We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
Ranked #251 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was fresh and delicious and the location was unbeatable for the price. The entrance to the hotel is not traditional. You have to go down a very narrow alley way (about 1 meter wide or less!) and then up some stairs. The hotel is not signed well and yes it's true it is a small laminated sign but who cares what the outside looks like. The photos on here are accurate to what we stayed in. The reception is in the sister hotel just down the street. When you go down the alley then up the stairs the you press an intercom and talk to the reception who direct you where to go to check in. The check in is located in the hotel Antica Casa Carettoni. Remember this and you will love it. This hotel was definitely worth the money (a bargain!). There is not wifi but we were able to purchase some from the next door hotels wifi network hotspot on our credit card for 9 euro (shhhhhh!). There is however an Internet cafe just down the street as well as many restaurants and shops. The boat and train transport are a 1 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 206 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel is close to the bus and train station. The rooms were air conditioned, very clean and a decent size. We could even see the grand canal from our room without falling out of the window. The staff were friendly and offered a breakfast of both savoury and sweet options and cappuccino! Remember, like most hotels in europe there's no elevator so pack what you can lift.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackbond_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Having read previous reviews on this hotel, I was not looking forward to our 2 nights at Hotel Moderno (the funniest name ever!). Unfortunately there was not much choice in accommodation when we booked so we were stuck. Surprisingly I would have to say, for the only time in Italy, our very low expectations were exceeded!
Apart from the check-in process, which was VERY painful with a heavy backpack at 10pm at night, we had no other complaints. Yes the rooms are small, yes it is an old building & yes it feels like you are on a ship. BUT the room was clean, bed was comfortable, aircon worked well, bathroom tidy and smelt clean, location is fantastic & was reasonably priced by Venice standards.

TIP: For first-timers to Venice, we would strongly suggest staying on the mainland or a nearby island such as Lido, where you will still be 10 minutes from the action but get MUCH better value for money & less noise from the crowds.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Littlecurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Antica Casa Carettoni is a wonderful little hotel on Lista di Spagna, one of my favourite areas in Venice. The hotel is small but delightful, lovely marble staircases and mosaic floors and glass chandeliers. My room was a double and had plenty of room, it faced the main street and was totally quiet with the windows closed. The bathroom was small but just right, the hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean, the air con was perfect in the Venetian heat. And not a mosquito to be seen !

All staff were wonderful and Elisa was so charming at breakfast and on the reception, I had no complaints at all about this hotel five stars all round from me. The breakfast was lovely and at least 5 choices of cakes ( my favourite ) cereals, bread and cheeses, coffe was also very good.

I will certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family, and most definitely return, I got such a great deal with Hotelclub/Orbitz absolutely delightful

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Oh dear, Hotel Moderno Cannaregio 154 Venice is Fake Hotel, please please do not book this Hotel, I booked this hotel from internet, the way of this hotel is just 14 inches wide, a healthy person cannot enter the main way of hotel, when i reached the hotel, the hotel door was closed, there is bad smell spreading and there was no one for receiving the guest, we were tired after 25 minutes a lady named " Alezia " reached and given the room and gate key and gone xxxxxx WE ASTONISHED. There was no one, no any attendent no manager no cleaner and no any person, even no reception or counter, this is not any hotel this is go down and they are booking in internet in the name of hotel, please visitors do not book this fake hotel, they are liars.........................

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank uzma2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I've been on a business trip to Venice (for the Venice Film Festival) and stayed at the Caretoni.

The rooms are nicely decorated in the venetian style and are very comfortable, the breakfast is also very good but the special gem of this hotel is the service. The rooms are very clean and the cleaner (a shy oriental girl) is very efficient.

I've had problems in receiving an important fax and e-mail needed for the Festival and Elisa who is the Receptionist was extremely helpful, she did what she could to help me and finally, due to her assistance, all went well.
If you go to Venice, I strongly recommend the Antica Casa Carettoni.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rumaribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The rooms shown in the photos are of the sister hotel and are not a real depiction of what you are getting. It is down a small alleyway in a busy section of town and is awkward to find and enter. The room was tiny and the air conditioner did not work. The tv required a 10 euro deposit for the remotes, however even then only had one channel available. The hotel removed the money from the credit card immediately upon booking instead of once at the hotel- as stated. Staff are condescending and rude. Do not expect too much for your money on Venice, but especially not at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#260 of 387 in Venice
432 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#350 of 387 in Venice
333 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#165 of 387 in Venice
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#191 of 387 in Venice
1,002 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#222 of 387 in Venice
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni

Address: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna Cannaregio 130 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Hotel Moderno)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $105 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing