torcello - you can have a great lunch in one of the 2 restaurants on the way after you visited the church.
So a trip to Venice is much more than Venice itself, it’s a must for all of us at least once in a life time.
We stayed 2 weeks in Italy travelling by train to Verona, Milano, Lake Como…., absolutely beautiful trip.
Will be back, especially in Venice, after this trip we just found out that we will have another baby :)

Room Tip: open the window just a little bit when you want the air condition to stop.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having disclosed through TripAdvisor your wonderful observations, impressions, and feelings on your venetian trip and on your stay at Antica Casa Carettoni.
We are more than pleased while reading what beautiful words you used to describe the interior and the atmosphere of our hotel: this leaves us simply speechless, we just can send you many many thanks for a review which fills us with pride, glad to have been able to give you a so charming and special sojourn.
Our great passion is fully rewarded by comments such this.
We trust that you will treasure the good memories until your next visit, hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes for your coming baby from staff entirely.
With the Most Kind Regards.

Antica Casa Carettoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in mid aug. it is very hot in Venice. Arrived at main station, walk out the train station turn left keep walking straight about 2-3 min you will see the hotel is on your left. Check in was fast as I have prepaid in full. The room is very small and the bed is a bit hard for my own liking. The shower could be problem for bigger build person. However the location is good. Water bus station is just around the corner. Tip: if you are heading to Marco Polo airport, walk back toward the train station and keep walking straight over the bridge you will see bus station there. There is direct bus to the airport. Took less that 25 min.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotMymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review and comments on our page.
It seems that, in general, you had a pleasant stay at Antica Casa Carettoni, and while appreciating your acknowledgement about the indisputable favorable hotel location, allows us to refute and answer to one of your note: the rooms size are adequate to people that there staying. For example, and this looks to be your case, a bigger built person could feel a little tight the spaces of a standard size single room: so, and may take it as a suggestion for your future travels, the booking of a french room or a double room using as single will allow you a more comfortable stay.
Greeting, we hope to have you as our guest again, maybe following the suggestions given (useful in every accomodation).
Best Regards.
Antica Casa Carettoni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Don't be put off by what the guide books have to say about the Lista di Spagna - its hawkers and merchants, the excitment of the visitors new to Venice and its undercurrent of earthiness is probably more indicative of what Venice was like during its glory...I spent a week at the Antica Casa Carettoni which, as the keen eyed will notice, used to be an inn... No it is not luxurious as such but the Antica Casa Carettoni is spotlessly clean, air conditioned and above all has atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone on a tight budget who is keen to emerse themselves in the many ghosts of Canareggio's working and spirtual past. Close by is the excellent self-service restaurant 'Brek' which is as 'Italian' as any of the very expensive restaurants recommended by the guide books - if not more so. The vaporetto has a major stop five minutes away and the station as well as buses to the airport are equally close. I was very well looked after by Elisa who offered helpful advice regarding a day trip to Padua and look forward to my return visit. A word of caution - avoid the restaurant immediately below - it has nothing to do with Antica Casa Carettoni.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaZ634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your nice impressions here on Tripadvisor: they make us proud to have given you a memory of a beautiful stay surrounded by an authentic venetian atmosphere.
As well for your appreciations about the hotel cleanliness (i hope you had read it inside one of the international guide books that, in fact, advise Antica Casa Carettoni exactly for its flawless cleanliness), we send a lot of thanks for your note concerning the behaviour and attitude of Elisa who, with her priceless help on the organization of your trip in Padua, allowed to you to discover also the hidden treasures and art masterpieces of another wonderful Veneto area (she read with gratitude these words of yours).
At the end, sending our greetings, we hope you will soon schedule another pleasant stay in Venice and to Antica Casa Carettoni, always guaranteeing the same charming atmosphere.
With the most Kind Regards.
Antica Casa Carettoni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We found it very hard to find...signage hopeless as there were lots of people in street and the piece of paper on the alley wall couldn't be seen. Room very small, however it was clean. Our room was on the 1st floor above Gino's restaurant so quite noisy, luckily we didn't go to bed too early. Location was good, just a couple of minutes from the train station. Price was ok. We stayed 4 nights, 2 were 99euro and 2 were 115euro, not sure why.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moderno154, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review and sharing your impressions with all the TripAdvisor's readers and with us.
We are really sorry that you found problems to come in the hotel. As you know and seen, Venice is a maze of alleys, especially hard to cross through for strangers arrived for the first time: if you had made a question to the locals about the hotel location, they surely would have addressed you on the right way.
We appreciate your opinion on the Hotel Moderno convenient position and the interesting value for money: the price changed on your booking because you took a middle week booking offer for the first two days and then you have been here also for the week end, that has a different cost.
Concerning the noise, Hotel Moderno is located along Lista di Spagna, one of the main venetian veins (it takes you directly to the Rialto Bridge in 20/25 minutes), therefore if during the day there is a charming and lively atmosphere, nightime there could be some noisy person on the street below.
We hope you will choose us also for a your possible next stay in Venice.
Meanwhile, with Kind Regards.

Hotel Moderno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Anti Casa Carettoni, Lista di Spagna 1148, Venezia:
The tiny door off a busy main route in Venice conceals a three-star hotel with a tidy capacity for comfortable accommodation. Despite the tumult on the pavement outside my inner-courtyard room was quiet, and decorated with a taste for older Venice (although the terrazzo floors, however appropriate, won’t charm everyone.). The a/c was welcome in July and the WiFi was more trustworthy than many, although at a charge of 1€ for 30 minutes. In the morning a decent cold assortment was laid out in the small breakfast room. The place earns its third star through the diligent and friendly staff at the front desk. Friendliness cannot be taken for granted in Venice. The manager made a fine restaurant recommendation and drew the route on my map. It was the only walk through the Venice alleys where I did not get lost. The location, two minutes walk to Termini and the vaporetto, five minutes to the bus station, is also very convenient. Antica Casa Carettoni, Lista di Spagna 148, 30121 Venezia, phone 39 041 716231
(PS: The combative attitude the shows up in response to some previous posts does not typify my experience with management here.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlaycock2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a so nice and appreciated review, that proudly means for us an acknowledgement of our work, made ever with passion and care.
Thanks again for the attentive descriptions on your stay, which will help us to improve our service for customer who want to read, we hope, this review (especially, we underline, the last sentence...).
We take this opportunity to invite you for another stay here with us during your next journey in Venice (contacting directly our booking office, be sure that we will remember of you), always ready and pleased to have you as our welcoming guest.
Very glad that you enjoyed the advice about the restaurant (and it's well-known it's not easy to give an advice on a fine place in Venice).
With the Best Regards.
Antica Casa Carettoni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews