We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
Nearby Hotels
$334
$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,005
$561
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$366
$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$486
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,370
$572
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$261
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$287
$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
$650
$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$322
$315
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
33
88
51
20
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
88
51
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationhotel atlantidehotel is locatedwould stay againshowerfurniturecerealmarblecheesekeys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 210 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great location near railwaystation. Good and friendly staff. Nice and clean room. Room was small and noises from street and corridor was loud. Overall good value for money (89€/night/room)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Move straight on. This is not a place to stay and enjoy a Venice experience. Rooms are small, access is very poor, down a very narrow smelly alley. Website pictures make it look much better than the reality. Bathroom had mouldy ceiling that was starting to fall away. Reception is in a different hotel. We were charged 150Euro for a night at easter which was outrageous for this place, other nights a fairer price at Euro 88 but better to have to pay more and get something that wont spoil your stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baqdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moderno154, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We read with great bitterness your opinion concerning our hotel.
The price which was made for the Easter night it was so because you have stayed here on a high season period and especially during the Easter festivities: however, if you had checked, you would have watched that our offers were ever among the cheapest between all the other facilities.
We assure you that the photos in the site are tho hotel's ones, but if you want to put us in a bad light mentioning problems like the mould in Venice (a city surrounding by water), then we recommend to think carefully on what you write, before to say nonsenses.
We don't know what you mean with "Venice experience", but we suggest an attentive reflection before to make a booking, and not dwell on the cost exclusively.
Regards.
Hotel Moderno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was fresh and delicious and the location was unbeatable for the price. The entrance to the hotel is not traditional. You have to go down a very narrow alley way (about 1 meter wide or less!) and then up some stairs. The hotel is not signed well and yes it's true it is a small laminated sign but who cares what the outside looks like. The photos on here are accurate to what we stayed in. The reception is in the sister hotel just down the street. When you go down the alley then up the stairs the you press an intercom and talk to the reception who direct you where to go to check in. The check in is located in the hotel Antica Casa Carettoni. Remember this and you will love it. This hotel was definitely worth the money (a bargain!). There is not wifi but we were able to purchase some from the next door hotels wifi network hotspot on our credit card for 9 euro (shhhhhh!). There is however an Internet cafe just down the street as well as many restaurants and shops. The boat and train transport are a 1 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel is close to the bus and train station. The rooms were air conditioned, very clean and a decent size. We could even see the grand canal from our room without falling out of the window. The staff were friendly and offered a breakfast of both savoury and sweet options and cappuccino! Remember, like most hotels in europe there's no elevator so pack what you can lift.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackbond_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Having read previous reviews on this hotel, I was not looking forward to our 2 nights at Hotel Moderno (the funniest name ever!). Unfortunately there was not much choice in accommodation when we booked so we were stuck. Surprisingly I would have to say, for the only time in Italy, our very low expectations were exceeded!
Apart from the check-in process, which was VERY painful with a heavy backpack at 10pm at night, we had no other complaints. Yes the rooms are small, yes it is an old building & yes it feels like you are on a ship. BUT the room was clean, bed was comfortable, aircon worked well, bathroom tidy and smelt clean, location is fantastic & was reasonably priced by Venice standards.

TIP: For first-timers to Venice, we would strongly suggest staying on the mainland or a nearby island such as Lido, where you will still be 10 minutes from the action but get MUCH better value for money & less noise from the crowds.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Littlecurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews